We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Simple site in a great surrounding

Nice surroundings with the main tower fairly well preserved and featuring some informative history... read more

Reviewed 26 October 2018
Toryu
,
Reading, United Kingdom
via mobile
Small, but fun to explore

My family, including my two 10-year old twin daughters visited the castle in July 2018. The... read more

Reviewed 6 September 2018
James N
,
Wells, United Kingdom
Read all 118 reviews
  
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
39
48
22
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
48
22
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews information boards farm house worth a visit short walk worth the climb north wales steep steps the main road betws y coed blaenau ffestiniog spectacular views welsh history young children entry fee free car park lovely walk parking lot
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018

We stopped on the off chance as we were driving past. There is a large free car park. There was signage but not a lot of signage. Keep in mind that access to the castle is through a working farm, you pay at the farm house The route up is fairly steep and the castle is not large. However the view from the top is worth the climb.

Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Visited the castle today, a family ticket is £11.60. It’s a nice walk up to it, once up there, you can go inside one part and climb to the top. There are information boards about the history.
It did look like a group had been in there and had a party. There were a lot of old beer bottles and coffee cups left and other litter. Not the castles fault but not sure anyone goes up there to check it.
We felt the ticket was expensive considering the small area inside, we were only there a very short time and we’d seen it all.

Thank Kagsyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

We drove by this and just decided to stop. We parked in the gravel lot at the bottom of the hill off the road, then followed a path up. The "office" was in one of the buildings, we just walked up the half-open door. I think they only take cash, and there aren't any restrooms. After paying, we continued up the hill. There weren't any guides up there, but there are signs for information. For a while we were the only people there, it was nice!

1  Thank elizschulte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

We stopped here on our way from Blaenau to Llandudno and really enjoyed our visit. It is quite a climb from the car park to the castle, and then, if you want to get to the top of the ramparts, a lot more steps. However, all this effort is worthwhile because the views from the top are stunning. There are plenty of information boards to explain the castle's history. A word of warning; the lady at the farm does not accept plastic so make sure that you have sufficient cash to cover the entry fee.

Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Staying just up the road, we could see the Castle and thought it would merit closer inspection. After a lovely wooded trail..we came upon the ruin. Very well maintained, a lot more accessible than would first appear. At the top of the rampart you can see why it was built on this location.
Well worth a visit

Thank Allyk52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews