We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent service”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of RIVER VIEW

PERFECT GROUP VENUE
Let our reviews explain!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
PERFECT GROUP VENUE
Let our reviews explain!
You need a great place with great service with great choices! Loads of group booking  experience!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
PERFECT GROUP VENUE
Let our reviews explain!
You need a great place with great service with great choices! Loads of group booking  experience!
Safe River View Area
Left for Restaurant, Right for Communal room
large garden with decking area and BBQ area
Thai restaurant onsite!
Can be catered or self catered or a bit of both!
Large communal TV lounge
Commercial grade kitchen
2 singles or 1 superking...up to you!
single superkings and bunks!
modern comfortable bedrooms
Thai or English menu
River walks...at the foot of the garden!
canal walks...right outside!
A Cartref Holidays PERFECT VIEW property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
9 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Neath, Neath Port Talbot, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julip85
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We went here for a hen party and it was an excellent location, rooms were very clean and spacious. The best part was the owner, he was so friendly and accommodating, he did everything to make sure our stay went well and we had a good time, he helped organise taxis to Swansea and even went above and beyond and took us to tesco when we were in a situation. The food at the attached Thai restraunt is also amazing and very handy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your valued review. It was no trouble to help when needed...all part of the service!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo C
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant Value for Money!”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A hen do of 16 stayed in River View for a night. We arrived earlier than check in stated was allowed but this was absolutely no problem for Rob who promptly helped us carry all our bags in. The rooms were clean and all had a hair dryer (which was very much appreciated by our group). We knew that they would have bunk beds as it states it on the write up about the property and also there are picture. We had a private room downstairs where we could congregate or the massive garden outside (this had the sun all day - the weather was perfect). It was completely private for us. We were allowed to take all our own alcohol and snacks which was a big plus. There are beautiful walks nearby and if you walk up the canal path and reach the lock, the family in the house opposite are very helpful - allowing us to use their loo and giving us a bottle of vodka for the walk back (it took roughly an hour to walk there). We had the Thai food in the evening which was delicious and any leftovers were put in containers for us to take home. I didn't stay for breakfast as I had to leave early but everyone who stayed said it was lovely. Lovely relaxing stay. Would definitely visit again and have been telling all my friends about it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming, relaxing feel, nothing was a problem!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2016
Thank you so much. The weather certainly makes the most of our lovely garden and walks right on the doorstep. The kindness of our distant neighbors is typical of the friendliness of our local people but be warned...bottles of vodka are not to be expected!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The eating area which was the restaurant had ample of seating place.The mattresses, quilt and pillows were nice and soft.It had lots of toilets, basically one for each room.People who came to give us key were very welcoming and helpful.
Liked least: The room size was very disappointing.Too cramped with bunk beds.Partners has to sleep separately which they weren't very happy about.Not enough big cooking utensil for 28 people.Some rooms were dirty and smelt of cigarette.not value for money.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Hi
Thank you for the feedback and I'm sorry you were dissapointed in some areas.
I must point out that you were emailed a detailed plan of the sleeping arrangements.
I must point out that reports of members of your group smoking in the property against policy would have been the reason smoke smell was experienced. A full clean had established no smoking by the previous group over a week previous.
The kitchen is sanitised and spotless and supported by our Five Star hygiene rating as regularly and substancially monitored by the local authority. Five people work in the kitchen on busy nights so the space issue is somewhat misleading.
The communal room carpet is shampooed periodically but as a commercial business, it is fair to say this cannot be done weekly. I would however suggest that footwear would be advisable in any commercial premises as they are premises of multiple use.
I do feel that, on reflection, River View was not ideal for your family group but Would respectfully point out that we go out of our way to inform and assist at every point. Our previous reviews would support this.
I would also point out that your group had entered a secured restricted area and caused damage which we have ignored as we appreciate you would be unable to answer for members of your group at all times and did not wish to cause you any distress. Organising for a large group is a difficult task and frustration can lead to a need to look for reasons for shortcomings on either side.
I am pleased you enjoyed your time in the area .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mhairi141...
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect for group party'”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How hard is it to find a place that sleeps loads of people, where you can almost be as loud and unruly as possible, incredibly affordable and the cleanliness is excellent? (Without having to be in a tent in the hills?!)
This place was absolutely perfect for an untame hen party. Robert was incredibly helpful (he picked people up from the station and went and got our click and collect!)
The bedrooms are perfect, think there was about 7 rooms with a few beds in each.

Yes going to neath for a hen party got some odd looks, even odder still when we said we were staying in a Thai restaurant. But this exceeded all expectation - there isn't a catch guys, this place is a great place for your weekend away!

It's also near to an outdoor activity centre so you can do quad biking etc...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Great to see you girls having a great time. Glad we were able to help.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kma198310...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, location and value for money.”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I stayed at the river view for weekend with large group of family and friends and had a brilliant weekend, rob the owner was fantastic and nothing was to much trouble. The food was excellent and staff were very welcoming and friendly. I would definitely recommend river view for large group party's, and garden area was perfect for outdoor games.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: value for money
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
Thanks Kelly
Your group came to enjoy the plsace and we enjoyed you doing it. All the best for your big day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing