We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“High End Diving at Reasonable Prices”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yacht -
6 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Nassau, New Providence Island, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sbear1324
Slidell, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“High End Diving at Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed 13 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The Cat Ppalu was the last boat in the Blackbeard's family that our dive group needed to try. Over the last 15 years we have been on multiple trips on all of the sailing sloops and the big cat, but had never booked Cat Ppalu. Not sure what took us so long to finally board this wonderful vessel, but this past week we did and we had a blast. Cat Ppalu is reasonably priced, I'd even say a great value for all that you get.

The Cat Ppalu is a whole boat charter that can accommodate up to 12 people in six staterooms. The vessel has a large salon for meals and just hanging out between dives or when moving from location to location. The vessel is manned by a crew of four that go out of their way to make your trip the best that it can be.

Capt. Manny, Engineer James, Dive Master Martyna and Chef Elayna were awesome. No request was to large or too small. The crew do all within their power to make sure that everyone on board has a great experience. If I owned my own Yacht, I wouldn't hesitate to have them as part of my crew.

Now, down to the nitty gritty of this past weeks adventure and what one might expect. Weather not withstanding, Capt. Manny and crew will bring you to some off the chart great diving locations. In between dives you can choose to feed the pigs or iguanas of the Exuma Cays. You can take a day trip to the Land and Sea Park or just lounge about on a secluded beach. The options are almost limitless.

The state rooms are large enough to not feel like you're in a broom closet. Depending on who's in your group there are rooms with twin beds or queen beds. There are two shower stalls and two toilet stalls, just remember to knock!!!!

And finally, the food: Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner are served buffet style all timed around your days activities. Chef Elayna did a wonderful job with the meals and made sure there were ample snacks between dives and during non-diving activities. There is a soda fountain, beer on tap and what seemed like a limitless supply of spirits for those who wanted them, we did our best to help lighten the burden of having all those spirits on board...lol

So, if you have a group of friends or family that are looking for a week long adventure at a reasonable cost, Cat Ppalu might just be the ticket. We just got home and can't wait to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanadaDan...
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome crew and boat”
Reviewed 25 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We had a fantastic time on the Ppalu diving through Exuma. Great crew, solid CLEAN boat, lots of great food and drink... what more could you ask for! By far one of the best live aboard dive values ANYWHERE.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith P
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This is a 65 foot catamaran sailboat. It used to be a racing catamaran, but due to the extra equipment (e.g. galley and such) it can't do more that 5 knots on engines alone or about 10-12 knots with sail. The accommodations were very nice for a catamaran (watch your head if you are over 5' 11"). The crew was incredible! The ship's captain, Carlis, got us out of a 45 knot wind to Aluthera where we did 15 dives and then back to the Exuma Cays where we did an additional 3 dives. This was far better than the other Blackbeard boats that were out the same week we were. It was unfortunate that we didn't get any dives in on the first day at sea, but the knowledge of the captain got us to a place where we got 4 dives in the next day (the other ships got only 1 or 2). The cook was excellent as was the divemaster and engineer. Overall it was the single best vacation I have ever taken. The fish life was absolutely amazing and the water visibility was stellar at several dive sites and a bit limited due to wind at other sites. The food was great all week, the knowledgeable and friendly crew were absolutely amazing. I would do this before the sloops from Blackbeard's due to the living quarters and before the Aquacat as it is just way more expensive for the same diving.

Overall.... great diving (18 dives), great crew and a very stable dive platform (catamaran). Will do it again!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2017
Thanks Keith! We are glad you had such a wonderful experience. I will be sure to pass this on to Carlis to share with the rest of the crew. Hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
All Star Liveaboards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osprey62
Ft Lauderdale
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family Cruise”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

In May we chartered the Cat Ppalu for a family cruise through the northern Exumas. This was one of the best family vacations we have had. Some of the places we visited were:
Thunderball Grotto -really beautiful inside with the light filtering through the hole in the top of the cave.
Swimming pigs -the pigs were a lot of fun, plus it is a beautiful beach.
Rachel's Bubble Bath - The bubble bath was run, also a nice hike to it and another beautiful beach we had to ourselves.
Rocky Dundas - We kayaked and paddleboarded over to the caves which were fun to explorer. We also snorkeled a beautiful beach off the island. Two or our group tried scuba diving here with the dive instructor onboard.
Exumas Land & Sea Park - We hiked up Boo Boo Hill. What a view from the top. We then headed down to the beach to swim and paddleboard. It seems like every island has a beautiful beach.
Shroud Cay - We anchored off Camp Driftwood. There is a beautiful view from the top of the hill of the mangrove creeks that meander through the island. We explored the creeks either by paddleboard, kayak or in the dinghy. We say seveal lemon sharks and a number of herons.
Allan's Cay - This is one of the last homes of the native rock iguanas. The kids had a blast feeding them grapes.
The Cat Ppalu is perfect for a family cruise. Our family was either doing things together at one of the islands, sitting on the bow while we were underway or sitting at the table eating meals or playing games. The crew were great. Like I mentioned several of our family got to try scuba diving. The one complaint was the food was too good. I actually added weight this week.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing