We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mike B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Vida De Mar is spectacular! We stayed for a week with our four teenage children. The property is beautiful, the accommodations are very very nice, and the villa is close to everything you want or need on the island. The kids loved having their own villas with plenty of room for everyone. We really enjoyed hanging out at the pool and walking the beach. The main house with the kitchen and dining area is a great place to regroup, enjoy a meal together, and of course happy hour. Our greeter was very friendly and helpful. We also received a call on the first day to make sure everything was to our liking. The island of St. John speaks for itself - Paradise!! This was truly the perfect villa for us and we couldn't have been happier.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the place
Liked least: The iguanas on the pool deck when we didn't know they were there.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Roger J
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vida De Mar is a fabulous spot to experience St John”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A fabulous property that really was "just steps from the water". Individual bedroom units were great for privacy, the great room a good place to gather back together. We didnt use the separate apartment as we didnt need the space and it was rather dark and musty. Two highlights are the outdoor showers in two of the units and the hammock on the beach. The pool and deck were great, lots of pool volleyball and outdoor tunes while grilling. Got a little buggy in mid-May which limited our outdoor activities in the evening or early morning. The only challenge to this expansive property was keeping track of what key opened what door, and what switch controlled what light. Once you have mastered that, and how to negotiate the turns on the steep drive you are ready to enjoy your week in paradise. Visit as many beaches as you can, our favs were Cinnamon and Maho (bring bungie cords to secure your beach chairs on the roof of your rental).

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvia S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing location, awesome views, clean and welcoming!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My family and I couldn't be happier with our stay at the villa. The bedrooms, bathrooms and living quarters were well decorated, clean and inviting. There were pool games, movies, books, board games and surround sound for dinner entertainment. We enjoyed snorkeling on our own private beach and taking walks along the coast. The barbeque was equipped with propane and made for amazing sunset dinners under the covered patio and the hot tube was a perfect way to end a long day of exploring the island. No problems with shower pressure at all and the rocky beach made beautiful aquatic sounds with the tide. The iguanas were a unique island feature as were the hummingbirds and hermit crabs that inhabit the property.
Mongoose Junction was a fun place for drinks, dinner and shopping and starfish market was a perfect distance for provisions. I would strongly suggest Vida de Mar for a large group. We can't wait to come back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luvstj04
St. John
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great for Large Expended Family with Kids”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 for a stay in May 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Our group consisted of grandparents, grandkids (ages 6&7) and teenagers (ages 19). We had a group of 10 and I felt that the villa allowed everyone to have their own space, but was perfect to enjoy as a group.
I enjoyed this villa and did not experience any of the cons previously mentioned on the last few reviews.
The pool was huge, and there were nice umbrellas for shade. The kids enjoyed spending time on the rocky beach, collecting crabs and feeding the iguanas . This villa had many areas for kids to explore.
The kitchen was well stocked, all appliances were working, IPOD was a great touch. There were beach towels, beach chairs, coolers, etc. A shower on the pool deck was a plus.
The owners were extremely helpful when reserving the villa. We tried reserving it for this summer but it was booked.
This was one of the only villas that hit all of our checklists, AC in all rooms, Big Safe Pool area, area for kids to explore, on beach/near the water, Sleeping arrangements for 10-12. We had a wonderful time at the VIDA and would rent it again and recommended to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Big pool area on rocky beach
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
from
US$964
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Talk to the Manager
1 8442254772
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing