We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
US$502
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/02
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$502
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/02
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hurb
US$455
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/02
Booking.comUS$502
PricelineUS$502
Orbitz.comUS$502
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
83
28
9
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
83
28
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mahogany house lyford cay small hotel property offers appointed rooms short drive hotel guests pool area is view of the ocean asian restaurant room service the entire staff private beach shima gym bahamas island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2021

My wife and I just left The Island House (TIH) after 5 days there and WOW! All around top notch. We have been fortunate to spend time in some amazing places around the world, and TIH is right up there with our favorites (which also include Guana Island BVI, Vahine Private Island FP, and the Remote Resort Fiji).

Rooms: The Suites and Jr Suites are poolside which also makes them very convenient to everything else including the gym, coffeehouse, and Shima restaurant. Absolutely nothing to complain about regarding the rooms. Bedding was great, and the indoor shower was so nice that my wife, who normally LOVES outdoor showers, used the indoor one the entire stay.

Food: We now have food babies, or at least our bellies look like it. The food was GREAT. Breakfast at the Coffeehouse was always excellent. We had a variety of items including the chocolate chip pancakes, bagel with lox, Farmer's breakfast, etc, and all were excellent. The coffee was very good too.
Shima is an Asian themed restaurant that serves good sushi (get the Tuna with crispy rice), curries, noodles, and other dishes. For lunch, the Poke bowl and salmon bowl were excellent.
Mahogany house is Italian with great pasta and remarkably good pizza. The goat cheese/fig pizza was a hit as was the truffle pasta.
Mahogany Store: Sells items for use in your room including basic groceries, sundries, etc. They also sell homemade gelato, wine, and beer.

Service: All around excellent.

Gym: Quite good. Small, but it has everything you need including 2 Pelotons (bring your shoes).

Spa: Very nice! The Signature Treatment is a few dollars more than the standard treatment, but totally worth it. It includes some fancy reflexology stuff and other items that my wife loved.

Pool: Very nice. Good service during the day and quiet overall. Temperature was good and not cold as described in some other reviews.

BEACH: I capitalized this because the beach was amazing. For the beach, the hotel takes you in the awesome London taxi to the Old Fort Bay Club and the BEST BEACH in Nassau. You can get food and drinks there, and the fish seem to like to eat any left over bread that might fall out of your hands into the water. The hamburger is fantastic (and I am wearing an In'n'Out t-shirt while I write this, so you know I love a good burger). We ended up going there everyday.

The hotel is suitable for couples or families. There is also a decent number of locals who come for meals at the hotel, so make sure you make reservations for dinner especially at Shima on Fridays and Saturdays.

There is no room service, but you can do take out from the restaurants.

Overall, a wonderful experience.

Room tip: The Jr Suites and Suites are next to the pool and in a great location
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bignb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James Wyndham, General Manager at The Island House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the kind review. Your recommendation means a lot to us. Hope to welcome you back soon to our little corner of paradise. James W, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2021 via mobile

My husband and I left the Atlantis hotel after a family visit to spend three nights alone at The Island Hotel. We immediately breathed a sigh of relief after arriving at the hotel-- everything from the warm welcome, to the beautiful grounds, to the excellent food is polar opposite of the subpar experience at the Atlantis. We surely will be coming back and will be eager to enjoy another meal at Shima, the food there is excellent!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BackPacker759730
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James Wyndham, General Manager at The Island House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2021

Thank you very much for the kind review. Your recommendation means a lot to us. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2021 via mobile

We came to The Island House for a girls weekend to celebrate one of our birthdays with high expectations and were not disappointed. The Island House is a hidden gem on the western side of New Providence nestled between 2 of the most elegant neighborhoods, Lyford Cay and Old Fort Bay. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by the staff and made to feel at home. The hotel is understated and super elegant with a contemporary feel from the Dedon Furniture on the terrace to the gorgeous spa like bathrooms with freestanding tubs and the Bamford Spa, the infinity pool is enormous. The service was second to none, the food excellent in both Mahogany House and Shima. The cocktails even better!
They have an arrangement with the beach club at the Old Fort Bay Club and will take you there in the hotel English taxi. This is not to be missed - we had a fantastic day ! James we congratulate you and your team, don’t change anything!!! We are looking at dates to come back.
Michelle and Laura

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank lauratL1696HV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James Wyndham, General Manager at The Island House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2021

Thank you ladies for the kind words and we can't wait to have you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2021

We were looking for a place affording easy access to the states. We decided on Nassau, but were looking for a place that was not a "resort," with a more chill vibe than you'd find at the Atlantis, Baha Mar, etc... The Island House was our perfect antidote to being sequestered in our NYC apartment for 14 months. From the exceptionally lovely staff, to the beautifully appointed rooms, to the fantastic onsite restaurants, we couldn't have asked for more. The beach is a bit down the road, but the hotel offers a free shuttle to and from whenever the mood strikes. We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank admixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James Wyndham, General Manager at The Island House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2021

We enjoyed having you and await your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2021

Stayed here for a week post-vaccine in May 2021. Felt very safe with COVID precautions at the airport and hotel. The hotel rooms are huge and airy and had a big bath tub. The hotel, pool area and private beach were wonderful and the blue water is stunning! We had great meals at all 3 restaurants and the staff was great. A huge highlight was the wine shop on site, which carried some fantastic bottles to take home for the night.

The spa at the hotel was also a delight. I had a 90 min massage with Lynn. I have been going to massage therapists for many, many years trying to find therapists who are truly great at their craft. Lynn is one of those people - she's kind, really cares about figuring out how to solve problems and shares her vast knowledge with you throughout stretching/breathing exercises and during massage. She was able to perform trigger point type therapy to release the tension in my neck and shoulders. Seeing Lynn was a great addition to my vacation and I'm so glad I booked this!

Tip: bring US cash for taxis as most of them don't take credit card.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank blairwaldorf17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James Wyndham, General Manager at The Island House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2021

Thank you Blair for the warm review. I'm thrilled to hear such wonderful feedback, and proud to have such an amazing team that believe in delivering exceptional service. Looking forward to your return. James Wyndham, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews