We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$275
Hotels.com
View Deal
Club Peace & Plenty(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$236
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$436
US$247
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Isle Resort & Spa(Great Exuma)(Great Value!)
US$593
US$575
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Augusta Bay Bahamas(George Town)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Time Villas(George Town)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Yacht Club(George Town)
Booking.com
View Deal
Regatta Point(Great Exuma)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Cottage Cut Villas(George Town)
Travelocity
View Deal
EMBRACE Resort(George Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
265
75
5
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
75
5
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoopers bayvisiting exumaperfect hostspeterapartmentoxleybeachesislandbahamasvacationhummingbirds
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2015

We stayed in the B&B June 13-18th and couldn't say more good things about Coral Gardens. From the very start via email, Peter and Betty were excellent at answering all of our questions about the island and their accommodations. It's rare that you find people like the Oxley's who will truly cater to your vacation.

We stayed in one of the king bed rooms and it was perfect for our needs. As budget travelers who don't need the fancier things in life, but want a comfortable, spotless and homey place to rest our head at night - this fit the bill. For the price, we got much more than we had bargained for. Bed was comfy, room had a cool breeze (room has an ac unit but we didn't turn it on, it cooled down nicely at night despite being in the 90's during the day). Bathroom was on the small side but had everything you'd need.

Every morning, Peter had our breakfast ready for us (toast, fresh fruit, coffee/tea, cereal) and after we finished, he would help us plan our adventures for the day. He knows everything there is to know about Great Exuma which was such a blessing, as we didn't have internet access while roaming about the island. Each day he helped us plan where to go and sent us off with maps and even snorkel gear to borrow when we needed it. There could not be a nicer gentleman, he truly made us feel like we were valued guests in his home. He completely made our stay in the Exumas.

When late one night our tour to see the swimming pigs was cancelled (always check your email often! Wifi is great at Coral Gardens) - Peter went to the ends of the earth to make sure that we were re-booked with another tour company so that our vacation wouldn't be ruined (who doesn't come to Exuma without seeing the pigs?!) - In the end, we had a fantastic trip to the cays and would have completely missed out if it weren't for Peter.

Other helpful info:
-You can rent a car through Peter which we did (you can't come to Great Exuma without renting a car - a bicycle won't cut it either, it's a very long and remote island). We had the little jeep and had the time of our lives adventuring all over the island!
-Ask Peter who to book a tour with and he can help arrange for you. He has lived on Exuma for a long time and knows his stuff. We should have done this in the first place and would not have had the mishap that we did!

We have traveled all over the world and staying at Coral Gardens on Great Exuma stands out as my personal favorite thus far. We could have stayed at one of the resorts, but it would have lacked the personal touch and true island experience that we got while staying here.

Peter has apartments and other properties, but if you are a budget traveler who is in for an adventure and wants to get the true local feel of the Exumas, stay here! Thanks again!!

-Campbell and Andrew

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Campbell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahamasbliss, Owner at Coral Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2015

We are so glad that you really enjoyed your vacation to Exuma & we shared the pleasure of your different experiences & activities by reading your TripAdvisor Review.

Thank you for taking the trouble of writing & we hope we can meet you again & welcome you to stay once more at Coral Gardens.

Best wishes from the sunshine & warmth.

Betty & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2015

We had the chance to visit Great Exuma last March, for the Easter holiday. It was the first time for us in Bahamas where we were looking for some rest, possibly far from the crowd that sometimes affect touristic destinations. A friend of us suggested Exuma, and knowing our style, he also recommended to stay at Coral Gardens.
It was a succesful choice! The island is amazingly nice: you will be shocked by the beauity of the sea and by the thousands shades of blue. The beaches are quite fantastic, never crowded. You can taste good food in many reastaurant by the sea. Coral Gardens is a perfect accomodation: rooms are very nice and clean, breakfast is great. Peter, the owner of Coral Garden, is an absolute plus: he knows perfectly the island and all the attractions and activities you can have over there, so his morning briefing can really help you to focus on what you would really like to do. My advice is to rent a car: there are nice offroad toyota that Peter can offer. In our experience a must see is the boat tour at the Exuma cays.
The only negative thing... time flyes and you have to get back sometime.
We really suggest a stay in Exuma and we will always sponsor a stay in Coral Garden that is a piece of paradise with a perfect mentor, that is Peter.
Stefano and Roberta

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 100robim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahamasbliss, Owner at Coral Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2015

You were both lovely guests who we very much enjoyed meeting & helping you with your first visit to Exuma.

Thank you very much for the wonderful TripAdvisor Review which will help other people who may be thinking of visiting Exuma.

Best wishes & hope we can welcome you on another visit - either again to Exuma or to our Casa Tramonto Stupendo in nearby Long Island.

Betty & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015

We spent 8 days at Coral Gardens Studios, and it was just amazing!
The studio rent was little, but provided of anything you may need, and very close to groceries by feet, and just 10 minutes from George Town by car.
Hoopers Bay is terrific, so the position of the house is just perfect if you want to enjoy your day "at home"!
Peter was very helpful, and we really thank him for his hospitality!
I strongly recommend this place if you want to visit Exuma.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Memme28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2015

Had a absolutely lovely stay at Coral Gardens and Great Exuma. First of all, this is a "must-visit-island". The people here are extremely friendly and nice. Wherever you go you are offered a ride to your destination, and no, they won´t accept money for it. This is the kind of island where you don´t close your room, and you can safely leave your valuables in the car, or at the beach and go for a walk. And, when you can´t get hold of a cab after a late dinner/drink, the bartender will drive you home (this actually happened to us 3 times on diffrent locations).

So, back to the Coral Gardens. The B&B is located in the absolute middle of the island, wich makes it a great place to see the island with a car. We had a car for half of our stay, and the owner, Peter, sat down with us after breakfast with the map and showed us places worth to visit. After living on the island for over 15 years, he knows about every restaurant, shack, beach and everything.

The room is simple, but really cosy and nice. You have everything you need. Anyways, you don´t want to use much time in your room when you are on this island.

Coral Gardens is a short walk from Hooper´s Bay, a incredible beach. You will probably meet more turtles than people here, wich is great.

While we stayed at Coral Gardens, Peter helped for us to arrange rental car, boat trips, taxis and everything else.

We had a absolute incredible stay here, and wouldn´t hesistate to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Aleksander J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahamasbliss, Owner at Coral Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2015

Your Review is a wonderful way of helping people who may want to enjoy staying either at Coral Gardens, or our Beach Apartments at Sandy Palms & Coral Sands - which are also listed on TripAdvisor or FlipKey.

Very many thanks for writing & we certainly hope to welcome you & many others during this summer.

Best wishes from the sunshine & 30* of Exuma.

Betty & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2015

The room is right on an amazing beach. I've been to beautiful beaches, Maldives, Maui, Sardinia, other islands in the Bahamas, and this is the best. This is paradise. It's warm, never crowded, just a few houses along it. Crystal clear water. Perfect oolite sand. Sublimely peaceful and beautiful. I don't think I ever saw more than maybe ten people on the beach at a time, and many times my wife and I had the whole beach to ourselves. The sea turtles swim right up to you. There are beautiful sunrises and sunsets.

The hosts, Betty and Peter Oxley, are fantastic. They know the area well, suggested great boat trips, arranged cabs for us, and referred us to good places to eat. They are 100% reliable, communicate quickly and clearly via email, and were a pleasure to work with. I’m very grateful.

As for the room, it has everything you need. This is a beach pad for grabbing sleep, showering, and eating. Everything works: the flatscreen TV is nice, the fridge is powerful, the hot water in the shower never ran out-- I have zero complaints. That said, don't expect it to be opulent, because many of the fixtures are showing their age and their proximity to the warm Caribbean ocean. If you’re the type of person who needs nothing less than brand new furnishings, then I'm afraid you won't be happy here. It’s low maintenance. They clean between visitors, but no one comes into the room to make your bed while you’re staying there. Who cares? You’re going to be spending most of your time by the water anyways. So if you can relax in dated, but completely functional and clean surroundings, you'll love it and you'll want to come back. We can't wait to do so. We can afford to stay at a very refined resort, but it’s more secluded here, and we’d rather spend the money on boat hires and other activities.

There’s one main road on the island, and the house’s location along that road is good too. We opted to take cabs most places, but it’s easy to rent cars. There is a small store (groceries, drug store items, etc.) and a liquor shop right next to each other about a 10 minute walk away. There’s also a meat/seafood shop in the other direction (maybe a 10-15 minute walk), which has some very nice fresh stuff for good prices in case you want to grill outside or cook it up in your room.

In summary, it is a sublimely beautiful setting, with a well-appointed accommodation, and wonderful hosts. I cannot wait to get back to the island, and I’ll be booking this same place again.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Spencer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahamasbliss, Owner at Coral Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2015

This lovely Review was posted by our guests who recently stayed at our SANDY PALMS BEACH APARTMENTS (& not at Coral Gardens)

However, we were very pleased they stayed & enjoyed themselves so much & they have already posted the same Review on our SANDY PALMS FlipKey/ TripAdvisor listing where future travellers can read other lovely Reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews