We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Sapphire Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sapphire Beach
Kitchen Bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Sapphire Beach
Kitchen
Bathroom
Dining Area
Bedroom
Living Room
Sapphire Village Pool
Sapphire Beach
Quiet Pool at Sapphire Village
St. John
Sailboat Charter aboard the New Horizons
Balcony View
Doubleheader fishing charter
Jet Ski rentals
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
East End, St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Martha S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice getaway”
Reviewed 26 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Unit was very clean and well equipped. Having the grill/restaurant/bar on the property is very convenient if you are not up for going out. The pool area is nice but little shade. The beach is a short walk. It is a PUBLIC Beach. At first we felt that perhaps it was really the beach belonging to the other Sapphire Property (red roofs) but we were assured it was public. Lounge chairs are available for rent $9 for the day. The unit was supplied with folding chairs so we just took those and found nice shade under a tree on the beach. There is a Dive Shop where you can purchase snacks, beer as well as rent snorkel gear etc. Again, our Unit was equipped with snorkel gear and fins so we were all set. On Tuesday, the beach was very crowded as a Carnival Cruise ship dropped their passengers off - public beach, remember?

The unit was on the lower level, facing the marina. So there was a view, but it was mostly of the hedge surrounding the marina and the boats. Also we were surprised by the number of mosquitos given how nice and breezy it was - so be prepared for some bites.

Having the marina right there is a plus as you can walk over and book a boat tour, parasail or jet skis.

Red Hook is very near by. We went in twice for dinner and once for the ferry to St John. We rented a car which we found to be very convenient. You must KEEP LEFT and beware that the road are very narrow and can have steep hills. We did fine with a Toyota Corolla, didn't need a Jeep.

The round trip on the ferry was $50. It is a barge ferry - you drive on and stay in your car. Driving on St John is more VERY STEEP hills and switch backs. We went to Cinnamon Beach which was fabulous. You can rent paddle boards and Hobie Cats there.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonbr8...
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I was there during a tropical storm and felt completely safe. It was close to places to eat and even the bar on the property was open to make sure that we could eat and were informed. Everything was as mentioned. Condo was clean and we truly enjoyed ourselves. I would definitely rent again if I ever return to St. Thomas. Wonderful view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtDude61
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Value Close to Everything”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Very clean condo. All amenities as advertised. Located right next to the marina. About 5 min walk to beach. Great snorkeling at Sapphire Beach! Less than a mile from Red Hook which has a ton of stuff, bars, restaurants, grocery, dive shop, and the Ferries (10 ride to St. John). Howard and Amy's place is very nice. A/C keeps you nice and cool when your there. Wi-Fi was a lifeline for our teenager to keep in touch with friends while on vacation. Pool and bar were awesome! Condo owners keep multiple sets of snorkels, masks, and fins for guests. All appliances work great, so do your shopping and cook your meals at your home away from home. Thank you Howard and Amy for sharing your place with us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Beach, pool, and bar.
Liked least: Resort (next to Sapphire Village Condos) is undergoing renovation.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki C
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Getaway!”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Our first visit to St Thomas was awesome! A very relaxing vacation. Renting this villa from Howard was super easy. Two emails and we were good to go. Howard sent us an email about a week before our visit with all of the address and directions to the villa he also included about 5 pages of tips for restaurants, taxis etc which we found very valuable!! The condo has nice views of the marina and is close walking distance to the beach. Sapphire beach is beautiful!! The condo has many camping chairs and beach gear which we did not need to use but thought it was nice he provided. This is a super quiet location however a short walk to the beach or a shorter walk to the pool which has a full Resturant and your in the mix. It was a great balance. The villa was clean but has aged like any other rental property. It's convient to Red Hook which is a two dollar taxi ride and only 5 min drive. The condo is not for anyone with disabilities because it's ground level you actually have to walk down a flight of stairs and their are some pretty good size hills to walk up to get the taxi or go to the pool. We did love our stay and if we decide to visit St Thomas again we will go straight to Howard to rent his villa again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PepePitMD
Quito, Ecuador
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Time”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We spent the week after Christmas at Dominica 163 . The owners provided us with detailed instruction on how to drive to Sapphire Village from the airport , restaurants and activities to do in St Thomas. The condo was very clean and had all that was required for the beach such as cahirs , beach bags and some snorkeling equipment . We enjoyed our stay and made friend among the locals that live there year round , who gave us great tips on what to do , shopping etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing