We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Vacation”
Newly renovated LR with custom furniture
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Newly renovated LR with custom furniture
Newly renovated LR with custom furniture Newly renovated Kitchen breakfast nook
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Newly renovated LR with custom furniture
Newly renovated LR with custom furniture
Newly renovated Kitchen breakfast nook
Fully equipped kitchen
Newly renovated Master with bath ensuite
Newly renovated Master  2 with bath ensuite
Master bathroom ensuite
Covered alfresco dining with amazing view
Private beach with seating and 2 kayaks
Chalk Sound view
Private beach
Outdoor dining with outstanding views!
Flat screen TV in beautifully appointed LR
entrance to main house
Powder room main house main floor
Cottage 1, twins convertible to King with bath ensuite
Cottage 2, twins convertible to king with bath ensuite, open plan kitchen and living ro
Cottage 1 open plan with veranda and stunning view
2nd cottage bath ensuite
Cottage 1 bathroom ensuite 1
Cottage 1 open plan kitchenette and diving room and veradah with views
Cottage 2 with bed, bath, kitchen, living room and terrace
Cottage 1 open plan with veranda and incredible view on the Sound
Bright entrance
Outdoor dining, loungers, covered veranda, BBQ, pool and views
Relaxing poolside
2nd cottage, main house and pool view from vantage of 1st cottage
View of main house and 2nd cottage from beach
Your outdoor chef!
Kayaks come with your rental
Taylor Bay beach, a 3-4 minute walk from Bright Idea
Location Map
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Donald M
Gainesville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family Vacation”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this villa from June 11- 18. The villa was the perfect size as there were 5 adults and 2 children. I would have to say that for our party it was the perfect location because the children are ages 5 & 9. The children enjoyed playing in the pool as well as in chalk sound. The sound is shallow and the villa has a beach area where a lot of the villas in this area do not have that. However if you are looking for good snorkeling you will not find it in the sound, we did see a couple of fish but that was it. The pool is 5 feet deep with no shallow end but we had a life jacket for the smallest child and the villa also had a few so this was not an issue for us. The view of the sound is just amazing and if you are looking for a place that is quiet and beautiful you will definitely find it at this villa. As with any beach vacation be sure to bring plenty of bug spray and sunblock. The alarm system wasn't really complicated at all but it did go off one evening as I was setting it because a chair had been left pushed back and was blocking the beam. I haven't received my final billing but it may be possible that I will be charged an alarm fee because the security company called the villa before I had enough time to call them. Also you do pay for your electric use for air conditioning so I am guessing that my fee will be somewhere close to $400 for the week. While there are trade winds, they just were not enough to keep us comfortable while trying to sleep and during the daytime we used the air in the kitchen. It was a very easy process in booking this villa with Basia and it was easy to locate it coming from the airport. I seen some reviews where others had complained about the geckos but we never seen any in the house, they were outside minding their own business so that shouldn't be an issue for anyone. We actually enjoyed watching them. I would recommend this villa to anyone who wants beauty, peace and away from all the action. It was a wonderful family vacation villa!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2016
Thanks so much for your kind review and we are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves at Bright.

With regards to geckos, the one time one decided to invite himself into the house, we quickly went to the rescue and saved him, carefully putting him back outside. They eat thousands of mosquitoes so they are definitely our 'friends'. Besides, as you say, the are enjoyable to watch and I think they are really cute!

As to the alarm, do not worry. There is no charge whatsoever. Accidents happen!

As for the air con, your estimate is excellent. For 1025 kw/hr use, the total, with cc fee, was $419.93.

You were amazing guests and we did so enjoy working with you. We do hope you come back 'home' to us soon!! Basia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HonuAtlan...
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem on Chalk Sound”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have rented house/condos throughout our years of travel and this was one of the easiest we have ever encountered. Basia was so helpful throughout the booking process as well as during our stay at Bright Idea.

First and foremost about the security system — do not be intimidated by the fact that the house has one…it is a welcome and fabulous feature. I actually wish all the homes we rented had one. My husband and I have had a security system in all of our homes and to us this just seemed normal. One additional item were the panic buttons which if you wish you can carry with you onto the beach or keep poolside/bedside. Heaven forbid someone should have an accident, the last thing you want to have to look for is a phone and phone number to call for help so these were a great idea.

The main house is very comfortable — two bedrooms and two bathrooms on the top floor with a kitchen, dining area , living room and powder room/laundry room on the first floor. While one bedroom upstairs is considered the “master” both bedrooms and bathrooms were identical. The breeze on the top floor is wonderful and we never had a need to put the air conditioning on and it was great we were able to conserve energy. The living room fit six adults comfortably (with room for more) and while the kitchen table had seating for four, two chairs from the outside dining table fit us all.

The house was very clean and we actually had mid-week maid service for freshening up the place. All the basics you need are in the kitchen and we never had a problem with wi-fi. The lounge chairs by the pool are beautiful and extremely comfortable and the beach towels look brand new.

The property also has two side cottages with 1 bedroom/bathroom each. The bedroom was warm at night so our friends needed to put the A/C on while sleeping. No need to keep it on during the day and waste electricity as we were always outside enjoying the beautiful breeze off the water.

The location is perfect and the view from the house/pool is amazing. There is a private beach with two kayaks and they also have some snorkel equipment if you don’t bring your own. A few floats (we left 3) are great for the pool and the Sound.

We were a group of 6 adults who travel and rent homes frequently so we brought some basics with us (in addition to our personal toiletries like shampoo and our favorite soap). Bright Idea does supply a starter set of shampoo and soap, there was also soap for the dishes and dishwasher (we actually brought some and left for future guests) as well as start up TP, paper towels and garbage bags. Remember that this is not a hotel but a house rental and you will need to supply some of these items yourself. Again, some items were there but we also left some basic supplies as a way of “paying it forward.”

We actually did have two reasons to contact Basia — one morning the electric in the entire property went out. If you have ever been in the Caribbean before you know this can be a daily occurrence but called her just in case. As it turns out, someone had hit a utility pole and the power was out for a little bit. Basia called me back within minutes after she contacted the electric company.

On another occasion, the water pressure seemed a little wonky and we again called Basia. We were concerned as water is such a precious commodity on the island. Again, she called me back immediately and Myrtho (the gentlemen who also did our orientation) was there within 15 minutes and fixed the problem. The response time to both of our problems was simply amazing — thank you so much Basia and Myrtho!!

Bright Idea is also extremely close to Taylor Bay (you can walk or park) as is Las Brisas restaurant where we enjoyed a few lunches and actually had a great breakfast on our last day. Great service, good prices and amazing food (don’t miss their creole sauce). You are an easy drive to the Grace Bay area but to be truthful we only ventured out to shop one day, to snorkel Bight Reef (and head to Da Conch Shack for lunch) and have dinner at Infiniti Restaurant and Bar at the Grace Bay Club (highly recommended).

All in all Bright Idea was an ideal vacation spot for us and we hope to get back there in the not too distant future!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2017
OMG! What a generous and kind review! Just so you know, the next guests did indeed enjoy your 'paying it forward' :). We were honored to host you at Bright Idea, and indeed, you were apleasure to work with from start to finish. As you noted, we take our guests' comfort and enjoyment very seriously and there is nothing that we won't do, as quickly as possible, to ensure that their needs are taken care of. Do remember that you have family here now so come on back home to us soon!! Tons of hugs!!! Basia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen N
Dexter, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved the Chalk Sound”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Just to walk you through a few items:
Basia was great in back to us, assisting in answering questions prior to our stay. Very appreciative of her assistance.
The house has a main section (2BD 2 1/2 bath) and then (2) side cottages, I BD each. We rented the main house and one side cottage. Truthfully, the pictures may not be up to date. The house could use some minor updating and paint. A little more spit and shine, so to speak. Upon our arrival we received somewhat of a lecture on using the security system - which we are sure was met to make us feel secure - but actually scared us more - leading us to think we may have selected an unsafe location. However, we NEVER experienced any problems and as the days past became more comfortable. There may have been a language barrier during the initial meeting.
As far as location - great -- the water is beautiful, you have a private beach, a couple kayaks come with the house (they could use new seats) - we also privately rented a couple paddle boards for our use - they were delivered and picked up without any problems. There is also a swimming pool with snorkels and fins for kids.
The bedroom suites in the main house - each had a private bath - and the winds and breeze were such you did not need the A/C. The house was clean and had a person come in mid-week to change linens and clean up a bit. Bring your own shampoo.
The kitchen is nice - roughly stocked with pots and pans and all the plates and silverware needed. Dishwasher works, you need to furnish your own paper towels. Nice fridge and stove - also, there is a BBQ outside near the pool. -- Table in kitchen sits 4 - we squeezed in two other chairs (6) for group dining. By the way - you need to buy bottled water for drinking.
A 1/2 bath is downstairs with a washer and dryer in it also - very nice for cleaning up the towels (they furnish beach towels) and other clothes.
The living room is mostly a large bench style couch - we could sit 6 to watch movies - wifi in the house and we didn't have any problems hooking up our laptop to watch movies on the big screen tv.
The small separate cottage - was very cute - small kitchenette - couch, chairs and single bedroom. Only issues experience - due to the layout of the cottage, the breeze really doesn't reach the bedroom and it was hotter then the bedrooms in the main house.
Truthfully, when we first arrived are expectations may have been a little disappointed but after a day or so - who cared - it is nice, clean, convenient, beautiful water and a nice place with features that make your vacation easier -- would we go back, yup we would.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: private beach and location
Liked least: lecture on security system - a few things just need a little improvement to make this a stellar location.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2016
Thanks so much for your kind review. I'm so sorry you felt you were being lectured about the security system, but most guests to date do not have laser security so in order to decrease the number of false alarms, we spend more time on explaining how to use the entire system. It certainly is not because the area is unsafe, as you saw for yourselves. As to the pix, they are about 2.5 years old, redone after all the updates with the new built in furniture and curtains, etc. The only thing missing from the pix is the new built ins created in the kitchen this year. You were wonderful guests from start to finish and I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back home again!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
issylh
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best decision, loved our stay!”
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We chose The Bright Idea because it had the criteria our dive group requires. The price, layout, decor and amenities are very important to us when choosing a property. Bedrooms-we have a party of three couples plus one teen. Everyone got their own lovely bedroom with en-suite bath, tv (lots of stations, not that we watched it!). Two couples stayed in the main house with matching rooms that had king sized beds separate baths and shared balcony with amazing views of Chalk Sound. The 3rd couple and teen stayed in the pool side cottages, having thier own apartments. Very quaint and quite roomy. It's a pain when one couple has to settle for a "least desirable room", so we loved that with Bright Idea, we all felt equally pampered.

The shared kitchen and living areas were perfect, we loved all the attention to decor and artwork, including the lovely high end pillows used throughout the house that really added an element of luxury. The pictures on the various rental sites represented the home well. The built in living room seating was a fun place to gather and we thought very comfortable.

The pool and pool area is stunning. A perfect space to hang out and enjoy the spectactular view, have dinner. Again, very nice quality of cushions and lounge chairs.

Plenty of large luxurious beach towels made available for use and maid service mid week. The staff is all very friendly and helpful. We had an issue with the alarm (finally turned out to be a dying battery), but plenty of instruction is provided at check in, so it was a minor inconvenience to take care of it with a quick call directly to the alarm company.

You will need to be sure and rent a car to stay here, it is a 15-20 minute drive to the diving and areas. We felt we made a great decision for our group choosing not to stay on Grace Bay Beach in one of the nice resorts there, we loved our little bit of heaven here on Chalk Sound!

While safety of the guests is taken seriously, we felt very comfortable throughout our stay. There are stray dogs roaming in packs around the island, so we chose to drive rather than walk to dinner at local beach bar Las Brisas down the road. That being said, I did see a fair amount of guests in neighboring villas walking along the road during daylight hours without any issues.

The locals are very friendly and tolerate of us learning to drive on the left side of the road. Honking is used mainly to convey information not express frustration, i.e., it's ok to turn, or they are making room for you. For the divers, we made an excellent choice with Flamingo Divers. Very professional, our favorite operation so far in the caribbean (we have over 10 years of diving experience in the islands at many different locations).

The only suggestion for improvement would be to have lighting on the side of the house where the BBQ is located. While I understand it is better wind protection there, it's impossible to cook at night without a flashlight, which is a bit challenging!

Basia, the property manager, provided lots of recommendations from restaurants to rental car agencies, all very good.

Our group would definately stay here again and highly recommend the villa!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Thanks so much for your kind review. You were a joy to work with from start to finish and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your vacation at wonderful Bright Idea. Know that we're waiting for you to come 'home' to us again one day soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrsshelts
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 18 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A beautiful villa, safe for young children, Basia the manager ensured groceries were pre ordered and delivered, items I had sent over arrived on time, house had everything that was needed and more. Nothing was too much trouble. We asked if we could get some lights for the beach and the following day 6 lights were put up!

The location on the Island suited us as a family from grandparent to grandchild and all in between . Taylor bay was beautiful and across the road and the private beach with the villa was perfect and a luxury! Taxis were expensive so whilst we did eat out we preferred to eat in and make the most of the views!!

Highly recommended.

Only slight issue but nothing to do with the villa- the cleaners were really miserable!

I will return to this beautiful house

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2015
Thanks ever so much for your kind review. Your family was a joy and delight to work with. I am so sorry you were unhappy with the cleaners. Unfortunately, three of our crew were down with that horrible virus that was going around and we had to subcontract cleaning out. I do wish you had told me immediately so I could have nipped whatever the problem was right in the bud. As it is, I will speak to the owner of the company today and thanks for giving me a heads up.We do so look forward to your return as we would love to welcome you all back 'home'! Basia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$849
/ Night
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing