We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in fabulous setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Historical Tanycastell and Dolwyddelan (Llywelyn Fawr's) Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Dolwyddelan, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
188Willia...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in fabulous setting”
Reviewed 10 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Love this cottage, very clean and spacious, lovely decor, but still retains its character, there is everything you need for a relaxing stay and it is in an ideal location for walking/sightseeing. The views are amazing ( especially from the bathroom!), as are the luscious gardens. A great place to recharge your batteries! Diolch!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2017
Many thank Gaynor. Hwyl fawr, Dylan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Lovely cottage, amazing views and great location both for walking into village with pub, hotel and shop but also for all the great adventurous activities and sightseeing in local area. Cottage is spacious, and a great get away from it all. Only slight grumble was the Shower in the ensuite was either too hot or too cold and water pressure was low, I'm sure there's a knack to it! Great welcome pack. Fell in love with the area and we will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stephenof...
2 reviews
“A superb Cottage. Enjoy it, look after it and book it now.”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

With six adults, one 14yo and a dog we needed a large property to stay in. My daughter found this and how pleased we all were!
It is a superb property, well kept and very well positioned for all locations we wanted. Great for dog walking.
Someone including the owner has commented on how slow the Internet is. Speed test.net recorded it at 2.9mbs however we had three iPads connected as well as five phones and it was working as well as my 200mbs connection at home. So, don't let this put you off.
The cottage was equipped with everything you need for your stay including DVD's, games and toys for the kids.
If you are looking for a smaller cottage the owner has the adjoining cottage as well.
The owner, a very pleasant chap greeted us on our arrival and showed us around. They had left a welcome pack which was greatfully accepted, thanks again for that.
There is a Spar shop in the village where the prices are very good, we used it a lot.
Would we book it again, yes in a heart beat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waqarqure...
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, cosy and luxurious!”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

2 Tanycastell is a an excellent example of a period property that feels very much like a mix of the best of old and new. We loved the fact that the cottage is hidden down a driveway, next to a stream. Having stayed in a few holiday cottages before, this was the best cottage experience that we have had. The cottage is beautifully set and it has a high quality look and feel to it inside. The kitchen is well equipped apart from the slightly annoying induction hob.The dining room is fantastic with great views. We loved the slate floor in these two rooms. The living room is cosy with tv and a sky box, and the bedrooms are luxurious and colour schemed very nicely.

The only reason that I can't give this cottage a 5 star rating is due to the internet issues that we had. The internet only worked for the first day; the other 6 days there was no internet access at all. This was very disappointing because we were relying on the internet to be able to contact people. as the mobile signal is very weak. Dylan tried his best to get it working but there was a line fault with BT somewhere and they did nothing to fix it. We were annoyed with BT because they managed to achieve nothing in six days! The best signal was with 3 and Vodafone networks, and the main bathroom windowsill is the best place to get signal!

We arrived to a lovely, thoughtful welcoming tray of welsh cakes and snacks, and that valued feeling which is so important when staying in someone else's home stayed with us until the day we left. Dylan is a lovely, friendly guy who was happy to chat and he tried to solve any issues that we had. It's these small touches that you remember. Truthfully we would be happy to stay here again in the future and I think we actually will, which has not been the case elsewhere. I suppose that's the best way to sum Tanycastell up!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The mix of modern and period feel
Liked least: The lack of internet access
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing