We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet homely hidden little gem!”
Swim? The pool is 10 x 5 metres. Or simply sunbathe - the pool area is a very pretty sun trap.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swim? The pool is 10 x 5 metres. Or simply sunbathe - the pool area is a very pretty sun trap.
Too much sun? Just lie around and have a lazy read! The dining hall is great for long lunches tho we prefer to eat outside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Swim? The pool is 10 x 5 metres. Or simply sunbathe - the pool area is a very pretty sun trap.
Too much sun? Just lie around and have a lazy read!
The dining hall is great for long lunches tho we prefer to eat outside
There are lavender and herbs in the courtyard garden
The flower-filled courtyard is perfect for sunny al-fresco breakfast
Bedroom 2 has two single beds. All bed linen and towels are provided.
Such pretty views from bedroom 3
Pretty corner of the kitchen
The separate kitchen is 5 metres by 5 metres, plenty of room to chat and cook with a glass of wine!
The mezzanine library is perfect for a hide-away read!
The terrace is pretty, sunny and private. It looks over the gardens and has beautiful views.
We always eat outside!
This way!
Come on in!
A corner of the pool area
Play or sunbathe?
Sunbathe by the old barn, it's so pretty!
Pretty and generous gardens
A corner of bathroom one.
The kitchen is large and comfy with beautiful old stonework.
Part of the generous garden. Have a snooze or look at the views.  Sun or shade under the peach tree.
There are peach, walnut, plum and bay trees in the garden (as well as a ping pong table!)
Looking from the kitchen towards the hall and study area.
The lounge is spacious and relaxing.Lovely and cool on hot days but with a huge charantais fireplace
The courtyard in June, full of herbs and flowers.
Have another splash, it's a beautiful evening again and the pool area is so sheltered.
It was a great night! Wine and stars!
Charentais melon by the bucketful - it is simply lush!
The original oven, inspiration for the house being named Le Four
The kitchen door!
A church in Angouleme - the stone is beautiful
One of the pretty dovecote windows in bedroom 1
The fish is Le poisson d'avril - for French April fool's day!
the dining hall again
sunbathe, swim, relax .....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Barbezieux-Saint-Hilaire, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chezzaed
Newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Quiet homely hidden little gem!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Firstly thank you to Jean & Mike! You's have this place just perfect and it was an absolute joy to stay for the week. The house is beautifully decorated with 3 large comfortable bedrooms, two shower rooms, fans, a cot and a fold out bed. The kitchen was well equipped and lounge/dining room perfect for relaxing on an evening. The DVD player and Xbox was a god send for the kids when they needed some time out of the sun. The pool area was perfect and very clean and outside dining ideal for watching the sunset. All in all we found it extremely homely. Blanzac was a 2 min drive with a supermarket, bakery and not much else but barbezieux 15 mins away has a larger cheaper supermarket, with a little selection of bars and restaurants. Cognac 40 mins away was lovely and the Hennessy distillery a well worth visit. The kids loved Futuroscope which is a 4d and 3d theme park and worth the hour and a half drive. Le four at le temple was beautiful, we would all highly recommend it and consider it for future trips.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your great review and we are really pleased that you loved the house and area as much as we do. We agree that the house is perfect for children, as our own spent many happy Summers there too. Cognac has a wonderful riverside park for families with pools and lots of amenities, including all the distilleries of course! We are so pleased you enjoyed all your visits.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandynay
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Everything you could want from a holiday in France”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here as a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers and had an amazing holiday. Mike and Jean were there to greet us after our very long drive down to show us around. Lovely welcome basket, which included wine, beer, bread, pate, soft cheese, milk provided, which we enjoyed that very first evening, before collapsing into bed. The house is well equipped for cooking in, which we did most days, apart from the occasional meal out. Beds were really comfortable, the place was spotlessly clean. Pool was lovely and welcome relief from the hot weather. Enjoyed sunbathing and finding quiet spots to read. Mike took us to a local vineyard, where we enjoyed a tour and tasting of the wines, cognacs and pineau. We did not leave empty-handed. Great local markets to visit, within easy driving distance. For our first family holiday to France, this was a fantastic place to explore the area from, peace and quiet and private. I am sure there is a lot more I could add, but definitely look forward to return in 2015.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, pool and location
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We were so pleased that we were able to help make your first French holiday such a success and you certainly embraced the whole experience. We look forward to seeing you again in 2015.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. it is true that we certainly had at least one fairly dramatic storm whist you were with us, still it made a good story when Mike got back, didn't it! I have said before that i believe cleanliness and a welcome are so important, especially at the end of a journey and thank you for noticing that. We do hope to see you again at Le Temple. Jean.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dils23
Chalus, France
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This holiday was arranged almost a year ago and I must admit it didn't disappoint. This was a holiday with my husband and friends that we regularly travel with and we all really enjoyed the house and the surrounds. The house sits right beside the Templar Church overlooking rolling fields of wheat, sunflower and corn. It is an amazing view, especially from the outside dining area. The pool is located to the side of the property behind a wall (French law - pools need to be fenced) but it is a superb place to sit, read (and swim). The local village (Blanzac-Porcheresse) is a 2 minute drive and about a 20 minute walk (we did walk it) with a great Boulangerie (don’t get a coffee) and a very interesting church. If you get a chance also have a look inside the Templar Church next door to the property, we found it open on the Friday (by chance). The local supermarket in Blanzac-Porcheresse was larger than I thought it would be and has most essentials, unfortunately we didn't get to any local markets on this visit. The beds in the property were all very comfortable which was appreciated. The kitchen is relatively well set out with most things that you need (am I the only person who wants a peeler on holiday?). All in all it was a very relaxing holiday that was enjoyed by all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area and the outside dining area
Liked least: accessing wi-fi not that easy
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2013
Thank you so much for this helpful review. We really enjoyed having you there, especially the little chats at the pool and we are so pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful area. The peeler will be installed in the kitchen this weekend - thanks so much for mentioning it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
13Ruthie1...
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything You Could Want”
Reviewed 23 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We had a great time with my husband's parents in this gorgeous spot. The location is stunning, from the drive up narrow windy roads, to the view from the garden looking out over sunflower fields. We have really fond memories of sitting in the evening sun under the mulberry tree devouring delicious morsels from one of the local markets. The spacious house is lovely and has been renovated with care with all the mod cons you need, plus a comfortable living room and dining area for rainy days. The pool area is lovely, private and the pool is actually big enough for a proper swim. Having stayed at quite a few places in France, I feel that the value this place offers is really excellent. The hosts, Jean and Mike were always on hand if you needed anything. Towards the end of our stay we invited them out to dinner and were glad we did as they are lovely, interesting people and we'll definitely keep in touch. Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2012
Thank you for your great review! We've had many wonderful evenings watching the sun go down and we were so pleased you loved the area as much as we do. We do hope you'll stay in touch and visit us again - we'll have more food, music and chats.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing