We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing, beautiful place.”
other travellers have booked this property
Shepherds' hut in the summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shepherds' hut in the summer
Shepherds' hut and toilet hut Toilet and hand basin, next to the shepherds' hut
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Shepherds' hut in the summer
Shepherds' hut and toilet hut
Toilet and hand basin, next to the shepherds' hut
Shower Room / Wet Room
Shepherds' hut  interior
Upper Rectory in the snow
Hosts Kerry and Paul
The Restaurant here at Upper Rectory
Our cosy hut in Winter
Snuggle up by the wood Burner for a relaxing evening for a winter getaway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Berriew, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
67mark113
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing, beautiful place.”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

As a last minute booking we were amazed to find such a beautiful place still available. The hut itself was lovely and cosy, the wood burner had been lit prior to our arrival so we could settle straight in. Breakfast was also arranged at very short notice, and was incredible. The owners were great in showing us around and then giving us the privacy to enjoy our break. Couldn't be happier, thank you so much. Would definitely recommend and will also be visiting again ourselves!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and privacy
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Thank you very much. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaB...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It's a must! Superb stay!”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at the Shepherds Hut initially for one night, we enjoyed it so much we extended our stay to two nights! For a start it's the cosiest bed we've ever slept in, extremely clean and is set in a stunning location. All the little extras in the Hut are brilliant, tea making facilities, radio, log fire, complimentary bottle of red or white wine. You're not at all disturbed as its set back from the road (which is quiet anyway!), we've already started to plan our return visit. Kerry and Paul the hosts were friendly, helpful and very welcoming. They work extremely hard yet still have time for any questions you may have. It's a must see!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona L
Alderney, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband booked a night in the Shepherd's Hut and a meal at Upper Rectory as a romantic birthday surprise. It was without doubt one of the lovliest stays away that we have ever had. There is a sense of relaxed informality, but with every need attended to. Kerry made us feel so welcome and special. I am no fan of camping, but this experience was far more luxurious than many a hotel. I did not need my winter pyjamas, as a woodburner the size of a shoe box, kept us so warm and cosy. Home made biscuits, complimentary wine, a brazier( filled and ready to go), hot water, a loo with a view, a tin bath under the trees...There are so many details which make this a most special place to stay. The memory of walking back through the meadow, peppered with fairy lights, following a fantastic meal, will remain with us for a long time. Thank you, Kerry. What a treat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort, the view,the welcome.
Liked least: Only staying for one night.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne J
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Mid Wales gem”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A delightful experience! The shepherd's hut is set in the field above the Upper Rectory. There are some lovely thoughtful touches included to make the stay comfortable and fun - such as: an electric blanket and wood burning stove - cosy, some towelling dressing gowns to preserve modesty when using the outside loo, homemade biscuits with refreshments and a complimentary bottle of wine to name but a few. The al fresco breakfast of fresh coffee, croissants and yogurt is delicious. We struggled to eat it as we were still full after the wonderful meal we ate in the restaurant the night before (see separate review).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: The relaxed ambiance and attention to detail.
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We loved having you to stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Once again......thank you.
Kerry & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing