We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Mother's Day Escape”

Review of Mystic Ridge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ariel photo of Mystic Ridge The pool and relaxing chaise lounges
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Ariel photo of Mystic Ridge
The pool and relaxing chaise lounges
The incredible view
The entry
The entry courtyard
The kitchen & bar area
The Great Room
The kitchen and dining areas
The living room
The dining and living room areas
The dining and kitchen bar seating
Upper level sitting area
The luxurious hot tub
The outdoor dining area
Mystic Ridge amenities
Covered outdoor dining area
The outdoor sofa and ottoman
The pool and hot tub
Mystic Ridge's Dream Master Suite
Dream Master Suite
Dream Master Bath
Hot Tub and Fabulous View
Bliss Suite
Bliss Suite
Bliss Suite
Bliss Suite View
Serenity Suite
Serenity Suite
The Heaven Suite, off of the pool, may be made as twin beds or as a King
The double chaise lounge and comfortable sofa with ottoman
Mystic Ridge at dusk
Mystic Ridge's fire pit makes for lovely Caribbean evenings
Some of the beautiful flowers you will see at Mystic Ridge
The garden path
Down Island View from Mystic Ridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
VACouple6
Montpelier, VA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Mother's Day Escape”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This past May we took our first trip to St. John and lets just say "we fell in love." Many factors fueled our newly found St. John passion -- but one of the main reasons was Mystic Ridge. We could not have asked for a more elegant and convenient home away from home.

Where to start? How about the views -- absolutely perfect in every way. You have a wonderful view of Coral Bay and the morning light is a great way to gently awaken each morning. The evening sky is breathtaking when enjoying a pre-dinner drink on the patio or a late afternoon sun worshiping session!

The house is wonderful. Like new -- the kitchen and living room are fantastic! The kitchen has everything you will need. The living room is beautiful, comfortable and functional -- we spent a lot of our time when at the villa here and on the deck. The deck area is incredible -- lots of comfy seats and lounges -- great refreshing pool and a nice hot tub to sit back and enjoy the show put on by the stars each night.

The main bedroom we used was great and so was the bathroom -- again everything you want and/or need. Comfy bed and sheets -- plenty of towels!

There was also plenty of beach towels, chairs and coolers to take with you as you explored many of the beaches.

The location was perfect! You are about as centrally located as you can get -- easy to get to Coral Bay and most every beach and Cruz Bay is a short drive across the mountain.

The rental agency and the folks who greeted us were fantastic -- they took us to the store after we met at the ferry and we picked up our rental jeep. They helped us at the house get familiar with everything and then took lots of time to tell us about St. John and their favorite beaches, restaurants, etc. Top notch crew for sure!

Mystic Ridge is great (unless you are planning to go the same time we are and then we might have to duke it out)! Go and enjoy -- you won't regret the choice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: EVERYTHING! Seriously -- the location of the villa and the views!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
What a wonderful place to spend your Mother's Day! Where did you choose to go this year? We are so happy you enjoyed Mystic Ridge so much! I absolutely love all the things you said about Mystic Ridge - we may have to have you come and write for us about one of our other villas! Above all else, we are so grateful that your time with Island Getaways and Mystic Ridge was a wonderful one and we hope we can host you again soon. I am sorry we haven't responded sooner, we did not realize we could respond to reviews on Flipkey! haha! Thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Warren, New Jersey
1 review
“A slice of heaven on earth”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

One of the best weeks of vacation we have ever had. The views from the home are amazing and must be experienced to be appreciated. There are sweeping views of the bay and mountains and the pool / jacuzzi sits on top of it all. The suites were first class the entire way - recently renovated and finished impeccably. Everything from the mattresses to the bedding to the bathrobes were A+, Ritz-Carlton-esq. We were just a short drive to the center of town and the most beatific beaches in the world. We can not wait until out next visit to this truly magical home.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
We are so glad you were able to come down to enjoy Mystic Ridge and it captured such a wonderful ambiance for you! The new owner has been had a great vision for Mystic Ridge and along with the Island Getaways team's dedication to the renovations and improvements, the villa has really come such a long way! We can't wait to host you again, and forgive the delay in our response to your review-we didn't know we could respond on to review on Flipkey! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen B
Waretown, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely villa, fantastic views, great location”
Reviewed 15 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We recently returned from a stay at this villa. This was our third St John trip, but our first stay in the Bordeaux Mtn area. I would definitely recommend this villa and/or location. The views were far better than pictured, and even in early June, no A/C was needed due to the mountain breezes (although A/C is available in bedrooms). It is very convenient to Maho Bay and other north shore beaches for snorkeling (where we saw many turtles), and to Coral Bay restaurants and bars, and quick shopping trips. Major shopping trips would still need to go over to Cruz Bay, but the ride is only 20 minutes or so. It also is probably one of the most easily accessible villas in Bordeaux, with a short, level driveway. Absolutely no need for 4 wheel drive on this trip!

The villa was very clean, and the kitchen was extremely well provisioned with high end cookware, numerous plates, platters, glasses, bowls, utensils, and gadgets. It also had some aluminum foil, paper products, saran wrap, ziplocs, and S&P already there, which was much appreciated. The rental agency included a welcome basket with snacks and beverages .

Bedrooms were all very comfortable with good mattresses, and nice bed linens. Great views from the master bedroom and 2nd floor queen bedroom on their private seating areas (porch). It is an east facing view, so be prepared to have the sun wake you... The showers have garden window(s), and nice quality towels.

The villa supplied numerous beach towels, coolers, beach chairs, etc.

The living room has 3 large couches and other seating as well, so it will definitely fit 8 people very easily. The decking is expansive and has many deck chairs, and you have good views throughout, with great views at the far end of the deck. There were several papaya trees with ripe fruit, but we didn't try any. The landscaping is professional and very nicely done. The view is just fabulous, although we had some haze for the first few days (which cleared eventually). The hot tub is probably only suited to 4 persons, or you could squeeze in 6 very close friends... The pool was cool and refreshing, but seemed a little smaller than pictured, though definitely adequate. It is easy to prepare meals and still converse with people on the deck. Nice stereo system with iPod adapter, and the WiFi was good for our phones and laptop. Please note that your laptop will probably not fit in the safe in the Master bedroom...

We only used 3 out of the 4 bedrooms, and while we didn't actually see the 4th, I don't know that I would recommend it. It is only accessible by stairs, and is too low to have a view, and has no A/C (and not sure it would get a breeze).

Overall, I was very happy with the rental agent, the villa, the views, and would definitely come back here again. I was very surprised to see that this villa only has a handful of reviews, and think it is amongst the nicest we've stayed at in St John. Recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, far better than expected from the pictures.
Liked least: A little buggy, although that's to be expected on St John
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Hi bennette4796,
I love what you said - no 4 wheel drive needed this trip! haha! So true! Thank you so much for your very detailed review of Mystic Ridge, that is so very helpful to our future guests to hear from you. Kathy, the owner of Island Getaways, goes to great care to make sure her villas are very well stocked so that your vacation is easy and you can focus on having a blast and making great memories. I am so happy to read that all of those things (the ziplock/towels/tupperware etc) made a difference for you! You will be happy to also know that this spring we got a new safe that is larger! Please do forgive the delay in our response - we were just made aware that we can respond to our reviews! We hope to have you back soon but until then, please do follow us on FB and Insta! Thanks and we look forward to hearing from you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Reviewed 28 February 2012 for a stay in November 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
HI Scarlett!
Thank you so much for your review of Mystic Ridge! We are sorry it took us quite awhile to respond to your feedback for us, but we were not aware that we could respond to our reviews. Your review of Mystic Ridge is fantastic and we couldn't agree more, the views and location at the villa are one of its finest features! We hope to have you back soon and until that time comes, follow us on FB and Insta to keep this beautiful island in your thoughts!
All the best,
The Island Getaways Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CT
Reviewed 15 September 2011 for a stay in March 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Hi Soni!
Thank you so much for your review of Mystic Ridge! Do forgive us for just now responding to your review, we were not aware we could respond to our reviews. But your experience and review is definitely still important to us. Thank you so much for such a fine review of Mystic Ridge, it helps our future guests! We would love to have you down again soon, and we hope to hear from you again. We are constantly improving the villa and we would love to have down to see these improvements! Until then, follow us on Insta and FB to keep the island in your thoughts!
All the best,
The Island Getaways Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;