We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 793)
Filter reviews
1 793 results
Traveller rating
1 101
492
126
40
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 101
492
126
40
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews john building tortola building bedroom villa marriott hotel next door st thomas jost van dyke full kitchen marriott timeshare washer and dryer floating mats reef hotel rented a car small beach per person activity center red hook trunk bay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1 793 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2021 via mobile

We just returned from a 5 day trip here and had a very nice and relaxing stay. The staff was very kind: always greeting us when walking by and very helpful when we asked for advice. They especially offered advice about dinner recommendations, the best local grocery store with fresh cold cuts (Moe’s), and about when to arrive at the airport to head back home.

The restaurant was disappointing as it took very long to finally get a server and the service was not very attentive. The food was not great, especially for the price. We had read this in previous reviews, but did not have much option as our flight in got there pretty late in the evening.

We took a Thursday to Tuesday trip and did not have trouble getting seats at the pool or the beach except for the Monday when every seat was taken. The Lilly pads were nice to lay out on in the water. Otherwise, noise was never a problem for us whether back at the room or out by the restaurant/pool/beach area.

We recommend for eating the Greenhouse (great happy hour prices also), Mim’s Seaside Bistro (better to make a reservation), and The Twisted Cork (great wine selection).

Magen’s Bay was a beautiful sight with only a $5/adult entry and cheap umbrella/beach chair rentals. Snorkeling Turtle Cove was also a great experience with great staff where we saw many turtles and reef life. The night kayak was fun and the tour guide was hilarious.

And when leaving, which we are used to the busy Atlanta airport needing to arrive at least 2 hours before boarding, the Marriott staff recommended leaving about 2 and a half hours prior to boarding. This ended up being perfect as it took us about 2 hours to get through customs (even though it’s still domestic you have to go through), and then an entirely separate line for TSA just as long. This part was pretty miserable and the most stressful part of the trip so be prepared for no air conditioning in EXTREMELY long lines while wearing masks. Many people in line with us were running late or missed their flights because not many expected that it would take so long.

Room tip: Eat elsewhere if at all possible! Mim’s and the Greenhouse were great restaurants to eat at. Airport was a nightmare
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2021

We just returned from a week here, and the room itself was very nice. The staff, with the exception of one person, was just great. It is a relatively small resort, with only one pool, which became like a frat house into the night for numerous evenings. We did enjoy the stay very much overall, but our biggest complaint is the lack of dining options.

There is just the grill out by the pool, and the menu is so limited that you can't possibly eat here regularly unless you eat the $18 burger very often. We really feel that this is a big downfall for the resort, because if they simply expanded their menu they would keep a lot more business at the hotel.

You really have no choice but to leave the resort for most meals, which is very sad and expensive.

Room tip: Request a room closest to the pool and beach, but be prepared for noise but an easy hike.
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2021

We were in the St. John's building on the 5th floor...great view! Appreciate the staff getting us a nice room. We were hoping to get in a lower building to cut down on the walking for my mom but overall it worked out and the view was worth it. The up and down from building to the pool/beach was a bit of a pain but overall not that big of a deal. Be careful in the beach area as there are stingrays and someone got stung...but it was beautiful. The one restaurant was ok....some staff were great, other's not so much, could use some improvement in attitude/responsiveness. Most of the staff were great though. Menu was limited, not sure if that was because of COVID. Overall we had a wonderful relaxing stay and would recommend!! If I could would have given them 4 1/2 starts.

Date of stay: May 2021
1  Thank s0479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2021

We are honored to have earned your recommendation. We are glad you thoroughly enjoyed your villa location and resort. We appreciate your feedback regarding your staff interactions as well. We hope to have your family back next time for a 5-star stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2021 via mobile

We’ve being going here for many years. Sometimes 2 or 3x a year. This is no longer kid friendly. My kids saw a couple in the pool making out and then sets her on the pool wall. And, the foreplay started. Finally, a guest yelled at them. She was so drunk she gets out of the pool takes her first step and falls backwards on top of two guys that were sitting there. There were young kids in the pool. Pool needs to have better security at the pool. For adults acting that bad. There were a few other things. But, this took the cake. So, we left and stayed elsewhere. Very unfortunate.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 767malindar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Hi Malinda, thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to learn about your experience with another guest at the pool area. Your comments have been noted, and we do hope for the opportunity to host you again for a 5-star stay in the future. Thank you for sharing this feedback with us and for choosing our resort for your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2021

I loved our stay there in March 2021, the suite we got was 2 bedroom , 2 bath with a full kitchen, it was beautiful, clean and the balcony was facing the ocean, we had breakfast on out own, The pool and beach are clean, but beach is small,
the poolside cafe was not so good- food choices are linited to american junk food. i would have liked to see more fruit and sandwhich options.
the satf was super nice except at the poolside cafe. the man at the cafe was rude and un accomodating.

Room tip: book your meals at other island restaurants
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 101shikham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2021

Hi Shikha, thank you for your feedback and suggestions. We are glad you loved your room. We do hope to have you back and earn your 5-star satisfaction!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews