We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 795)
Filter reviews
1 795 results
Traveller rating
1 103
492
126
40
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 103
492
126
40
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews john building tortola building bedroom villa marriott hotel next door st thomas jost van dyke full kitchen marriott timeshare washer and dryer floating mats reef hotel rented a car small beach per person activity center red hook trunk bay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1 795 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2021

Frenchman's Cove is an extremely nice resort that has many positive features along with a couple areas that need improvement. You must realize that this resort is a vacation club, not a full scale Marriott Hotel with all the amenities. On the positive side, the rooms are fantastic, 2-bedroom villas with full kitchen, multiple decks, W&D, and full living area. One bedroom has a king bed while the other has two queens. All rooms are Oceanfront. There is no maid service but in some ways, the W&D compensates. There is only one place to eat which has a limited menu, also, one place to get a cocktail. The pool and beach area is very nice but space is limited.

The Marriott Hotel which is next to this resort is currently closed. If this were open, I believe it would create an entirely different experience as there would be more places for entertainment, to eat and to get a drink. You're basically relegated to go off site for entertainment which be a little expensive as each taxi is $10 per person. You could rent a car but that is also expensive and a real challenge.

At the end of the day, I believe the vacation club in Aruba is a better alternative. The Marriott Hotel there is open and has a casino. Coming outside from the Surf Club or Ocean Club you can walk along the beach for miles, in St. Thomas there is little to nowhere to walk. Also, the food in Aruba is far superior.

In summary, if you have been to Aruba and are looking for an alternative, GO, you will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 May 2021 via mobile

This resort is so unique and absolutely gorgeous! The colorful buildings are so fun and the pool was gorgeous as well. The beach is very small but has plenty of chairs and the lily pad floats in the ocean are great for lounging as well. The Sunset Cove restaurant is very pricey but the food is actually delicious - we tried the breakfast, lunch and dinner foods and everything was good, especially the fried chicken sandwich. One not so great thing is you have to go down 3 sets of elevators to get from the lobby/upper buildings to the pool/beach but it takes less than 5 minutes typically. Rooms are spacious and updated as well!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank lindsayz0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2021

Hi Lindsay, thank you for taking the time to post your 5-star review regarding your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our resort. We hope to exceed all your expectations again on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2021

My friend and I rented a two bedroom condo and had a very nice couple of days at this property. The beds were comfy and the unit was clean. It was well located and easy to catch taxis everywhere we wanted to go.
On the negative side, the check in took way too long. And the on site restaurant was pretty bad. They served us blah food and wine that had turned into vinegar, undrinkable! And no offer to take it off the bill.
I would return to this property but be prepared to either cook or go out to eat.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mossquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2021

Thank you for sharing your feedback, we are glad you both had a nice weekend away with us. Your comments will be reviewed by our food and beverage management team for the future. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2021

This is a beautiful resort. The view from every building is great, overlooking the ocean. This was our first trip to USVI and it was everything we dreamed it would be. The Marriott was in great condition and we only had 2 problems with the resort. The first one is that the Sunset Cove Restaurant has a very limited menu and it is the only dining option on the property. Your only other option is to take a cab or rent a car. you can not walk anywhere, because there are no sidewalks or shoulders to the road. Domino's Pizza was the only restaurant that delivers. Which seems strange for an economy that is based on tourism. The second problem that we had was when we went out on our balcony we had a dream view of the ocean and we would of loved to sit and listen to the waves crashing on the rocks below, but there was a large fan or motor running 24/7 from over by the Marriott property next door that really ruined the mood. The Marriott property next door is still under construction from the 2017 damage. Other than those two issues, we have a great time. The pool and beach are great. There was plenty of seating between the two areas. They also have a private company, CAT IV, that provides a dinner sunset cruise that is well worth checking out.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 April 2021 via mobile

The rooms were nice, relatively big with nice views. We stayed in a 2 bedroom in St John’s building! The room was clean with full kitchen amenities! The pool and beach areas were nice. When we were there we Didn’t need to get up at the crack of dawn to get a pool chair but could see that as a potential issue during high crowd weeks. We participated in The activities of Mixology and Rum bingo! Both fun!

The drawbacks were no late check outs due to COVID. There was one very expensive snack bar/ small limited restaurant. We stocked up on food at the local grocery store to help with cost and variety! The biggest issue was the elevator situation. Being in the St John’s building we needed to take THREE elevators in 3 separate buildings to get to the pool. Some days it took 10 minutes. One day a main elevator button was broken which make it impossible to call for the elevator on the bottom floor! COVID and social distancing exacerbated this elevator problem since there was only one elevator easily accessible in each building.

Lastly, not related to the hotel... the taxis situation in ST Thomas is horrible! They charge $6-12 per person! Our family of 5 cost $120 round trip to the ferry and back with tip! Craziness! Makes me not not want to come back!

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jacki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews