We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caribbean and hurricane Irma ”
Review of St. John Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. John Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

For those who have trips booked to StJohn don't go . The damage to the island is terrible. We just returned from going through hurricane Irma while staying on the island. I hear Caneel Bay is telling those with trips planned that the hotel is fine. They are not telling you what the island is like. All of the beautiful beaches are stripped of any foliage on the trees. It looks Ike a bomb hit the island. Everything is stripped bare. Outside of hotel generators there is no island electricity or water on the island The town of Cruz bay is destroyed . I don't know how anyone will get to St John now that both ST Thomas and Puerto Rico Airports are down. We had to be evacuated to Puerto Rico on a ferry but the was just before Maria hit Puerto Rico. It is not safe to travel to the Caribbean Islands hit by the hurricanes.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyHudnall, General Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Yes the island was hit hard but the progress is nothing short of miraculous! The trees are green and there are beaches open and more opening each day! I can't speak for any other business but the St. John Inn got damaged but we are planning a reopening around the first of the year. Many restaurants and businesses are open now and the actual town of Cruz Bay was not damaged much at all! We are just over 2 months out and tourist are already back on island and having a blast. Progress is a beautiful thing . We are all still here and tourism is vital to this little but amazing island we call home! I encourage everyone to follow the progress and the amazing people of this island we call Love City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

I am hoping everyone is safe from the the devastating hurricane Irma. My trip for May 2018 is booked and I wouldn't stay anywhere else but the St John Inn. Kelly is FABULOUS and makes you feel right at home each time I have gone. I just hope everyone is ok and getting the help they need. I hope the damage is not severe. I am praying for you guys!!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakers8862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyHudnall, General Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Oh my goodness! Thank you so much! We are working hard to be reopened around the first of the year! We are the Little Inn that Could! Thank you for your prayers !! See you in May! - Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Everything was perfect. Our room was very comfy and clean. A/c worked very good and it was very silent.
Breakfast was eccelent: milk, corn flakes, bagel, coffee. And every day, between 5 to 7 pm, there was a complimentary happy hour with punch (and free-alcohol for children ).
Guests can take chairs for beach and snorkel equipment.
Very peaceful place. Very close to the city center.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Yleyleyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyHudnall, General Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review ! We look forward to a great year of new beginnings in 2018! Hope to see you again very soon! - Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We needed a room for one night before going to Coral Bay for a week and this inn is just a five minute walk to Cruz Bay. Very clean and small pool on premises which was great for a quick dip. Great continental breakfast! Love all the tropical colors at the inn.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyHudnall, General Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you for your nice comments and for staying with us even if it was for just one night! Please come back again! Thanks again, Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

We landed at St John Inn following a bad experience with local apart rental and quite in a desperate need for recovery. Since the first step in, we felt like home and pampered : friendly concierge, very nice room, very good breakfast, all the comfort you could wish and just a short walk from Cruz Bay center. 100% recommended

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MaxBrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyHudnall, General Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

I am so happy you came to us! We love our guests and truly want your experience on this beautiful island to be magical! Hopefully you will come back again very soon! Thank you, Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.9 km away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.3 km away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
476 reviews
6.5 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
0.7 km away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
1.7 km away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. John Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. John Inn

Address: 277 Enighed | St. John US Virgin Islands, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range: R1 600 - R3 270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. John Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. John Inn is an affordable, small hotel. It is conveniently located in Cruz Bay in a charming historic building. We are close to shopping, restaurants and all St. John has to offer. We offer modest, budget accommodations with spectacular views of the sunset!Our rooms range from single rooms to two room suites, some with kitchenettes. We also offer 2 - 2 bedroom Villas. All rooms have a/c, private bath, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee machines. We offer Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi) and provide beach towels, beach chairs, coolers and snorkel equipment at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your St. John Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. John Hotel Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing