We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home like stay.”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Total Relaxation & Privacy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Total Relaxation & Privacy
Wonderful Fully Equipped Kitchen Pura Vida at Night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Welcome to Total Relaxation & Privacy
Wonderful Fully Equipped Kitchen
Pura Vida at Night
TV Area at night
Open Floor Plan
Great Sitting Area
Relax and Enjoy!
Deck
Deck
Entrance
Dining Area
TV Area
TV Area
Screened in Sitting Area
Sitting Area
Master Bedroom #1
Master Bath #1
Mater Bedroom #2
Master Bath #2
Master Bedroom #2
Beautiful Property Plantings
Beautiful Property Plantings
Beautiful Property Plantings
Beautiful Property Plantings
Beautiful Property Plantings
Beautiful Property Plantings
Main Entrance - Welcome!
Up the Driveway
Evening on Hart Bay
View from the Kitchen
View of Hart Bay from the deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cruz Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JeremyL23...
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing at times”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Overall the stay at Pura Vida was good, our welcome by Stevie was fantastic. But did include disappointing things that resulted in a lower rating. Most of the supplied equipment needs updating and should be checked over. Chairs were broken as well as snorkeling gear, coolers were beat up, not a surprise you want when getting to the beach. Air conditioning is only in the bedroom which also could use a little better privacy since the curtains didn't cover much. The master bathroom was noticeably not cleaned which we didn't feel comfortable using until taking care of it ourselves. Too many insufficient things added up here that need to be taken care of to make this a five star stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Jeremy - thank you for the feedback - constructive criticism is always welcome.

I'm glad you appreciated Stevie's personal welcome, and I hope the gift basket we left you was enjoyable also.

By chance, my wife and I left the villa the day you arrived - we spent our anniversary there the week before. We used the Playmate cooler every day when we went to the beach and had no problems - I'm sorry that you had a bad experience.

We do provide snorkel gear as a perk for our guests so they do not have to incur the expense of renting them. We actually went through all the snorkel gear while we were there that week and threw out everything that we thought was broken. What we left in the laundry room we thought was all in working order. I believe there were about 8 sets in total. We did not test all sets but visually they appeared to be in working order. I'm very sorry if you had a bad experience using any of them.

Regarding the bedroom curtains, they are a sheer design on purpose and they can easily be seen on our listing. We feel that the beauty in STJ is worth seeing and because of the way the bedroom sits there is privacy even without the curtains. We never close them when we are there. I'm sorry that you felt uncomfortable with the curtains.

Like many villas on STJ, air conditioning is provided only in the bedrooms. With the windows open while you are in the villa, you get great breezes throughout the living areas allowing you to enjoy the island breezes. I apologize if this was not obvious when you booked the villa.

When we left, on the day you arrived, we cleaned the villa and then also had our cleaning crew (which we've been using since we started renting the villa) clean behind us so everything was in good order. Since we've been renting we've had nothing but positive reports on the cleanliness of our villa - it's something we pride ourselves on. We will certainly be discussing this with our cleaning crew to try and find out what might have happened, and to take any corrective action that is needed.

Regarding the beach chairs, we did notice that several of them had deteriorated to the point that they were not useable. We threw these out. I believe we left behind 5 or 6 chairs that we used while we were there, but they were a bit worn. We actually travelled to St. Thomas to try and replace them; however, no stores were selling beach chairs at Christmas time. A shipment of chairs is arriving on STJ in mid January and we will be purchasing all new chairs when we personally return in late January.

Lastly, Stevie tells every guest that arrives to contact him if they have any problems with anything in the villa. After receiving your feedback, we contacted Stevie, and he did not hear from you on any of these issues. I wish you had called him so he could have rectified these for you - we want all of our guests to have the very best experience possible in our villa - that is why Stevie is on call 24/7.

Jeremy, thanks again for your feedback.

John & Maura Kelly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P2Pir
United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home like stay.”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Husband and I, with our 1 year old child, stayed at Pura Vida for a week. This was our first trip to St John.

I have only good things to say about the villa. It is fully equipped with all necessary household items, beach gear, board games, books and dvds. A very home like ambience, immensely comfortable and clean, beautiful private views of garden and the sea from every corner of the house.

Our little one had quite a time crawling and cruising around in the house. A very baby friendly house, I would say.

Cruz Bay & car barge is 10 min car ride; Northshore beaches and Coral bay are 30 min car ride. St John grocery store is 6 min ride from the villa.

John Kelly, the owner was very responsive with every question/concerns we had and Stevie, the property manager was very helpful and suggested some really nice places to see and eat at while at St John.

We are looking forward to staying at Pura Vida the next time we visit St John.

I would highly recommend staying at Pura Vida.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Amenities and Kid friendliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akatez
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Villa”
Reviewed 15 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My husband, parents and 17 month old son recently spent 9 nights at Pura Vida. The property was even better than the pictures! The villa was extremely clean, bright and updated, the beds were very comfortable, and the location was perfect and offered great views and nice privacy. We loved spending our nights relaxing on the deck--and our son loved looking at all the birds and searching for geckos.
The owners were great and very helpful. Their taste is beautiful and everything was well maintained. The villa is very spacious, it was great having the 2.5 bathrooms!
We highly recommend this villa and hope to stay here the next time we visit the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Extremely clean, very comfortable beds, quiet location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKS_CC27
Florida
1 review
“Enjoyed our stay at Pura Vida”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We just returned from a 4 day trip at Pura Vida on the beautiful island of St. John, USVI. We found the location to be quiet and peaceful but still very close to Cruz Bay.

The house was perfect for the two of us and it's very spacious. The owners have done a great job with the décor and make the house feel like it's your own home. The grounds are very unique as well. We took a walk through the trail down to the Hart Bay beach area our second morning there where we found many interesting shells, coral, sponges and sea fans washed up on shore.

We hope to make St. John a regular vacation spot for us and will definitely stay at Pura Vida again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrequentF...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The definition of tranquility...”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely loved our stay at Pura Vida...what a wonderfully serene and peaceful property...the grounds are beautifully landscaped and upon arrival we found the home in immaculate condition...the decor is inviting and relaxing and the home was equipped with everything one could ever need...Steve, the property manager was extremely helpful; sharing recommendations to some of the best beaches and restaurants...Pura Vida was conveniently located to town and many of our favorite finds on the island...we hope to visit St. John in the future and would most definitely choose Pura Vida once again!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing