We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic weekend at the Old barn”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Glendaruel, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chriswhit...
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic weekend at the Old barn”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Amazing party weekend at the Old Barn. Our group size was 20 so we also rented the nearby Garden cottage for the extra bodies but the communal areas in the barn were more than adequate for the group. Both places were kitted out to a high standard.

The Barn is perfectly suited to large groups or family getaways. The facilities are fantastic, I think the hot tub was on most of the weekend and we made great use of the swimming pool. It was great having the full sky package too to watch the international rugby on.

The estate management team were very friendly and unobtrusive but helpful when needed.

All of this in the beautiful Argyll countryside - I would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and communal areas were great
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
You would definitely be welcome back. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for the kind words. We always do our best and my staff on site have a real passion for their work and for the place. I am glad you enjoyed yourselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I stayed here for my 21st with 14 of my friends- we had an great time !! This location is stunning and the house is really well decked out for the size of group we had. We stayed in the old barn and made use of the pool, hot tub, BBQ, tennis court and board games. The estate managers are really nice and helpful and the house looked great when we arrived. There are places to walk and explore- but just remember midge repellant ! The beds are also super comfy and there are enough to split these to 2 people per room. I hope to be back in the future :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
I am so glad it was a good birthday. You were a fab group and will be welcome back. Your massive goodhousekeeping deposit will be returned 100% !!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calum R
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant and Comfortable stay!”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Travelled here for a couple of nights with a group of friends for a 21st birthday celebration. The lodge itself was well maintained and very comfortable. Owners were incredibly accommodating and helped promptly whenever a problem arose (ie. hot-tub for lodge was not working properly so gave us access to other properties' tub as no-one was using it). Where the lodge comes into it's own is all of the outdoor activities that are on offer. These include a swimming pool, hot-tub, bouncy castle, table tennis table, pool table and a pretty woodland walk with a waterfall along the way if you fancy a swim. Overall had a really great stay here with very little issue, and would not hesitate to recommend to a friend.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a positive review for us. Not all our satisfied customers do so, and we appreciate you for making the effort. You were a great party and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: everything was great! no bad feedback!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
I am so pleased that you had a good time. Thank you for visiting and taking the trouble to post such a nice review. I hope we see you again and that other people find the review helpful, too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IDrylie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely holidays”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My family and I stayed at the Old Barn 13th-17th April. We had a wonderful time. Location is great and the surrounding scenery is lovely. The Old barn itself is in good condition. Beds comfortable and showers hot! The accomodation has everything you need to please all ages. We made good use of the swimming pool, games cottage and hot tub/sauna. Kids found it hilarious sheep and lambs had to vacate football pitch before we could play! Bikes weren't usable on arrival but staff were very helpful for anything we needed and soon there was a repair man round to service bikes. Overall we had a lovely time all being together under one roof, location and accommodation lovely. Note- deposit returned 11 days after our return (I would say this worried me after reading other reviews but owner did respond to any communication from me and explained delay.)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
Thanks for taking the time to review us. I am glad we managed to get bikes fixed for you - it is amazing how some people treat them and we are wondering if we should start charging for them, to make people look after them better. The deposit is returned after the house has been very thoroughly inspected in the process of being prepared for the next guests. that sometimes takes just over a week. We also need to check if you have left anything that needs posting back!!! Thank you for the review and for staying.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing