We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$308
PricelineUS$305
Hotels.comUS$305
Renaissance HotelsUS$305
Trip.comUS$332
eDreamsUS$308
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 395)
Filter reviews
1 395 results
Traveller rating
633
441
143
85
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
633
441
143
85
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviews screened in porch dive shop walk in closet tide pools full size refrigerator north shore rental car ocean front scuba diving sound of the waves beachfront room carambola beach resort front office mini kitchen davis bay cane bay beach bar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1 395 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2021

I was really worried about this hotel, after reading some of the online comments. We had a WONDERFUL stay. The location was beautiful, views were amazing, room was spacious, staff was extremely friendly. During our stay in STX stayed at another hotel, at double the price, which had no view and was extremely dirty. The Carambola is an excellent value for your $$!!

Also, breakfast was wonderful. We had a car, but ate here several times. ALl food and drink were good. Do not hesitate to stay here!!

Room tip: Ocean view/Beach view is a must!
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 326julieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo Rodriguez, General Manager at Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2021

Dear 326julieq,

Thank you so very much for sharing your review it is truly appreciated!

I am happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Carambola, our location, views, rooms, staff, pricing, and food all met your expectations!

I would be more than happy to welcome you back to experience all that Carambola and St. Croix have to offer all over again.

Warm Regards,
Gerardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2021 via mobile

Checked into room tonight.

Room was not cleaned/bathroom filthy!!!

Pull out bed had stain on it and it was not made, knowing we had 3 guests.

Very old resort- buildings were very old, windows in room dirty.
Bed sheets snd comforter had stains on them! Large mirror in bathroom dusty like it hadn’t been cleaned in weeks! Had spit on mirror!

Only one bar restaurant for afternoon and evenings by the beach with very limited menu and mostly unhealthy choices! Limited seating.

Toilet has dried urine stains at base!

Across from bar is an eat In restaurant for breakfast. Limited breakfast consisting of egg station, toast/bagels, oatmeal, orange juice, apples, cups of melon cut up, yogurt. Similar to a Quality Inn free breakfast, but not free.

No TV on wall that faces king bed. TV on wall by pull out couch!

Mattresses are horrible…terrible quality. Uncomfortable! Hard!

Grounds are not taken care of, run down!

Struggling to survive!

Unacceptable ! Very very dissatisfied! Will not recommend this place to anyone! Will never return!
Marriott standards…No!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 560eleanorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2021

This place should not be open. It is in bad shape, severely understaffed, and is not worth the money they charge. All of the things they list as amenities do not exist there. They claim daily housekeeping, but I was there 5 days and they did not clean the room but once. They changed the towels once and then left them in a plastic bag on the door handle. The place was infested with cats and mongoose. The phones didnt work, power kept going out, front desk didn't answer half the time, and on top of that they only had a grill for food on the property with a very limited menu. I wish I had had some other place to go to stay. Marriott should be ashamed to have this property on their Bonvoy list.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank M1616RXstuartb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo Rodriguez, General Manager at Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2021

Dear M1616RXstuartb,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review.

I do apologize as it seems as though we fell short in in some areas during your stay. We have increased our staffing for housekeeping, and we have added some themed nights to the bar, as well as entertainment on weekends.

I would be delighted to invite you back once all of our amenities and services are back in operation.

Warm Regards,
Gerardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2021 via mobile

We stayed at this resort in 2017, prior to Hurricane Maria. It was a wonderful experience then and we were anxious to return. We read the reviews before reserving the room and had much trepidation. We were bringing our eighteen year old son and two friends to celebrate high school graduation so we wanted it to be great. We set our expectations low based on the reviews and even had a back up plan in case the resort was not up to our standard. Thankfully, no back up plan was needed! Admittedly, the resort has suffered since the hurricane but do not let that deter you. The rooms were just as we remembered. Not a single problem to report. The grounds were as beautiful as we remembered. The beach cabanas are gone and there are limited beach chairs but everyone shared. The food was still great. COVID restrictions require paper plates but who cares. The food was still very good. The bar is open and making great rum drinks! The pool was perfect. You won’t find more beautiful grounds anywhere. Don’t be deterred by other reviews. Carambola is so sweet. It needs some TLC so just go with that understanding and you won’t be disappointed. We will definitely return for a third trip!!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank christinek220
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo Rodriguez, General Manager at Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2021

Dear christinek220,

Thank you for your 2nd visit and your feedback!

I am happy to read that the landscaping, food and rooms are just as you remembered.
Our aim is to always inform our guests of what is available and happening at the hotel.

Carambola and St. Croix are hidden gems that deserve to be discovered.

I would be delighted to welcome you back for your 3rd visit!

Warm Regards,
Gerardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2021 via mobile

This hotel is awful I can’t believe it’s marriot brand . The buildings and facilities are falling apart . No restaurant on site only bar food . No hot tubs in pool (one tub full of plants ). Customer service terrible except for omelet station guy that was great . Took 2 days to get shampoo in our room
And they charge you a resort fee !!!! Even though they don’t provide any resort like amenities
Terrible !

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank travelDO2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerardo Rodriguez, General Manager at Carambola Beach Resort St. Croix, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2021

Dear travelDO2021,

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.

Our aim is always to keep our guests informed of what is available before arrival. I do apologize that we fell short in exceeding your expectations.

I would be happy to welcome you back once all of our amenities and services are back in operation.

Warm Regards,
Gerardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews