We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant place and setting”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
13 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 35
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wazabadoo
1 review
“Brilliant place and setting”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Amazing country manor with everything you could want for party or week away. Set in idyllic glen with mountain and forest backdrop. The house itself is huge and very well appointed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2013
We sometimes take our scenery and surroundings for granted. You are right. It is breathtaking. We are very lucky indeed..... glad you found the house up to scratch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoopyseve...
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with large family”
Reviewed 5 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

21 of us descended upon Ormidale for an Easter weekend getaway, from the ages of 5 to 78. We stayed in the old barn but also hired the cottage for the teenage boys. They loved having their own place, music and junk food was the order of the day for them.

The old barn is stunning with full sky TV for kids, teenage boys used the games room and the younger kids loved the swimming pool. All in all it's a great place to stay, and if you need anything Ian part of the on site management team can't do enough for you, we were a little cold one night, and 5 mins later he was at the door with oil filled radiators. Oh and the hot tub has to be my favourite, if only I could have managed to get 5 mins to myself in it.

Hope to return again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and the old barn house were my favourites
Liked least: Was cold at night, BUT the management company supplied extra heaters, can't be faulted.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chinkynor...
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“lovely location shame about the quality of the house”
Reviewed 11 March 2013 for a stay in January 2013
5
people found this review helpful

We recently attended a friends wedding at Ormidale and have to say we agree with the last review about the shabby condition of the house. It was in a beautiful location but when we arrived the heating wasnt working properly so it was very cold and uninviting. The bedroom we were occupying had no curtains and the sink was in front of it and overlooked the gardens. It also had a connecting door to the next bedroom that was unlocked and had no key quite unnerving. As the last person mentioned there were lights not working and the bathrooms were poor quality. Our son stayed in one of the other houses and the fridge when they arrived was dirty and they had mouldy fruit in the fruit bowl not what you would expect to find if it had been cleaned. Then they found 2 of the bathrooms wernt working. One of the hot tubs had a broken lid so didnt work and by the end of the weekend the pool had gone green as nobody was maintaining it. They describe it as luxury but sadly this is not what we got so unless you are near enough to check this place out it wasnt what was we expected. Fortunately as we were all friends we pulled together to make our friends wedding a lovely and memorable day but no thanks were to the owners and staff at ormidale.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: quality and cleanliness
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2013
We cant agree all of the criticims are fair, but some are. We had real staff problems at the time this review was posted - and some of what is said here is fair comment. We issued an apology and a significant refund to the couple getting married, and to all other guests at around this time. They actually promised us a positive review because they appreciated what we had been through, staff-wise, and how we responded to the problems. Sadly, that hasn't been forthcoming. We have new staff, now. And we have had a series of very positive guest feedbacks since my new team started in March. We have shutters not curtains. All bedroom doors can be locked if guests request that. The swimming pool is open and clean. The heating is working fine. The two star rating is really a little harsh, even for then. the wedding hosts said they were paying for four star from us and only got a three star experience. We strive to do a lot better, and we usually do. We are almost always full, with loads of repeat business, and lots of our confidential internal surveys give us a 5 out of 5 rating from guests. A bad couple of months under a wrongly-appointed estate management team. We are over that now. Apologies issued. Improvements in place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maisie c
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“wonderful atmospheric old house”
Reviewed 24 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Ormidale House was a great place to stay for a large group of us. It's perfectly kitted out with games rooms, plasma tv, wi-fi, snooker and every mod con you can think of in the kitchen.

But it's the character of the House which makes it so great. It has a step-back-in-time feel, not overly grand so as to be unfriendly but definitely smacking of bygone wealth and good taste. We lazed around it all day, using the swimming pool, sauna, table-tennis, snooker et cetera - it's a lovely, leisurely place to bask in, ideal for our large group with enough choice of rooms to split up and lose the kids, and a big dining room for evening get-togethers.

The area looked beautiful but to be honest most of us, including me, didn't leave the grounds - there was good golf somewhere nearby, according to my husband.

The staff were great, and standards of cleanliness were first class, clean, quality sheets and towels etc. Absolutely nothing detracted from an idyllic break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sense of ages past in a house with every modern need
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K K
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Truly amazing, best wedding venue ever”
Reviewed 28 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Coming back down to earth after a truly amazing stay at Ormidale House.
Just had our wedding day (12th of May ) followed the next day by my 40th on a fantastic weekend. From booking the holiday with the owner, who is a very helpful and professional chap, to arriving for the weekend and meeting the resident estate managers, everything flowed and nothing was too much trouble, there was always someone around if needed and if not you could get on with enjoying your stay. The house is impressive but feels very welcoming and relaxed, everything is just as it appears on the website, clean tidy and well cared for. The house was full of family and friends but never felt too full and we had a lovely laid back wedding, which was the plan. The guys in our party gravitated to the popular games room for a bit of pre-wedding relaxation! Its definitely a party place as the house comes alive when its full of people. Everyone said what a beautiful setting it was and we were all sorry when it was time to leave. It is the best way to start married life and one of the most magical weekends I've ever had. I look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house looks very grand but feels very welcoming
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing