We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
109
38
18
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
109
38
18
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages beautiful emerald large balcony newman unit chairs beach rental gulf grill florida
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2021 via mobile

We stayed in Beach Cottage 198 from June 4-10. The place could really use some TLC. The floors were dirty, the screened in porch hadn’t been swept in goodness knows how long, there is a major squirrel issue on the property. Seriously, at least 10 squirrels were running around the patio. The description of the beach being a minutes walk away is not true. They offer a tram service to get there. The pool was nice and clean with plenty of chairs, but no umbrellas. And the newly remodeled master bathroom, whoever did this renovation did a poor job. The sink faucet was hard to reach on the above counter sink, the shower door was in the way of the shower head. We had guests above us with a toddler and we could hear everything that child did. We would not stay there again. Too expensive for what you get.

Room tip: The traffic is a major issue as the road is under construction. Don’t shop at the Winn Dixie, prices are outrageous, go to Walmart
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MrsSki13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy Louthain, Marketing at Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2021

Thank you for your recent review. We’re disappointed that your beach cottage did not meet your expectations. Each vacation rental cottage at Hidden Dunes Resort is individually owned and varies in terms of quality, cleanliness, and upgrades. While there are never guarantees on who you’ll have as neighbors, by using the on-site property management company, Newman-Dailey Resort Properties, you’ll at least have the peace of mind knowing that you’ll receive prompt reliable service if there are cleanliness or maintenance issues. We’re glad you were able to take advantage of our seasonal tram service to the beach and hope you’ll give Hidden Dunes Resort another chance to make a first impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2021 via mobile

My wife and I have vacationed before at Hidden Dunes and fell in love with the property and area. Again this year we returned with 2 other couples and with my endorsement, we chose Hidden Dunes. This year however something changed at the beach. This year the entire beach front property of Hidden Dunes was taken up completely by a beach umbrella company named "White Diamond". If you wanted to set up your own umbrella, tent or other shade device, you had to set up completely behind the umbrellas of White Diamond. In other words the only space to do so was the back side of the beach near the Dunes leaving you no view of the beach and water only the backs of green chairs. To get to the water you had to walk thru small spaces between chairs. The line up of chairs was set up in 2 large "U" formations, side by side to maximize the amount of space in front of their chairs, with 2 "owners sections only" to each side of the "U" formations. You could rent 2 chairs and an umbrella for the day for $40 or for the week for $200. A couple can afford this however asking a large family or group to pay for multiple chairs is excessive! Paying over $3000 for a week's stay and then being forced into renting a chair if you want to enjoy the beach is excessive! I did speak with a representative of Hidden Dunes who referred me to their HOA who handles these issues. I spoke with an HOA rep who was very friendly and said he would pass my thoughts on to the owners. You may be thinking, why didn't we just walk down past the umbrellas and set up....we'll Walton County is in a property fued and every property is restricting your ability too setup in front of their hotels or resorts to those guests who are staying there or if you are a single owner there were signs stating "private property. I highly suggest you do your research of Walton County properties etc. before sinking any money into a resort or property that forces you into what I described above. PURCHASER BEWARE!!!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank josephling1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy Louthain, Marketing at Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2021

Thank you for your review. We're disappointed to hear that your return trip to Hidden Dunes Resort did not meet your expectations. The HOA contracted White Diamond Beach Service to provide beach service to owners and guests to ensure everyone has a view of the water. Previously, there were complaints that 10x10 tents were lining the water's edge and hindering the view. For guests who rent their vacation rental through the on-site property management company, Newman-Dailey Resort Properties, two chairs, and an umbrella are included with each day of the stay. This way families are assured a view of the water and are able to set up a tent behind their chairs for the rest of their group. We hope you were able to enjoy some of the other resort amentities, including swimming pool, hot tub, grilling stations, tennis center, horseshoe pit and walking trails that make staying at Hidden Dunes Resort a treat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2021

We stayed at Hidden Dunes in Unit #1506. We arrived to a very dirty condo and would never stay here again. Needs updating - pictures are deceiving. Floors were filthy, linens are beds (pillow cases did not seem changed - hair, stains on them), dust ruffle stained dirty and the mattress pad (under the fitted sheet) was urine stained in several areas, hair and dirt. It's hard to believe anyone changing the sheets could miss this! The couch has lots of stains/dirty as well as the chair.
Mirrors/sliding door windows/microwave were dirty. The owner/manager was adamant when we called upon our arrival to show him what we saw upon our arrival, he didn't seem to care.

One elevator was not working ALL week. Our last morning BOTH elevators were not working and we had to carry luggage down 15 floors. They were in the process of replacing the one elevator.. but it sounded like it was a year of one not working. You could tell the aggravation from people as we all patiently wasted vacation time waiting for the elevator coming and going.

Also, the umbrella service on the beach is basically... if you pay for an extra chair..(equipment) you will be seated closer to the water. If you're staying for a week... I recommend finding a spot you like and pay the extra to reserve your spot, otherwise you will be seated near families with lots of kids and no view of the water.

We LOVE Destin and Hidden Dunes (we've stayed here many times in the past), but I would never rent this unit from Geoff B. (owner/manager) again.

Date of stay: May 2021
Thank westielover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy Louthain, Marketing at Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2021

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're disappointed to read that it was not ideal. As you noted, each vacation rental condominium at Hidden Dunes Resort is individually owned. To ensure your vacation is protected, we recommend renting through the vacation rental management company that is on-site--Newman-Dailey Resort Properties. The company offers a 100% performance guarantee for prompt reliable service. The HOA is currently replacing the elevators, which is why one was down during your stay and we're so sorry to hear the second elevator went down on the day of your departure. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Hidden Dunes Resort to enjoy all the amenities you've come to enjoy over the years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2020

Love this resort fir family fun
We stayed in 606 with large balcony with dining table three bedrooms three baths kitchen and large living area
This is a corner apartment and the views were panoramic
Swimming pool large and plenty of lounge chairs but water in pool was freezing cold
Short walk down to beach rentals umbrellas and chairs come with the unit
Very friendly staff
We use Newman Dailey to book unit they are absolutely the greatest in matching your family to facility
Loved the beautiful grounds
Will definitely stay again

Date of stay: May 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank LouisianaDeltagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy Louthain, Marketing at Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2021

Thank you for sharing your experience! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the resort and Hidden Dunes Condo 606. We enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to welcoming you back to the beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2020

Worst vacation/realty company I've ever worked with. We rented a property from Dune Allen Realty this year and paid for the property ahead of time. After Dune Allen cancelled our rental, they refused to return our money. Denise Wright has been non-responsive and is sitting on >$1000 of our money and won't even return a phone call. NEVER rent from Dune Allen Realty

Date of stay: April 2020
2  Thank gregbL227ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy Louthain, Marketing at Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2020

Sorry to hear you had a bad experience with your vacation rental company. Each vacation rental at Hidden Dunes Resort is individually owned and managed by a different rental company or the owner themself. It is important to do your homework and fully understand the company's cancellation policies and practices. At Hidden Dunes Resort, Newman-Dailey Resort Properties operates the on-site check-in office and the team is available to answer any questions regarding lodging options at Hidden Dunes Resort. We're disappointed to hear your vacation was canceled and hope you have the opportunity to enjoy a beach vacation at Hidden Dunes Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews