We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
257
102
25
11
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
102
25
11
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day pass cruise ship st croix continental breakfast new owners an umbrella small pool the entire staff rum punch sea view suite lounge chairs the water was crystal clear small hotel off season full kitchen laid back the entire island
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2017

The hotel is located on the western end of St. Croix on the islands most beautiful beach. The Sand Castle is a small boutique hotel with a retro style. The owners and staff are very friendly. The beach side restaurant has delicious food made by St. Croix's top chef. A great place to eat while you watch the sun set. The quaint town of Fredericksted is a 15 minute walk down the beach. The poolside bar is a favorite afternoon meeting place for local Cruzan's. I highly recommend the Sand Castle and I look forward to staying there again.

Room tip: Ask for a ocean view suite.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 May 2017

We are so fortunate to have such a great staff here at Sand Castle on the Beach and Beach Side Cafe. Chef Shawn has done a great job and will be traveling with the Virgin Island cooking team. If your in the Miami area June 2-4 go go enjoy their flavorful island dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

Exactly what I was looking for. Beach front laid back location with great bar & restaurant and even nicer staff! Everyone was great and super helpful.
Will definitely stay there on my next trip to St Croix!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Piggirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 May 2017

We can't wait to see you again!!!

Chris and Ted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

Aside from this place just being gorgeous, the staff is amazing. Incredibly friendly, thoughtful, helpful folks. I was here mid April and am already planning a return.
Thanks all for taking such good care of me and making me feel at home.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 428adriar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 May 2017

It's our pleasure. Come back soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

I love this place~ It is so quite and relaxing. It sits right on the blue beautiful crystal water. The owners are just the nicest people and are always checking on you. If you love sea glass like I do this is a PRIME spot! I can home with some treasures. The staff was also amazing, very kind. The food and drinks were wonderful as well! Don't miss out on this great spot! We have been there 3 times and will always stay there!

Room tip: We stayed in a suite and loved it!
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilybell1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 May 2017

Come back soon!!!

Chris and Ted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

What more can be said about Sandcastles on the Beach! Loved the changes the new owners Chris and Ted have done. From the new colors painted around the hotel, to the service of hamburgers and hotdogs on the pool deck during restaurants closed days of Tuesdays and Wednesdays. Guests now can have a meal and drinks on those days without leaving the hotel. Was nice to meet some of the new staff members and see familiar faces as well. They have retained the best of the best of the former employees. Already miss Erma, Rita, Robert and the house keeping staff. was great to talk with Myles, their new server on the beach and poolside. He is just learning the ropes but such an enthusiastic and friendly guy! We send he and his wife our best wishes as they move into their second month on the St. Croix Island of paradise! More changes are planned for the coming months at Sandcastles and we can't wait to get back again next May! Thanks to all of you at Sandcastles for making our 5th trip even better then our last! Getting the painting framed today Erma and then will ship it to you. Hope you love it! Steve and Dave

Room tip: We always stay in room 301 and it just feels like our second home!
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 May 2017

Thanks guys. We are blessed to have such great employees. Can't wait to host you again!!!
Ted and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews