We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Castle Ruins in a Wintry Wonderland”
Review of Dolwyddelan Castle

Dolwyddelan Castle
Attraction details
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Travelling up the A470 from Blaenau Ffestiniog, we thought we'd brave the snow and visit Dolwyddelan Castle.
Whilst the car park was OK, the path to get onto the track was flooded, so it was easier to walk alongside the A470 for 50 meters or so.
Nice slushy (but very slippy in the snow) trek in the snow up to the Dolwyddelan Castle. No-one about, so we had free entry, (but we're joining CADW now), and the place to ourselves.
Wonderfull wintry april views from the top of the tower.
A very special visit to a well preserved castle ruin.
Well done CADW!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 923Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"information boards"
in 10 reviews
"farm house"
in 9 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 8 reviews
"short walk"
in 7 reviews
"worth the climb"
in 6 reviews
"north wales"
in 5 reviews
"steep steps"
in 5 reviews
"the main road"
in 5 reviews
"betws y coed"
in 4 reviews
"blaenau ffestiniog"
in 4 reviews
"spectacular views"
in 4 reviews
"welsh history"
in 3 reviews
"young children"
in 3 reviews
"entry fee"
in 3 reviews
"free car park"
in 3 reviews
"lovely walk"
in 2 reviews
"parking lot"
in 2 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

An amazing example of a 13th century keep, and didn’t expect to be able to climb up to the roof and battlements. Well preserved and well worth a visit and the short walk from the car park.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank edm1887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Zero tourists. No caretaker. Partially ruined.
Needs a medium level hike up to the castle.
Makes a great adventure!
You'll first enjoy amazing views before arriving at the bottom of the hill.
Worth every effort to coming here!
View on top of castle is breathtaking!
It's natural landscape so it gets really slippery and muddy during wet days so please protect yourself!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank L-Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Small castle accessed by a steep climb through farmland.

The access was very wet and muddy on the day we visited and was treacherously slippery. Please don't attempt this in similar conditions unless you are agile and have appropriate footwear.

Free entry with CADW, but there isn't a lot here. There are a few explanatory boards about it's history, but visit here mainly for the views.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Angu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017

I love castles, people reading my reviews will know that by now, and whilst Dolwyddelan isn't one of the best known, it's still worth a visit.
Now, before we go any further, two words of warning. The climb is steep, and muddy, walking or Wellington boots needed here.
Once you get there the ruins are worth the effort and the views from the top a bonus. There's a good history to this place as well.
As for Jess B's comment about the lady taking the money, she was very pleasant to me.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank KevinSadler2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolwyddelan Castle also viewed

Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 
Llanrwst, Conwy County
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Dolwyddelan Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing