We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gallows Point Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 September 2017

I like the fact that this was it a series of condos and we had a beautiful kitchen and bathroom and a great view of Saint Thomas, yes the pool was closed but we were still able to walk down to the waterfront and do some swimming but most of the time we spent traveling the island and visiting beaches on the North Shore and snorkeling. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful. We shopped at the two grocery stores and would make breakfast in the room. I also liked the free shuttle to and from the ferry and the resort is a short walk to town. We rented a car from St John car rental and found them reputable. I had no issue with giving the room tip at the end of our stay as well as a donation for Island preservation. It was optional.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patriciaanntp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful time in St John and Gallow's Point exceeded our expectations! We will be back and will definitely stay here again! Everyone was so friendly and helpful and the room was everything we needed. Anna was so friendly each day and Max was super helpful to us.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank mindypridmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GallowsPointMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at Gallows Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you so much for your 5 star review and feedback! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We hope you are able to return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

This is not a "resort". This is a compilation of "apartments". Apartments mind you, that probably would not meet the "Section 8" standards on the mainland.
We occupied 8C for 2 days as our villa wasn't available all of the days we needed and The Westin was fully booked.
The room itself had a lot to be desired. Cheesy furnishings and a skylight right above the bed so that the sun bursts straight into your eyes first thing in the morning. There was a "vent" on the living room wall that had rust stains dripping down the wall. It looked simply filthy.

The day of check-out, we went down to check out and get the shuttle to the ferry and the only person at the front desk was someone else waiting to be helped. The driver put our bags in the shuttle and he himself kept coming to the counter looking for someone to check us out. After 15 min. my husband just walked into the back office where there were 2 ladies and handed the key over, said we were checking out and needed to catch the shuttle to the ferry. We hopped in the shuttle and a lady walked out front looking like she was lost or dumbfounded perhaps that someone was willing to wait at the counter forever.
The evening before we checked out, we received (hanging on our door) a plastic bag containing a final bill, a slip to fill out and add a TIP for housekeeping with a statement saying not to leave cash for her in the room, and "voluntary donation" paperwork stating that we were being charged $1 a day for some island preservation foundation misc. We were already charged, and the "voluntary" part was that if we wanted our $2 back we could come to the front desk and ask that it be removed if we didn't want to donate. $2 is not an issue. But, stealing $2 from us and then telling us that we had to ask for it to be returned is. This was without a doubt the tackiest scam ever to take money that doesn't belong to you. Perhaps a statement explaining the foundation and that donations are appreciated would reap more of a bounty than billing guests one dollar a day against their will.
At close to $400 a night for quarters that one might find at the sleaziest of motels....you would think that the resort could chip in a couple of dollars for the donation.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bfulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GallowsPointMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at Gallows Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

We are very sorry that our resort did not meet your expectations. We inspected the room you stayed in and have made improvements to the vent you mentioned. As for the skylight, many guests enjoy the light the window provides; those who do not usually ask to be moved to a lower room which is much darker, and we are happy to accommodate these requests when possible. Since each room is individually owned, the furnishings in each suite vary depending on the taste of the owner. We are sorry that the decor in this specific unit was not to your liking.

In regards to your check-out day, the gentleman you mentioned who was waiting at the Front Desk had made a special request and our Front Desk agent was researching this request in the back office on his behalf. There was a bell on the Front Desk counter - had you rung the bell, our front desk agent would have immediately come to the Front Desk to assist with your check-out.

In regards to the voluntary donation - we do kindly ask if guests would like to donate $1/night to support the Island Green Living Association, a group that founded and continues the recycling program on our island. Gallows Point Resort is proudly a Green Leader Gold Member on TripAdvisor because we respect the environment and want to do our part to protect it and keep our small island beautiful. We automatically add the $1 per night to a section in each guest's folio because the majority of our guests choose to donate and thus it makes sense to do it this way rather than to manually add it for 90% of our guests. We do ask each guest if they would like to donate, and if they say no, we happily remove it from their bill at check-out (most guests plan accordingly, schedule their complimentary departure shuttle with the Front Desk in advance, and give themselves enough time to check out).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

I've seen a lot of reviews where people are complaining about "the pool not working.... or the snorkel access is blocked".

Listen, if you are going to the Virgin Islands to swim in a pool, stay home dummy. We booked through Expedia and it clearly stated that construction was happening, but that Gallows was offering discounts for that small inconvenience. I wouldn't have cared either way, as we do not go to an ocean destination to swim in a pool.

As for the snorkel access; There was plenty of room to simply walk right into the ocean, which my wife and I did 2-3 times per day for over a week.

Bottom line, this place is incredible. The grounds are immaculate, rooms are spacious and beautiful, and the views are THE best you could want. The staff was polite and always willing to assist. We would stay here again in a second!

The restaurant upstairs (Ocean 362) was very nice and again, the view alone made it worthwhile. I would've been happy with a hotdog and fries to sit there... let alone gourmet cuisine.

The snorkeling is amazing as well. To be honest, I would put the reef at Gallows in my top 3 for St. John. I would post photos, but I still haven't transferred the 400-500 we took... so take my word on it!

Cruz Bay is a 2 minute walk, which is great considering the restaurants and local stores it has to offer.


Thank you to Gallows Point for having us, and know that you have returning customers as soon as we can blow off work again!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GallowsPointMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at Gallows Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you so much for your review! Your positive feedback means a lot to us, especially during this time while we are renovating our pool area. We really hope you can return soon and experience the new pool, hot tub, and seaside terraces. Please note that if you book directly through the resort next time, and let us know you're a repeat guest, we will give you a 10% repeat discount (except during the Peak Holiday Season)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Perfect location to walk into Cruz Bay. It's far enough away that you don't hear all the noise of Cruz Bay but close enough to walk. The grounds were well kept and secure. The room was much larger than I expected with a full kitchen and living room. I would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cranium361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GallowsPointMGMT, Guest Relations Manager at Gallows Point Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thanks so much for your review! We appreciate you sharing your feedback and hope you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
1.5 km away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.7 km away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
497 reviews
5.8 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
476 reviews
2.0 km away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
768 reviews
7.3 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallows Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Point Resort

Address: 3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range: R4 649 - R9 859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallows Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gallows Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallows Point Hotel Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing