We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great value for money”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shelduck Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Neil H H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely property in fantastic peaceful setting”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The property itself is fantastic in that there are plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms which worked well with our larger group. I especially liked the fact the garden was absolutely sealed by fences and was perfect and safe for my dog who wanders. The cottage is very warm and very well insulated and a first for us as we are use to staying in old cold places so was a real breath of fresh air. The living room shape/layout was the real issue for us and probably why we would not go back again.... the settes and chairs are at one end of the room facing a blank wall and the extremely small tv (15'' i think) was at the bottom of the L shaped room where the tv signal comes into the property and it is impossible to see the screen from the sofa's?? Not that we watched much tv as out all day but really spoilt the evenings as we could not watch a movie or TV together for an hour or so before bed, not good for a £600 a week place. A few other minor issues worth mentioning.... the electric hob and oven in the kitchen are very poor quality and cheap appliances and it took forever to cook anything and again was really annoying and frustrating. Also there was no external rubbish bin for our kitchen waste and dog mess so ended up having to use a blue recycling bin, not sure why that was.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Warm, well insulated property
Liked least: Oven/Hob/TV Arrangements/no outside bin
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vegetaria...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A first time visit to the area and was delighted to find this wonderfully located, well designed accommodation on the edge of Loch Riddon. Peace and quiet and with lots of great wildlife literally just outside your door. The wood burner in the sitting area was the focal point of our evenings. Great facilities overall and a warm and cosy stay made this a very enjoyable holiday for us and we are already planning to return in the future.

If you want home comforts with interesting wildlife, at a good price then I would highly recommend a stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burning stove
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Shelduck. We look forward to you visiting again soon.
Kind regards
Chrissie and Iain... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jellybean...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave....”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

This place is truly amazing...

The house is modern clean and very cosy. Could sit and look at the views all day ever day. Will definitely be going back.

Many thanks to Sheila and Andrew for their warm welcome x x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2014
Thank you so much for this lovely kind words. Much appreciated and look forward to you booking with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$193
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing