We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
27 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Riu.comUS$350
TravelocityUS$350
Hotels.comUS$350
Orbitz.comUS$350
CheapTicketsUS$350
TraveluroUS$358
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 430)
Filter reviews
1 430 results
Traveller rating
466
445
230
133
156
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
466
445
230
133
156
Show reviews that mention
All reviews specialty restaurants calypso bar jerk chicken swim up bar hour bar jerk hut family suite a la cartes entertainment staff nightly entertainment reservation system small resort chairs and umbrellas ocean front atlantis casino other resorts straw market
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 1 430 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2021

We enjoyed our stay a RIU, the customer service was great. The atmosphere was wonderful, I wish my stay could have been a little longer. I will definitely refer others to stay at this resort. Thank you RIU!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Thank SCOLEMAN63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 July 2021

When we first arrived at the resort we where welcomed with drinks and the check-in process was very easy and fast. They give you 1 card per person for the pool/ beach towels. You will only be able to get 1 towel and when you return the towel you get your card back. If you loose that card it is a $20 fee and you will need to return it at check-out. We had a superior ocean view suite and the view was amazing but the rooms where pretty out dated. They do not have the licor bottles in the room anymore but they do have the mini fridge fully stock with beer, water and soda. They clean your room and restock your mini fridge everyday and if you want your bedding changed then you need to leave a paper that they give you during check-in on the bed. The stand up shower does not have a door so water will come out of the shower. The swim up bar at the pool was completely closed. I read in other reviews that they had really loud music at the pool and that was not true for the first 3 days of our stay. The last 3 days the resort was at full capacity and they did started putting loud music and it felt more like a party scene. We enjoyed it. Arrive early if you want an umbrella at the pool or the beach. At the beach the lifeguards will help you find chairs and umbrellas. There are people selling coconuts, drinks inside of a pineapple and doing water sports, if you say no, they will not bother you again. For breakfast the buffet is the only thing open and it closes at 10am, they also have a cappuccino station that is open all day with snacks. For lunch you can either eat at the buffet from 12-3pm or at the jerk chicken station by the pool but the jerk chicken station has the same food every day. They have a snack set up at the buffet from 3-5pm if you miss lunch. They have 4 a-la-carte restaurants and the food is not very good. If you want to eat there the latest you can arrive is at 7pm to place your name on the list otherwise they will not let you in and you will have to eat at the buffet which closes at 10pm. The food at the buffet during dinner is very similar to the lunch one. You can order room service which is available 24/7 but the menu is very minimal. There is not much of an entertainment. They do have daily entertainment at 9pm and a DJ plays music at 11pm. I will advise you to bring your own reusable thermal cup as the cups they use for drinks are very small and if you get a frozen drink it will melt right away.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 741hilarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2021

Dear 741hilarya,

Thank you for the time you have taken to write us about your experience in our hotel.

It is our goal to provide excellent service and a memorable stay. We are truly sorry to read that we did not meet up with your expectations on several points, as it does not seem like we met that goal and we truly apologize.

We regret that you did not enjoy our entertainment program. Our principle is to do everything possible to ensure all our guests a pleasant stay.

We are sorry that we were not able to provide you the holiday you were looking for but hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with a more positive experience!

Best of hopes,

Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2021

I enjoyed my stay for 5 nights. The food was good and the service was great. Friendly staff and people on the resort. Clear blue water and the pool was nice. The only thing I did not like was the WiFi which was not working the entire time other than that I would definitely visit this resort again.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
1  Thank Relax53103668843
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2021

The room was spacious but the AC was leaking and bathroom mirror has dark spots. The view from my balcony was really nice. The specialty restaurants are good but we had to spend like 1.5 hours for most dinners. The buffets are quite good too.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
1  Thank aza11373
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2021

We were a little hesitant based on all of the negative reviews, however, we had an amazing experience. We stayed five days with a group of friends. Yes, there are some restrictions due to COVID as the locals do not yet have access to the vaccine. We considered ourselves lucky that we are able to travel freely with less restrictions, so the inconvenience of wearing a mask when ordering a drink at the bar was hardly noticed. The staff and service were excellent, always going out of their way to ensure everyone was having a good time. The entertainers kept everyone dancing and busy by the pool. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing place this is more upbeat and fun music during the day. The food was decent in the buffet with a great variety, and the restaurants were very good - so much food, all the time. You can order drinks 24/7 - bring a large cup to fill up and keep cold, and they will make it as strong as you want. There isn't much shopping nearby so we would go to Atlantis for that. Overall a great trip, no complaints!

Room tip: Rooms not facing the pool are quieter
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leslieaP1922KF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews