We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, Great hosts = Great house”
other travellers have booked this property
View from main bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from main bedroom
The Glen, moored in front of the house Trasnagh -  the island in front of the house. Picnic here after a boat trip.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
View from main bedroom
The Glen, moored in front of the house
Trasnagh -  the island in front of the house. Picnic here after a boat trip.
View from the deck
The Kitchen
View from the Sitting Room
The Main Bedroom
View from Main Bedroom
The Garden with dry stone wall
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
View from the Main Bedroom
The Bathroom
View from Main Bedroom
The Second Bedroom
View from second Bedroom
The Sitting Room
The Sitting Room
More of the Sitting Room
View from the Sitting Room
Looking onto the Deck
Fireplace
View from the Sitting Room onto the Deck
The Kitchen
The Deck
The kitchen
The kitchen
A good place to sit
Some flat stones on the deck
The Beach
A wee seat
The Beach in front of the house
Aerial view of The Boathouse
The Boathouse from the Lough
The Boathouse
The Boathouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Killinchy, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dylan1020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, Great hosts = Great house”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Just had a wonderful weekend staying at the Boathouse. Henry and Lindy were very welcoming and as soon as we stepped through the door and felt the heat of the open fire I knew we had made a good choice. The house itself is certainly five star standard with all the mod cons (wifi, full sky+ package) superb large kitchen with balcony and open fire, modern bathrooms and high quality linen. The outside court yard is a bonus with a large fire which the kids enjoyed toasting marshmallows on.

The location is superb with great lough views and 5 mins walk to local pub. There are plenty of places to visit locally including Castle Espie, Delamount Park and Castle Ward.

I would highly recommend this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2013
Two lovely families and great children. I am so glad the house suited you all and thank you for coming to see us. I hope you will come back in the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marylouis...
Strangford, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect house, the perfect setting.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

A group of friends wanted to go somewhere special to celebrate a 50th birthday. Fed-up with the usual hotel/spa thing decided to rent this magnificent house for the weekend. Lindy's welcome was an indicator of how the weekend would go; warm and fun. Would thoroughly recommend this house for its luxury and the beauty of the area and convenience of restaurants. Altogether an unforgettable weekend !!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2013
We are very grateful to you all and so glad you enjoyed the house and Shetrick Island. Thank you for a lovely review and please come back and see us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suziemak
1 review
“Absolutely amazing house and lindy was so welcoming and helpful”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

I stayed here for the weekend with a group of friends. We fell in love with the house as soon as we arrived. Absolutely stunning and Fantastic Location. We were able to enjoy a coffee and scone in the afternoon and a drink and meal in the evening in daft eddies which was only a 5 min walk. Lindy was so welcoming and helpful. Would definitely go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. It is so appreciated. We loved having you all and hope you will come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jctm1948
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Luxurious welcoming family friendly home.”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our family (six adults and two 13 year old boys) had a wonderful time at The Boathouse. From our first meeting with Lindy showing us around the house, we knew we were in warm, family-friendly beautiful accommodation. This lovely house is superbly located on Strangford Lough with everything that this beautiful area has to offer nearby. The view from the spacious, comfortable kitchen and dining area is so calm and peaceful with picturesque sailing boats in the foreground and a verdant island in the background. We had many lovely breakfasts there. There are also glorious views from the sitting room and master bedroom. The delightful conservatory affords a different but still lovely view of an enclosed artistically designed courtyard complete with extensive seating areas. On a beautiful sunny day we were able to host eight other extended family members. Through fields accessible from the courtyard, we were able to walk around the island on rural paths and see 2 friendly donkeys.

The bedrooms were spacious bright and clean. The master bedroom was particularly pleasing with its early morning view of the lough and a spacious luxurious bathroom nearby. Lindy and Henry are lovely hosts. All their welcoming gestures were much appreciated from the wheaten bread and coffee supplies to greet us on arrival, to their loan of the row boat and life jackets and the use of their library. The sharing of this beautiful home was much appreciated.

Jim and Anne Martin, Ottawa, Canada

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury and view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2013
Thank you both for your wonderful review. So much appreciated and we hope you will come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Rothes, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Impossible not to relax in this beautiful house and location”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I stayed at the Boathouse with my six children ranging from 3 to 16 and we had a wonderful holiday. We didn't get all the things done we'd planned as they were just having too much adventure and fun. With the use of the row boat it was like a slice of Swallows and Amazons exploring the lough and watching the seals and heron.
There are plenty of places to visit and do locally for all ages such as the Castle Eskie Wetlands which is a must and the Aquarium in Portaferry a ferry ride across the lough from Strangford we also visited Newtonards which has a petting farm - Ark farm, the Somme Heritage centre, and Scrabo Tower in the country park, further afield there is the Giants Causeway about 2 hrs drive away as is Dublin and there is of course Belfast and the titanic experience.

The house is absolutely lovely the large kitchen and dinning area is perfect With views over the lough and a veranda to sit and enjoy them lovely in the morning, The facilities in the kitchen are fab and the aga is fantastic to cook on although for those who don't want to there are alternate methods available.

The house was a home from home and was obviously a family home, there is so much space you can all have a piece of quietness. There are numerous sofas in the 3 lounge areas all good for curling up on. The piano was also a hit with the children who enjoyed a little tinkle and the book shelves hold a numerous selection of books to read / look at.

The bedrooms are clean and comfortable and the master bedroom is massive with a dressing area and it's own veranda with views to the lough too. The main bathroom is huge and the bath perfect for an indulgent soak.

The courtyard area is nice and secluded and has a super fireplace which was another hit with the children, there a also a BBQ, and plenty of seats to choose from. The field accessible from the courtyard is also a great area to play in and leads out to the pathway which goes around the island.

Daft Eddies restaurant and the Island Cafe are on the island and we found the staff to be incredibly friendly and the food good too.

The owners live next door and there is part of the house sectioned off for their use but you would not know it was being used and it certainly isn't intrusive in any way.

The owners could not be more accommodating and happy to help and were completely charming.

We had a wonderful time in wonderful surroundings and all the children has asked to go back, which I really hope we manage to do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: what was not to like, the location, friendly accommodating owners and the space
Liked least: the dishwasher could be a little
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2013
Thank you we loved having you and the children. We are delighted you were able to enjoy so many of the great things this area has to offer and hope you will come back and stay with us soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing