We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 793)
Filter reviews
1 793 results
Traveller rating
1 101
492
126
40
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 101
492
126
40
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews john building tortola building bedroom villa marriott hotel next door st thomas jost van dyke full kitchen marriott timeshare washer and dryer floating mats reef hotel rented a car small beach per person activity center red hook trunk bay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 1 793 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2018

Following hurricane Irma the Marriott sustained extensive damage to the Reef building being totally redone from the bones and slate to open by 2020; so expect hammers and noise while on the beach but none from your unit. A week before our stay we were advised of a hurricane relief charge of $25 per day-although not the result of the Marriott but the city.
The beach on Frenchman's cove--sustained major loss of sand, accumulation of rocks, stones so do recommend water shoes if you have sensitive feet, but you can snorkel right there and relax on a water mat feet away from the shore.
Like most Marriott vacation club properties you have access to BBQ kept clean, washer dryer in your room with sufficient detergent for a week, and for the first time tiding up of our unit was performed after 3 days at no cost!!but did not like the mosquitoes so take along bug spray and antihistamine.
Our unit located in St-John building required us to take 3 elevators to access pool/restaurant area, but because of this high level on the mountain we had an unobstructed view of the ocean from every window, and that made it worthwhile for me. Decor similar to other properties but in need of furniture upgrade.
Pool restaurant offers a good selection of dishes and service is very good. Marketplace offers basic food items and a variety of other merchandise (hats, sprays..)
If you are going to shop do not miss the presentation offered weekly as plenty of tips for restaurant, alcohols and of course shopping.

Room tip: if you want a view to the ocean request st John or nearby
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdmaviation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Our team appreciates your review and for letting us know about your stay. We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Just got back from week at MFC. The Resort was amazing. It's not a very big resort. There is only one pool and the beach is very small. The beach is rocky and definitely needs more sand. The Island itself is still recovering from the two Hurricanes, but this resort is fully functioning. Many lounge chairs & a Beach Bar/Grill.

This was my first time on St. Thomas. Not much to do at night, the resort has some entertainment/music but it's over by 8PM. The views from my room were amazing & I miss them today! Loved sitting on the balcony in the morning having a cup of coffee or at night with a drink. You can watch the Cruise ships come in & out of port. Every staff member at the resort were friendly & helpful. You could not pass one that didn't greet you or wish you a Good Morning or Night!

We opted for Grocery delivery to get the basics, i.e., coffee, milk, eggs. We did breakfast in the room most mornings. We didn't rent a car & took taxis to get around. Next time I may try the driving, but the Island is very mountainous & has a lot of curves, they drive on the opposite side, which seems like a challenge.

Do not go to STT without visiting St. John. It is a gorgeous island & easily accessible by a ferry that runs every hour. The port where the ferry comes in has shops & restaurants and taxis readily available. Also a must, Megan's Bay. It is pricey as you rent beach chairs & umbrellas & they require a deposit. Entry fee is $5 per person. It is one of the most beautiful beaches on the Island. Also try Coki Beach, has good snorkeling.

Charlotte Amalie is easily accessible by Water Taxi right from the resort - $7 each way. We had a great guide that told us history & stories along the way. I can't remember his name (sorry), but he lives on his boat. He is very informative.

My favorite restaurant that I tried was Virgilio's, went twice in one week. Great Italian food, great ambiance, great service.

I can't wait to return to this resort & Island. One of my favorites.

Room tip: I was in St. John, fourth floor & had a great view.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Thank you for choosing Marriott Vacation Club for your vacation! We are happy you enjoyed your time at the resort and do look forward to seeing you again! #vacationgreatness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

We visited St. Thomas and Marriott's Frenchmen's Cove one year after Irma. My wife and two friends were coming back for the first time since we had spent a harrowing night at the Cove when Irma hit St. Thomas. When we left all the vegetation was gone, the beach was nothing but rocks, there was a sailboat sitting on the former beach, and there was no food or electricity. Coming back this year was amazing. Unbelievably the island was lush and green again. Most of the shops were open. All the rubble and downed poles and power lines were restored. The beach was back and good as new. And best of all the people were even more friendly and glad to see us. The rooms were all freshly painted and looked new again with some new appliances, as needed. We spent a lovely week here using the beach and enjoying the property will visiting the island.
We were so pleased that St. Thomas had recovered so well. There is more to be done to be sure. Most notebly the airport is completely functional and clean but a major upgrade is still underway. We would encourage anyone who has considered coming back and were detered by fears of hurricane damage to go on down to St. Thomas. You will enjoy it as much as ever.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E7235WJrichardd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Thank you for your 5-star TripAdvisor review! We are delighted your family enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again for more #vacationgreatness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Only this part of the large Marriott complex has been restored and is available for use. They are still working on the others but the noise was not bad and did not bother us at all. Our room and 2 private balconies where we could see snorklers, watch the Cat go out on sunset cruises, see the water ferry go from their dock to Charlotte Amalie several times each day, watch cruise ships as they came in to dock for the day, see sea planes take off and more. The best was twice each night to watch the night kayak tour. The kayaks have an acrylic bottom with led lights allowing you to see the fish life in the water. Really cool to see and sometime hear their excitement at what they were seeing.
The resort has several activities taking place on the activity deck near the poo; and beach area. They have a personal shopper who tells you about many of the stores in Charlotte Amalie and she will give you special cards to take to stores to receive a gift. My daughter got a nice charm on a chain at Little Switzerland which is the Tiffany store. They also host a time for some of the stores to bring some of their items to sell and also some local craft people display their craft. There was also a local man selling meat or fish pies. Try them!!! Our 2 BR unit was fine . The king bed was new and great. All units have been rebuilt since the hurricanes so all is clean and new.
Happy hour at the bistro next to the pool is nice. the bartender makes a good drink and they are 2 for 1.

Room tip: All rooms have a water viewl
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JAB43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

We are always pleased to read about our guest’s #vacationgreatness on TripAdvisor! Thank you for your review and for making us your home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

Total relaxation. Beautiful villa. Comfortable beds. Service 2nd to none. The restaurant has good choices and the service and quality of the food was very good. We were in the St. John bldg and had to take 3 elevators to the beach. Not convenient. Beach is very small.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JCMayo1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

We are always pleased to read about our guest’s #vacationgreatness on TripAdvisor! Thank you for your review and for making us your home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews