We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular and tranquillity”
other travellers have booked this property
Amazing view of the coral reef from the porch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Amazing view of the coral reef from the porch
Porch view of Magen's Bay Living Room 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Amazing view of the coral reef from the porch
Porch view of Magen's Bay
Living Room 1
Living Room 2
Kitchen 1
Kitchen 2
Outdoor Dining Room
Outdoor Dining Room 2
Magen's Bay View From The Driveway
Bedroom 2
Common Bathroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom
Porch Seating Area
Relaxing Outdoor Shower
Side Yard
Pathway To The Deck
Entrance to Sugar Bird Cove
Relaxing Deck Under The Trees
House View From Deck
Stairs Leading To Sugar Bird Cove
View Of The Coral Reef From The Side Yard
hammock for that afternoon nap
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dawn W
1 review
“Spectacular and tranquillity”
Reviewed 19 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a wonderful stay in St Thomas at Sugar Bird Cove. The view was spectular and the tranquility of listening to the ocean at any given moment was better than even imagined. It rained 2 days on our vacation, but the villa offered a nice option to hangout and watch movies with the windows and sliding doors open and not be stuck in a hotel room. We loved the open feeling of the villa.
Chris was very hospitable and helpful. I would recommend this villa to anyone that wants to spend quality time with their family. For me, it was my daughter and her boyfriend (college) and my 14 yr old son. It will be memories we will cherish forever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demree
Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
“Look at the pictures...need I say more.”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Stayed for the second time with another couple. Came around the same time last year for a wedding. Love everything about this place. The owner (Chris) is extremely helpful. Close to everything. Don't let the drive intimidate you after you do it a couple times its a breeze and kinda fun. Rent a car you will enjoy checking out the whole island and driving on the opposite side comes easy after a day. The home is wonderful and the views are to die for. Make sure you check out the Hull Bay Restaurant/bar. Live music on Sunday and Monday and great food.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GinaJ_lov...
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Photos can't do this home justice- absolutely stunning... what a view!”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My daughters surprised me with the perfect birthday present- a week in St. Thomas! We rented a jeep and went to Moes Grocery to buy our food for the week. Noelle, the owner met us afterwards and escorted us to Sugar Bird Cove.
It takes a bit to get the hang island driving and getting to the home but that is half the fun of it! I would highly recommend renting a jeep, it is the islands after all. (by the way, don't rent a GPS with your car, they are useless!)

When we drove down to the house it was incredible! The view from every room is breathtaking and they have everything you could possibly need. Noelle was a very gracious hostess who showed up around the home, highlighted great beaches along with things to do around the island.

We spent the days exploring the island, diving in St. John and playing golf. We always arrived home for a lovely dinner on the balcony enjoying the evening breeze. It was truly a vacation of relaxation, not worrying about running to see all of main attractions but spending time together relaxing while enjoying the million dollar view.

If we go back to St. Thomas I would not even consider staying anywhere else but Sugar Bird Cove! Thank you for a wonderful visit :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelbyVic...
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Private Cliff of Paradise”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
4
people found this review helpful

When planning a surprise 51st birthday trip for my mom to St. Thomas there were many things to look forward to; The great Magen’s Beach, Diving off of St. John, Golfing the Devils Triangle and of course the beautiful island itself. We never would have expected that our favorite part of the entire trip, and the reason we are returning would be our home away from home; Sugar Bird Cove.

As with anything in life the devil is in the details when it comes to trip planning, and what is perfect for some may not be for others. That being said this home is ideal for those looking to break away from normal “resort life”, ready to have a once in a lifetime trip. It would be unjust to try and capture the beauty of this home or the grounds surrounding it in a mere paragraph, waking up every morning to the sounds of waves crashing on the reefs below or watching the days end light fall on the sails of departing boats are best experienced firsthand. Living in a more remote area of the island reaps the benefits of privacy, open beaches, and mountains to explore untouched by hundreds of beach chairs and souvenir shops. This being said the home is far from “roughing it”; Full Terracotta floors, Vaulted Wood- Beamed Ceilings, Home Theatre with drop down Projection Screen, DVD & cable in each room, top of the line Kitchen Appliances & Washer/Dryer, and Outdoor Bath & Hammock are just some of the houses offerings. They even have you covered down to small details like Ready-To- Pack beach gear (including towels) and electric wine openers, they offer full comforts of home.. And in our case a few better than.

When staying on islands, St. Thomas being no exception; there are times where the power will go out. Luckily the villa has a fantastic open lay out, when the doors are open (which all have mosquito screens to protect from too much of an outdoor experience) the cool ocean breeze flows through the entire house, we never found ourselves in want for ac. However in the event you find the day time weather is a bit much, both of the bedrooms have A/C units so shutting the door and briefly cooling down is always accessible. Behind the house there are two routes to the uncharted beach below, one requires a brief drive down the road and is about 5 minutes away, and the other is a 15 minute hike for the spirited down the mountain side. Personally I preferred the latter, though my family stayed up drinking wine awaiting my return and go pro footage for that particular adventure.

If you care to see the great Magen’s bay beach closer than off the terrace, then hop in the car! It is three turns and 15 minutes away, and being able to people watch from the house lets you choose the perfect quiet times to head over and tan. We preferred Hull Bay ourselves, 5 minutes away from the house, offered much clearer waters, tropical life, scuba diving and snorkeling! Known as the hideaway beach for locals it held up to its reputation, we spend a good portion of our time soaking up the sun on their pristine and uncrowded beaches! Overall St. Thomas left nothing for want and no matter which part of the island you venture too, you will be sure to find breathtaking views, fantastic outings and good company.

The owners Chris and Noelle are very forthright with their description of the property and any possible difficulties that could arise staying there, if you have any questions just ask they are a pleasure to talk to! My family and I had an incredible experience and were very disheartened to read such an inaccurate & unfair description of Sugar Bird Cove from the prior review, we hope that whoever comes across this humble corner of paradise scoops up the opportunity to see it for themselves, you won’t regret it! On the last night of our trip we realized despite having driven to St. John, the top of Magen’s bay and across the island 4 times over, we had not eaten out one evening of our trip, never finding a place as scenic and peaceful to end our days as our own ocean front view. Thank you Chris & Noel for giving us a trip to remember.

***
Last but not least, let’s discuss the drive down to the house from the main road. Driving in St. Thomas anywhere is an adventure within itself, a handful of street signs, curvy mountain roads many of which are not update, paved and all extremely narrow. Getting to the house is no exception, and once you get over the idea you have to drive down part of a mountain side there, the drive itself really isn’t difficult. The views down are breathtaking, but you WILL need a 4x4 to reach the house! Chris and Noelle happily meet you and will guide from you’re embarkation point. If three ladies 25, 16 and 51 can do it, I have confidence anyone can make the commute with ease!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful & Views
Liked least: No Complaints
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah7...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WORST EXPERIENCE EVER!!!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The house is as beautiful as advertised. It is NOT air conditioned in the main living area or kitchen. We lost power and water for almost 3 hours the first evening and were told that "It's just a way of life here". No power, no water and a 7 month old in 80+ degrees. We never stayed a single night there and the owner refuses to refund our money after we were forced to leave and stay at a resort. He said the power issue was not his fault. I agree. Not having solar panels or a back up generator while running a business IS ABSOLUTELY your fault. Making the customer take the fall when you cant provide power or water and they are forced to leave is COMPLETELY your fault. FYI...I had power and water in both Iraq and Afghanistan so no excuses! This situation was handled extremely poorly and needs to be rectified.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback, even if it is a mix of positive and not so positive comments. You are correct regarding the temporary loss of power, which unfortunately, is the way of life when in the tropics and we sincerely regret the inconvenience. Your suggestion of having alternative energy measures is being reviewed at this time.
Again, thank you for constructive comments and we hope you may return to the island in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing