We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bimini - Bahama Adventure”
other travellers have booked this property
Bimini Fun
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bimini Fun
View Master Suite Master Suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Bimini Fun
View Master Suite
Master Suite
Master Living Room
Dinner
Second Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bimini, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LibertyLi...
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We were two couples, who booked for 5 nights. First, we want to say that Douglas, our host, is a wonderful person, who cooked us delicious dinners and pancake breakfasts. We had the use of a 4 to 6 (in a pinch) person golf cart during our entire stay. However, to make this place what it should be, the accommodations need a very deep cleaning. The upstairs rooms where clean enough, but the downstairs bedroom/bathroom and kitchen area were in need of a very thorough cleaning. I can't picture any of our friends agreeing to stay there, therefore, we could not recommend the place.

We so looked forward to swimming with the dolphins, but the only boat that Douglas had available was a 13 footer for 5 people with no ladder. We literally had to clamber up over the side to get back into the boat. The seating was on wooden planks, there were no life vests, nor even an oar to paddle back in case of an emergency. Granted, there are plenty of boats around, but we don't believe that is the way to run an operation. We were told the night before our departure that the big boat was not working. By the look of the big boat, it had not worked for awhile. We did go out on the 13 footer for a nice snorkeling trip, but being on such a small, cramped boat was not the comfortable experience we imagined when we looked at the website photos, and we could never have done the dolphin trip in that small boat. Although Douglas tried to get another boat for our dolphin trip and more snorkeling, it never came to pass. We finally decided to take matters into our own hands, and booked 2 excursions with a separate operator for our last 2 days.

With a good cleaning and tidying up and better organization, this could be a unique place in which to vacation. We enjoyed ourselves because we always make the most of our experiences, and Douglas was a great cook and amiable host. Bimini waters are spectacular and the encounter with the wild dolphins - who stay with you to swim and play- is simply magical.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Nice host; delicious meals; use of the golf cart
Liked least: Unclean. The boat that we expected was not working.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Hi, If you read our Website it Clearly States that we use a 22 Speed Boat for Dolphin Swims & 13 Whalar for Free Snorkling. Suslin the
live-In innkeeper wipes down the kitchen with Clorox handy wipes every morning & all dishes are washed in a GE Dishwasher. Carol one of the Guests stated that our Meals were as Good as she cooked for
Elton John. Thanks Suslin & Douglas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidHomeS...
Tallmadge, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bimini - Bahama Adventure”
Reviewed 13 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We flew into this tiny island on a small commercial prop jet. It only took 15 minutes from Fort Lauderdale airport. We were looking for a non commercial remote location. The tiny Bimini Airport was a breeze going through customs... one guy. Doug picked us up in his golf cart. We traveled down white crushed shell roads to our B&B vacation. We had the top floor with 2 balcony's. We felt like we were staying with family. Delicious breakfasts and great seafood dinners. If you are looking for a fancy 5 star resort.... this is not the place. Doug was gracious, along with Suslin and 12 year old Jemmer. We loved exploring the island and supporting the locals at their stores & getting lunch from "the Lunch Lady". Staying connected on small islands is not dependable. Weather was really rough & windy the first few days. Internet and electric go out sometimes. You just need to know that island life is a slow pace. We are so glad that we had Doug to immerse us with the locals who love him so much. He's almost famous there. ;-) It truly was an adventure.
The beaches were like a dream. Beautiful white sand, great for long strolls. No one. Just us. It was amazing. The water was the most beautiful blue. I loved the solitude and beauty. It will always be a wonderful memory for both of us. Thanks Doug!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abart67
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We throroughly enjoyed our time with Doug. It was like a home away from home.
He not only cooked great meals for us, he also showed us around the island by golf cart and took us on boating trips. Staying at Doug's is is like staying with locals, rather than tourists. We got insight on the island and its people. This was a great experience, especially for my teenage kids. Thanks a lot Doug!
South Bimini is a wonderfull place and we hope that one day we might be able to visit again.

Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy S
Spring Grove, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Put this on your bucket list!!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was by far the most amazing vacation I have taken. It's more like a home stay as Dougie welcomes you with open arms into his house. His house has a native charm and you will be assimilated into the culture of Bimini by the time you leave. Every morning Dougie made a delicious breakfast and most days were spent snorkeling and spear fishing. Which lead to most evenings dining on fresh sea food including Hog fish, Conch, and Snapper. This property is a short golf cart ride to amazing beaches, pools, and marinas. Definitely a vacation for the adventurous and I highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Snorkeling the reefs.
Liked least: It was a little overcroweded at times with other guests and their guests.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omtatsat0...
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This really was a magical place...”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Right from the get-go, DOUG, the owner of this magical retreat picked us up from the airport and tended to our every need. He was super kind, funny, efficient, heart-based and eager to please! WE had use of the golf cart and anything else we needed. Doug was kind enough to bring us on boat rides and provide us with a true Bahamian experience. His food was GREAT! Fresh caught seafood everyday-- YOU CAN'T BEAT THAT!!! But most of all, the energy of this tenth wedding anniversary get away for me and my husband was magical and we highly recommend it to anyone seeking a non-hotel experience. Oh, and be prepared to laugh at the best stories ever over dinner!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Doug, the food, our bedroom overlooking the view...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$225
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing