We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dundee Bay Villas(Freeport)(Great Value!)
US$222
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$343
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dolphin Cove(Freeport)
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
US$144
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bell Channel Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$124
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$111
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$394
US$179
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveller rating
163
272
160
94
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
272
160
94
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up bargrocery storefree rum punchfull kitchenfish frywelcome centerawesome poolon site restaurantferry ridebon firelaid backrented a carthe resort offersjust returned from a weekjet skiglass bottom boat tourwest end
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 773 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Marlin building and the room that we were in was decent although it could use an upgrade such as the building itself or furniture. The resort provides free WiFi but it's limited, the strongest connection is in the lobby or pool area so there is no guarantee that you will get WiFi connection when you're in your room. There is no cleaning service so it's a good idea to try to keep the resort clean yourself which I didn't mind since it was just the two of us. The best part about this resort is the pool and the beach. The pool is big enough for children to be on one side (1-2 ft) while others can swim on the other side (4-5 ft). The grotto bar was an awesome addition to the pool but it does take a while for the bartender to make your drink since there's usually only one there. Taino beach is close and within walking distance so we didn't have to go so far. Although the resort is not upgraded like other 5 star resorts, we enjoyed our stay because of the hot sunny weather all week.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
Thank nakingxiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I wanted to give this place a better score but I just could not. Here are my reasons why:

1. This place is so outdated! Our room had bubble gum pink paint everywhere with hunter green sinks, toilets, and tubs. I am not one to balk at colors, because hey, it's the Bahamas and there are some crazy color schemes. But when something is so outdated it looks dirty, it's time to upgrade. The handles to the bathtub didn't work, we had to have someone come in and replace our broken smoke detector because it was screeching at us, our cabinets didn't close correctly because they were hung incorrectly, we had ants coming out of cracks on our countertops (and we kept our kitchen clean) and our blinds didn't roll up (my husband, jack of all trades, fixed those).

2. I feel like because there really aren't many hotels around, especially since the Grand Lucayan is out of commission, the staff can be adequate towards you. Now I am always honest with my reviews, and we are not snobby people by any means, but it almost feels like if you ask for anything it is done for you but like you are inconveniencing them. And I feel like since there is not much competition they can get away with treating you like that, because where else are you going to go?

That being said, the standouts of this place are the on site restaurant, where I would highly recommend the fish and chips and the bacon burger. The two outstanding people you should visit at the hotel are Alfi, in the cave bar in the middle of the pool (he pours some amazing drinks) and Mr. Buckets at the restaurant. The beach associated with the resort is nice but if your weather isn't good that won't matter.

Honestly, if it weren't for the two people mentioned above and the food, I would be giving this place a poor rating instead of average.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a beautiful property. The pool & beach are amazing. The rooms are a bit dated but very nice. The restaurant was wonderful & the pool bar was great! This was a vey enjoyable vacation. We would recommend this resort

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We slept, ate, pool and beach. That's it! Very relaxing time. Restaurant onsite is good and prices are reasonable. The beach is amazing. Make sure to walk all the way down (before the point) to see the shoe tree. Pool is FANTASTIC! Bring a floatation device. Waterslide super fun. Stayed in the Ocean building. The room does need to be updated but you are not there to hang out in the room. Staff was great. Bring some snacks and purchase water at the store across the street. Prices are reasonable. Wednesday night fish fry is delicious. Excellent line dancing to all types of music. We did not enjoy Port Lucaya Market Place. Stay at the hotel and relax.

Room Tip: Stay in the Marlin Building. We were told it is a lot nicer. Higher floors have views of the water.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Harold_Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room we had was big and clean however the resort needs a lot of daily maintenance. The landscaping was well maintained but there was always trash, floats towels and drink containers left all over the area around the pool. There is a lot of damage from hurricanes that needs repairs especially the roofs, it really makes the place look bad.There is nothing to do on the island so if you need entertainment not the place to go. The island is very bad lots of buildings left in disrepair and everything is closed. The information you see on the internet is very old information, the island probably was very nice at one time but now a ghost town.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank thewyatts4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews