We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.comUS$186
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
318
121
16
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
318
121
16
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blackbeard's castle boutique hotel hotel in st full kitchen view from the balcony one night stay beach towels gwen steps thomas island taxis lodging sunscreen usvi beaches bay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 466 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2021

We live in neighboring St. Croix, but had to travel to St. Thomas for medical testing not available here. Though stressful and not a vacation trip, by the time we left the Green Iguana, we felt we'd had a relaxing visit to a favorite cousin's home. Gwen and John couldn't have been more understanding, helpful, or accommodating. I hope the hotel owner appreciates what a gem he has in his resident managers.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruzan-Gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 June 2021

We stayed 9 nights at the Green Iguana and it was perfect for our needs. We are not resort people, we like to find a central base of operation and then explore, This place was great - right above the '99 steps' so an easy walk to main street downtown and some historic landmarks as well - and a quick drive to the different beaches, overlooks and many dining choices, Our balcony had a great view of town, the water and the sunsets The garden outside our door had many cool birds, bananaquits and hummingbirds, as well as iguanas and two resident tortoises. John and Gwenn were great. They also provide beach towels which is an added bonus.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jkzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas Hunt, Owner at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2021

You did as we did before we became the managers! Our room was perfect for relaxing and being out "home base" for exploring! Our resident tortoises, Jorja and Elroy are the newest additions.....we love them! Please come back soon! The construction of the pool and deck is coming along just fine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2021

We stayed three nights at The Green Iguana after departing Bolongo Bay. The managers were lovely people who really seemed to care about their guests! And our room with the balcony was absolutely perfect, with the most serene view - but especially at sunset and after dark. Also, the patio furniture was super nice, not the usual low quality hotel stuff. The hotel is totally walkable to everything in Charlotte Amalie and Havensight. Stay here!

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GypsyHopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas Hunt, Owner at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2021

Thanks so much for your review of the Green Iguana! We think it's a great place for relaxing as well. The sunsets display different colors each night and the lights of the Town that shine on the bay is beautiful as well! We are so happy your experience with us was so enjoyable! Please feel free to come back to see us soon! J&G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2021

If you are considering going to St. Thomas and looking for a place to stay: STOP! You have found the PERFECT place in paradise! John and Gwen are simply wonderful people who accommodated and helped my group with every request and tips. We were so fortunate to have stayed with them. The hotel is in a central area that will allow you to walk downtown or to a bus stop if you do not want to use taxis. Do yourself a favor and immediately book this hotel, their availability goes fast (I would know, since they were sold out while I was visiting). John and Gwen, thank you so much for being amazing and granting Katia and I great hospitality and care.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACamilotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas Hunt, Owner at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2021

Thank you so much staying with us! We love sharing our "home" with travelers and enjoyed having you as a guest. We are a truly unique hotel, close to just about anything you can fit into your Caribbean Adventure, and are continuing to add exciting features to the property. We will be sure to keep you updated on the progress, we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future! Gwen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2021

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our three nights in room H2 during March 2021, which features a spacious balcony (much larger than regular hotel balconies) with a stunning view across downtown Charlotte Amalie and the harbour (the hotel is uphill, close to the 99 steps and next to Blackbeard's Castle). A couple of well-padded armchairs and a large glass table made the balcony a great retreat of an evening, enjoying a few beverages that we kept cold in the efficient in-room fridge.
Once back inside, the A/C was rigorous and quietly kept the room at a comfortable temperature. Strong WiFi was good enough to stream a show on a tablet if desired. It's less than 5 minutes to drive downhill into town (plenty of parking next to the hotel for when you return), but anyone moderately fit can walk down/up the "99 steps" to the restaurants of downtown. If you want restaurants further afield without driving, the Frenchtown and Havensight areas are both about 30m walking from the hotel, in opposite directions, which made a reasonable stroll in our opinion. Note: as the hotel makes clear, they are uphill from downtown, so keep that in mind post-dinner.
Gwen and John are friendly owners, and on the couple of occasions I wanted to check with them about something they were easily located around the property.
They also offer free snorkel gear to borrow (which they run through the dishwasher between guests), in-room beach towels that are replaced daily, and a "left over" station of sunscreen/bug spray/similar items that previous guests chose to share, as well as books/games to borrow. True to the name we also saw a green iguana wandering around nearby (they're harmless)!
Yes, there's no pool, ice machine or cafe, but the hotel doesn't claim to be a luxury resort. It's a clean, comfortable, boutique hotel with plenty of island charm, and for the price point we thought it was excellent.

Room tip: H2 probably has the best view.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rich_coleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas Hunt, Owner at The Green Iguana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2021

Thank you very much for the glowing review of The Green Iguana Hotel! We were happy you were able to stream a show to watch on your tablet, our TV's are "Smart TV", you can stream your shows on the "big screen" too! You mentioned the pool, we will be continuing the construction of our deck and pool area this week! You can enjoy that as well as the H2 balcony upon your return! See you soon?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews