We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unreal Spectacularly stunning view”
Welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome
Courtyard, Pool, View Lap Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Welcome
Courtyard, Pool, View
Lap Pool
Living Room
Dining Area View
Gourmet Kitchen
One of Two Equal Master Bedrooms
View from One of the Private Balconies
One of Three Private Outdoor Showers
View from One of the Private Balconies
Jacuzzi
Hammock, Lap Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jetsettic...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unreal Spectacularly stunning view”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Heaven if you are a photographer the light here is magic and you will not get bored with the gorgeous panorama here or the surround sound of waves and nature. It works on you around the clock. It soothed my city stress away. The view and the amenities and the simplicity of the design of the house is amazing but you do need to have a rental car to get around the island and have good beach options. The hike down to their beach is rugged, steep and rocky, better for adults, sober adults, the hill is studded with a lot of rusted metal spikes where steps are held loosely to the eroded path, and we did it with our kids a few times but you really can't do it easily and nimbly - not with kids. Definitely not in the dark, this is not a place where you can indulge in spontaneous nighttime walks on the beach, but you can do swimming in the gorgeous lap pool. We enjoyed a daytime routine of going to nearby vies snack shack and gladly payed them the $2.50 pp for use of the beach across the street which has chairs and is stunning. I will plan to go back. Suggestion: have a binder with instructions/details/emergency contacts etc.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Reviewed 5 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CT
Reviewed 15 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Dec 2012
These guests, unfortunately, seemed to be hoping for a different sort of rental property, and from the moment they arrived they were unhappy with aspects of the villa which were exactly as described and pictured online (e.g. sleeping arrangements, overhead doors, lighting fixtures), or which had recently been updated and improved (e.g. fresh paint and new bed linens). We made every effort to satisfy them, including promptly arranging for a professional exterminator to come and spray the entire property for mosquitoes, inside and out, and providing additional supplies for them to address any remaining insect problem, despite the professional exterminator’s report that there were not an unusual amount of mosquitoes. We also offered these guests financial compensation for their discomfort. The Retreat is fully screened with a mesh fine enough to keep out even very tiny insects, but we cannot control whether our guests leave screens or doors open, which may allow insects into the rooms during times when they are active. We deeply regret these guests' dissatisfaction and made every effort to promptly accommodate each of their requests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Iggzy
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“unspoiled paradise”
Reviewed 8 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

You get what you see in the pictures. This house has a really cool design using three double garage doors across the entire front of the living area which fully open for a complete panorama view of Haulover Bay and Tortola--literally with the push of a button. You cannot see any adjacent houses from the house, unless you lean over the rail. You feel like you have then entire bay to yourself, because that is largely true. The snorkeling in Haulover north (out front) is outstanding, particularly to the left--the best we saw in our week in St. John. We snorkeled there every morning with no one else around. No boats, no other snorkelers. The coral is amazing and alive--elkhorn, stag horn, you name it. The snorkeling in Haulover South was also excellent. It was nice to be in the middle of nowhere, basically next to the National Park. Great beaches were minutes away. The lap pool out front was great, and our family decided that a lap pool is really more fun than a regular pool. Everything about the house was nice and very spacious for our family of 4. We would go back in a minute. It was an easy 10 minute drive to Coral Bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PutterBar...
Newtown, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique, exquisite views, nicely appointed, a must for nature and water lovers!”
Reviewed 19 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011
2
people found this review helpful

I feel compelled to write a review for The Retreat and for St John. This was our first trip to both, and I am incredibly particular and detail-oriented! I researched high and low, and really wanted THE best of all worlds. I could not have asked for more! The water views at The Retreat are breathtaking, the open air design of the whole villa is romantic, breezy, cool, and totally makes you feel in nature. The access to the bay below for snorkeling is a welcome challenge, a mini hike of sorts, with a little adventure. The snorkeling in the bay right below is AWESOME! Best we saw on the island! It got such that we didn't want to leave the villa, because mornings were spent marine-life viewing while sipping coffee, followed by fantastic snorkeling, lunch, rum drinks, a nap, and more afternoon snorkeling! A passing shower brought spectacular rainbows over Tortola. It was quiet (even with the mild construction going on next door), peaceful, one of the most relaxing vacations yet. I've stayed in many VRBO properties, and this was better equipped than most for cooking (should you choose to do so). I was concerned we'd be "out there" and have no restaurant options...but Shipwreck was only a 10 minute or so drive (once you get used to the roads!), and was excellent. Miss Lucy's was maybe 20 mins drive, and was SUPERB! Real quality cuisine. We never missed Cruz Bay at all....If you like privacy, nature, quiet, and you want water views, great snorkeling, and one of the most unique villas out there, The Retreat is for you. The property Manager is so helpful and truly wants you to have the best vacation possible. We would go back without hesitation. Truly wonderful....if you're on the fence, jump off and go to The Retreat. You will not regret it....Oh, I hate heat, and typically sleep with A/C on anytime it's over 65 out...I never once turned on the A/C. The tradewinds blowing through the open air design and the huge ceiling fans in the villa are more than adequate to keep you cool and comfortable. If not, a jump in the pool seals the deal! Wish we were still there.....it makes me smile just thinking about it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open air design and Water views/snorkel accessibility
Liked least: Nothing at all!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing