We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (897)
Filter reviews
897 results
Traveller rating
687
146
41
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
687
146
41
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean view gift shop upper level st john lower harbor full kitchen loft bedroom half bath beach bar granite countertops octopus beautiful grounds convenience store on site restaurant great snorkeling close to town trunk bay
Filter
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 897 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Gallows Point is located right in Cruz Bay just a 5 minute walk to all the bars & restaurants. Some of the best snorkeling on the island is right off the back of the resort. There is a gift shop/store on the property that can book you anything from a rental Jeep to boat excursions, you can rent snorkeling equipment and buy pre-made lunches for day trips. This was a wonderful service to have on the property. The room was very spacious, the shower was so large it really needed more shower heads. You have a kitchen minus an oven fully stocked with corkscrews, silverware, dishes, coffee cups, dish towels, etc. They even stock you with a gallon of water each day. The rooms have a cooler you can take with you to the beach and you can also take beach chairs from the resort as long as you sign them out at the front desk. Our room had 2 large floats that we used at the pool, this was a nice surprise. Now for the downside, the island has a bug called the "No-see-um" and typically they are outside however our room was infested with them. We saw them in both the kitchen and bathroom the first day but quickly realized that the couch was full of them too! We put the extra blanket over the couch and this seemed to help but we were still bitten. The first two days our room had quite a few mosquitos invading our space along with a really bad fishy smell. The housekeeper brought us air freshener and after a few days the smell disappeared. We found most of the staff at the front desk to be very helpful, only a few seemed to not be interested in assisting us when asking questions about certain restaurants or activities to do. All in all we had a great trip and will return to St John but we would have to consider if we would stay here again.

Room Tip: The best building to stay in for a great view of the ocean and the harbor is building 15.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

My wife and just got back from another great week at Gallows. We have made over 10 trips to St. John and would go back now if we could. The difference between St. Thomas and St. John are completely different.
St. John is mostly a national park and it is VERY laid back. If you want to party rpick another place.
Gallows is on the main point as you come into Cruz Bay.There just is not a way to describe the views and the beautiful water colors..Gallows sits on one of the most beautiful places on the island,
The staff at Gallows will handle any need you might have and also any questions you have.
Gallows Point -Great condos-Breath taking views-Great staff.
Larry and Anne Shreveport lA.

Room Tip: Lower Ocean Front
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank larueshreveport_La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015

Gallows Point Resort is in an excellent location - right on the water's edge, just a 5 minute walk into town. Our unit (2A) was so comfortable - kitchen, living room, balcony, huge walk-in shower, separate bedroom. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Just off the swimming platform is one of the best snorkeling areas on St. John - lots of coral, sponges, and a wide variety of colorful fish - all this at your backdoor. Also on the property is a gift shop/store serving Javamon Coffee and latte's. Perfect vacation place!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015

Wonderful place to stay on St John. The year before we rented a house on the other side of the island. By the end to that trip we felt that we spent too much time in the car. So this time we booked Gallows Point in Cruz Bay. What a difference! We could still drive to our favorite beaches, but at night, we could walk to a number of restaurants and leave the car at the hotel. We loved this place and would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the ocean
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank winofoodtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights in September. The condo and grounds were great - beautiful pool overlooking St. Thomas and great snorkeling right off the property. Close to the ferry, bars, and restaurants. Just at the bottom of the hill is a wonderful restaurant called The Terrace. At the resort gift shop you can pick up snorkeling gear and also rent a car if you want to drive to the various beaches. We discovered a beautiful, secluded beach called Salt Pond Bay, where we snorkeled as well. Overall fantastic trip. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Best rooms are ones that overlook St. Thomas.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sian92015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews