We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get your ‘Scuba mojo’ on!”
Review of Latitude 17 Scuba

Latitude 17 Scuba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Latitude 17 Scuba provides professional, private PADI dive instruction and guided shore dives on St. Croix. Mel and Greg Gapen are PADI IDC Staff Instructors with years of diving experience here on the island. We have a passion for diving and want to share it with the world!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Although an experienced St. Croix scuba diver, I had not visited STX for 4 long years and I actually hadn’t been scuba diving at all in the past 10 months. Greg put me right at ease with his calm demeanor, expert knowledge of the island’s dive spots, and vast scuba diving experience. Not only did we have excellent dives at the Frederiksted pier and Cane Bay Wall, I was able to watch him PADI certify my friend’s 14 year old granddaughter. What a treat! He is hands down, the best instructor I’ve observed. Greg’s determination to teach and instill a respect and passion for scuba diving is tremendous. Thank you Greg for all you do to share the Caribbean magic via Latitude 17!

Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"frederiksted pier"
in 17 reviews
"cane bay"
in 18 reviews
"open water certified"
in 6 reviews
"one on one training"
in 3 reviews
"night dive"
in 11 reviews
"personalized diving experience"
in 2 reviews
"dive master"
in 10 reviews
"watchful eye"
in 2 reviews
"calm demeanor"
in 2 reviews
"excellent teachers"
in 2 reviews
"sea life"
in 7 reviews
"awesome job"
in 3 reviews
"comfort level"
in 2 reviews
"bucket list"
in 5 reviews
"amazing diving"
in 2 reviews
"padi certification"
in 2 reviews
"deep dive"
in 2 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Being a complete non swimmer and avoider of the sea less than 12mths ago, after learning to swim and getting some confidence in the water I booked in with Greg and did his Discovery dive lesson. He is incredibly calming and patient and from the first lesson with him, he focuses you on safety and being comfortable with your equipment and surroundings. Now having continued on to complete the PADI certification course with Greg, I realize the great advantage of having him as my instructor. He is highly skilled, relaxed and at home at the bottom of the sea which immediately relaxes you. His manner also gives you the confidence that you need to trust yourself and be comfortable with keeping yourself safe. He is very professional and completely focused on you and your progress - (no ego to overtake the lesson) and he goes at your pace. Funny how one guy can have the ability to make being 60ft under the sea feel so natural - so that you can really soak up just how amazing it is down there!

Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

What a great dive. Mel was awesome she showed us lots of really cool things and lots of colorful fish.

Thank 11 111 664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lat17Scuba, Owner at Latitude 17 Scuba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thank you for the review! It is pretty amazing here. St. Croix is still a hidden gem when it comes to Caribbean diving. Thank you diving with Latitude 17 Scuba!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

This was a first time dive for my 2 daughters, ages 20 & 15. My husband went along as well, but he has gone diving several times in St Croix with other instructors. He said this experience with Greg and Mel was the best dive he's been on. They saw so much that I couldn't name it all, but their most favorite of all was seeing 2 octopus. Greg and Mel were excellent about pointing things out and they taught them hand signals before going under so they would know what they were pointing out to show them. We will 100% be returning to dive again with Latitude 17 and highly recommend everyone to experience what they have to offer as well!

Thank sschmidt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lat17Scuba, Owner at Latitude 17 Scuba, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you so much for the review! It was great fun taking them on a Discover Scuba! We always love to see people experience new incredible moments under water and see their eyes light up, as theirs did! I hope they continue diving because they all did great. Thank you for choosing Latitude 17 Scuba!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Mel from Latitude 17 helped my wife overcome her previous discover scuba issues. She took her snorkeling for a bit, went over the techniques she needs to know (e.g. clear your mask, find your regulator) and was patient and took her time. My wife really liked the one-on-one attention, something that was lacking in previous dive attempts she had made, and she succeeded this time and went on a fun Pier dive. Mel was great to work with and clearly loves what she does. Recommended!

Thank Stefan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lat17Scuba, Owner at Latitude 17 Scuba, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you very much for your review. We knew she had difficulties in the past with Discover Scuba, so I listened to her concerns and we overcame them with snorkeling around first to get comfortable with gear and then she was ready for an underwater adventure! It was a great dive at the Frederiksted Pier and afterward it sounded like you will have a dive buddy soon! Thank you for choosing Latitude 17 Scuba!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Latitude 17 Scuba also viewed

 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Latitude 17 Scuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing