We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tropical Tranquility”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cruz Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michelle...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tropical Tranquility”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This beautifully appointed home, inside and out, is fabulous. The pictures you see fully represent the home you will inhabit. The views are stunning both inside and out. In the mornings, we enjoyed watching the iguanas and intriguing birds that would congregate around the koi pod. The lavish tropical foliage that surrounds the property creates a sanctuary of tropical tranquility.

We were seeking a relaxing (and self-indulgent) vacation after a challenging year. Thiis property fit the bill and did not disappoint. We were able to snorkel directly in front of the house, although getting into the water is a little tricky (had to float over coral in shallow water). Not a lot of fish to see, but fun.

The house is very close to the Westin, so we used their workout room and booked all of our snorkling tours with them. Very easy and convenient.

We rented a Jeep to get around during the day and were able to develop a relationship with a taxi driver to essentially function as our driver in the evenings. We were able to call to schedule a pick up for dinner, and grabbed a taxi from Cruz Bay or Caneel Bay after dinner. The driveway is steep and narrow, and although the there is enough room for a taxi to turn around at the bottom of the driveway, some taxi drivers did not want to go down the driveway at night. So, be prepared to walk down (use the light on your cellphone to find your way). Not many taxis drive to the villas, so be prepared to give directions. Toward the end of our stay, we learned that the taxis from the Westin will pick up at the villa and take folks downtown. We never tried this, but it's worth checking into.

I have nothing but praise for this house and Catered to Go Vacation Homes. Our representative from Catered to Go picked us up at the dock, took us to the home, gave us the tour, helped us to get settled and connected us to people who were extremely helpful. I had a text from her before we landed in St Thomas and we kept in touch until we connected in person. On two occasions during our stay, I reached out to her via text to ask a question, and she got back to me faster than I anticipated. This includes a call late at night when everyone on certain parts of the island lost power (lots of flashlights around)

The sound system (not the best quality but sufficient) allows you to fill the home (and patio) with music, which we enjoyed.

In this house, you notice how beautifully it is constructed; in addition to all of the design elements. Lots of natural materials, a rich color palette, textured fabrics, and walls of windows which brings the lush feel of the tropical landscape inside.

The pool is not deep, but it's perfect for cooling off and lounging. There are a few pool toys available and I left my lounger for future guests. I spent hours floating and dozing. No problems with WiFi.

You can't help but enjoy the stunning views of Chocolate Hole. This house sets a new standard. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Subzero Refrigerator door was very difficult to open at times. Pressure lock/seal was malfunctioning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfdjr35
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
“Family Reunion at St. John”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Beach Garden comfortably accommodated our party of six adults. Location is quiet yet still close to town and plenty of parking. We really enjoyed the water front location and the grounds were varied and beautiful. The interior is spacious and well decorated. The best part of all is the second floor pool and the entire surrounding patio and views. Beach Garden exceeded our expectations. This is a memory our family will recount numerous times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool overlooking Chocolate Hole
Liked least: Packing to go home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulomi S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Property!”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are just leaving Beach Garden after a 10 night stay over the xmas period. We travelled with our two children (ages 12 and 9) and with a set of older parents. The quality of the villa construction is exceptional as are the interior furnishings. The layout of the bedrooms allow for great privacy. The great room - while not expansive - is very comfortable and the open kitchen makes cooking/entertaining very easy. The pool area is wonderful because you have both sun and shade. There is a small fridge area by the pool deck which is great for making drinks/snacks etc. The views of chocolate hole and beyond are stunning. We learned (too late) to make use of the fact that there are screened doors throughout and the sounds of the water coming through the villa are wonderful. So why not a five star rating? The location of the villa right on the water makes it a bug (no-seeums, mosquito) magnet. So you need to be aware that you'll need to douse yourselves with DEET in order to sit outside comfortably in the early morning and at dusk. Another point is that the bedrooms have no blinds/shades - so an eye mask is a must! The jacuzzi is located very strangely in the front of the house so it's doubtful you will get any use from it - if that's important to you. We had a wonderful time overall and would certainly recommend.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsh5d
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great stay”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at beach garden villa last week and really enjoyed it. The house is very nice and had all of the comforts and amenities for four adults and four young children to have a great time. The pool, while shallow is great to relax in and the deck setup with the table and covered seating area was where we spent the most time. This is the fifth house we've rented in St. John and ranks as one of the best values. It was not the largest but was a great use of space. The four master suites are large and comfortable and the living areas provide more than enough room to relax and spread out. We did not have any of the problems in some of the other reviews and the few minor issues we had were addressed immediately by CateredTo. Because the villa is close to the water you don't get the panoramic views others up the hill have. When the wind is dormant we noticed some bugs although it wasn't a big deal. You can snorkel off the rocky beach but its not likely you would spend a whole lot of time there compared to the other beaches on the island

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPBconsul...
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful home but too many problems”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We are three couples in our 60's and wanted to spare no expense in arranging a reunion to celebrate almost 50 years of friendship. The house had the design, view, architecture, construction, and spaces to meet our objective. Also, a nice hot/tub.
Unfortunately, the Internet barely worked (and we needed it.) One of the service people we talked to admitted that the owner was aware of the unreliability of the system. The freezer leaked and would only intermittently freeze food or preserve ice cream. One of the windows would not close and was banging at night until we jammed it shut with a towel. One of the sinks was clogged and developed a leak. The AC was locked at a warm 74 degrees (in our opinion) when a lower limit of 72 would seem to be a more appropriate option. Certainly seemed stingy to us for the price of the home ! One of the thermostats was broken and no AC was available in a bedroom for a couple of days !

The agent Catered To was responsive but the ones who will benefit mostly will be the next tenants. Why weren't these problems fixed before we arrived ?
When you are paying >$10,000 per week, shouldn't you expect something closer to perfection than this ?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you experienced any challenges during your stay.

Although the problems with the internet and the air conditioning were brought to our attention during your stay, we are sorry that we did not have the opportunity to address any of the other items mentioned since they were never reported to the maintenance team.

As soon as we received this review we had the fridge inspected and discovered that the compressor was failing and a new one was ordered. The fridge is in prefect working order again at this time.

We have also had the internet connection addressed by switching to another service that is more reliable. Please note that internet service on St. John is generally not to stateside standards and connections speeds can be much slower than one may be used to. We are pleased however to say that this villas connection is now a bit faster than it was before.

As extensive as our maintenance prevention and arrival inspections are unfortunately not every issue can be detected prior to a guests arrival. The failure of a refrigerator compressor, or an air conditioning thermostat for example cannot be anticipated or tested for prior to failing. As a result service call may be required during a rental. In the event something does happen we will always respond quickly.

We do hope that you had an enjoyable vacation despite the issues mentioned above and we hope to welcome you back again the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing