We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family dive vacation to remember”
Review of Bohio Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bohio Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cockburn Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We have taken more than 10 family dive trips (Mexico, Honduras, Belize, Thailand, Australia) over the past 5 years and this one ranks right up there. The island's natural beauty and excellent accommodations (we were @ Pillory Club Condos adjacent and managed by Bohio) are among the list of reasons why we loved it - here's a few more:
Access to excellent diving with sites from 1 min to 10 min away along with great service - we had Dan all to ourselves the entire week for our family of 5! We were able to enjoy the WALL by diving 15 times over 7 days in warm, crystal clear waters at a leisurely pace - our dives lasted from 60-75 minutes each! Definitely try and do a night dive @ the Library!
Breathtaking beachfront - The views are spectacular and we felt like we had own private beach/pool with aquamarine colors to blow your mind along with soft sand and nearby areas to snorkel with a chance to see spotted rays, octopus, barracuda and small schooling fish.
Beach toys - kayaks, paddle boards, hobie cats are easily accessible and included
Personal service - the entire staff @ Bohio were a joy! Our meal and drink orders were always filled with a smile, the food was hot and delicious and again because it is prepared fresh and not a buffet line of re-warmed chopped up food it may take a bit to get it to you but it's definitely worth the wait. Dinners were also very good and portions were very generous so we didn't need to order 5 full dinners to feed our hungry family. (3 kids age 16-22)
Accommodations - fresh towels, clean bathrooms and quick turnaround so our condo was always prepared before 11:30am which was when we would finish up our first dive. There was also live music, fun outdoor movie night and a local Caribbean BBQ that is not to be missed!
Our only worry is that too many people will learn about this hidden gem on Grand Turk - so here's hoping it stays its pristine beautiful oasis for many years to come!

Room Tip: Check Pillory Club if you have 4-5 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank lynnemdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bohio, Guest Relations Manager at Bohio Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review – it’s appreciated! Our food is one of the treasures our guests find here at Bohio. We are so proud of the many customers who rave about Chef Jorika and her mouth-watering creations, so we will pass along your appreciation. Diving is what we do here, and we love it. While we might be a relaxed resort where you can kick back, we take our approach to diving very seriously and safety is our paramount concern. And the natural beauty here speaks for itself. At night we know how to have a good time, and guests can participate all they want, or simply relax and watch a postcard-like sunset. Please do come back.

Until then, our motto... Just Breathe....
Ginny & Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

The local people on Grand Turk were amazing, the same could not be said about the owners and staff at Bohio. When we arrived the cab driver had to find someone to check us in and take our bags. The staff barley spoke English, had no manners and were very rude. The bag boy didn't knock but just entered our room since our door didn't lock. Room was disgusting, hair and sand everywhere. Urine in and around the toilet. Area was not safe, no safe in room for money, passports or jewelry. We did not even sleep under the sheets because everything was FILTHY. We were not given the room we paid for and didn't see the people in charge until after breakfast the next day. When we explained our issues and told them we were disappointed and the living space was unacceptable Ginny would not listen to us. Consistently interrupted us, accused us of lying and gave us no help leaving. These people have no customer hospitality and are terrible business owners. DO NO STAY HERE!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank oceanjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bohio, General Manager at Bohio Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

We are naturally saddened and disappointed by your TripAdvisor Review as it is so far removed in every way from the hundreds of past guests who have rated Bohio Dive Resort so highly. It has also upset our staff here at Bohio. While we agree that people on Grand Turk are friendly and delightful, we would include our housekeeping staff who serviced your room prior to your arrival. Our staff do their very best to ensure all guests are well taken care of at the resort and guest rooms are clean and sanitary,a nd they take great pride in their work.

We politely explained what you found in your bathroom was actually pine cleaner left as a freshening agent in our toilet bowls. We also explained our hotel is standard, and not a luxury accommodation, but neither explanation seemed to be accepted. You were assigned the category of room which you booked, and our team member brought your bags to the room, moments after you had arrived. While we may not have safes in the room, we do have one in our reception area, which you were offered to use, but you declined to take advantage of the offer.

Our staff members include Creole, Spanish, Phillipino and South African members which we are very proud of. It's not essential for all members of the staff to be fluent in English language in their own country.

We do hope you enjoyed the remainder of your stay in the Turks & Caicos Islands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

This was the most amazing trip. My girlfriend and I for her birthday went diving! Boy, did we ever! We arrived at the Bohio to Ginny and Tom and all the amazing staff smiling and immediately welcoming us like family! From the moment we arrived, everything -- I mean everything -- was absolutely perfect!

We made 11 dives during our 7 day stay. Our typical day was to saunter over for hot tea around 7:30, and we were always greeted with big smiles like family by the amazing staff! We ate like absolute Queens fresh, home-cooked gourmet food every day! The food and the staff were absolutely amazing! For all you tea lovers, there is endless supply!!!

After eating our fabulous cooked-to-order breakfast, we sauntered over to the dive boats and were greeted by the wonderful diving staff! Every aspect of your diving is taken care of by absolute professionals and they will absolutely cater to your every need. The boats left each morning at 9:00 a.m.-ISH! Gotta love the ISH! It was such a pleasure to be able to relax and enjoy! Thank you Dan, Ollie and to all the dive staff for such a great experience!

The reef, coral, the wall -- ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL! We dove while we listened to the dolphins and whales sing in the distance. We saw three species of fish we had never seen! The diving was spectacular. So many different species of fish and coral, great visibility and beautiful water! The dive masters are excellent! Being one myself (my girlfriend is an instructor) we are picky! WOW, we had a great time. Your safety and enjoyment are the top priorities!

Then -- yes -- it gets better! For your surface interval, you saunter back to the resort for more tea (or coffee), sit, relax and enjoy the staff and the view, then off for another dive! Upon your return, the staff takes care of all of your gear, and once again, you are welcomed by the lovely staff to a freshly cooked-to-order lunch!

The afternoons are yours to relax and enjoy. The scenery is amazing. There are water sports, an amazing beach to walk on -- or just sit and relax and enjoy the view. Also there are many excursions to take. We chose to enjoy and feed the sting rays! What a great day! This is definitely something you should do! Thank you, Captain Meat!

One day while enjoyed the High Tea (fabulous) we saw a humpback whale swimming off in the distance and then three flamingos flew by!

I cannot say enough about the restaurant. The food was amazing. The Reggae BBQ was awesome. I had the best steak I have ever had. The entertainment was great. Really, every night there was something to enjoy from a movie on the beach, to great musicians, and again the staff!

Everyone truly went above and beyond. We requested our High Tea with very short notice -- and they made it perfect for us and very, very special. The Chefs are amazing. She came out just to check on our High Tea. Please note everything is made fresh daily with care and great attention. Just breathe and relax and you will enjoy everything you order!

One of the most enjoyable aspects of this trip was the staff. Please forgive me for not remembering names -- but ABSOLUTELY EVERYONE was so nice. They coordinated not one, but two, birthday celebrations for my friend, complete with fresh pastries and flowers and singing with the girls!!!!! It was a magical experience! Everyone is so very thoughtful! Thank you so much for making everything so special!

Thank you so much Ginny, Tom, Emily, Dan and everyone from the bottom of my heart. There are no words just express just how special and amazing this experience was for me. I am truly grateful! I apologize for not writing this sooner. Since I have been back, not only is work crazy, but every day when I need to escape I think of you and this wonderful experience. I am in the process of planning my next stay!

Wishing all of you blessings and much happiness! Just Breathe!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Marialaina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bohio, Guest Relations Manager at Bohio Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

What a terrific TripAdvisor review – we thank you so much for taking the time to write it. If we were to write down how we want every single guest that came to Bohio to feel after an experience there – it would sound just like this! We’d want them to see what a paradise this is, the clear waters, the marine and other wildlife. We’d want them to taste the care and love that is put into their food every day, and we’d want them to feel the kind of hospitality and sense of family we share with them. Please do come and see us again.

Until then, our motto... Just Breathe....
Ginny & Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Here it is...
3 day family of four trip to Bohio Dive Resort. Kids 18 and 22 years old. My son and
I scuba dived, wife and daughter did not.
Beautiful beach. Calm, clear, warm water.
Beach is usually very quiet--mornings you may not see another person on the beach...other resorts not close. When cruise ship in port, some people from ship come to Bohio for a few hours. No big thing.
Food was excellent. Service was good...on Island Time, so don't expect it right away.
Relax and don't be in a rush. Food and drinks expensive, but it's what you pay in the Caribbean these days.
Staff friendly and nice.
Diving amazing. Very close to shore, arrive at dive sites within minutes. Wall diving amazing. Dive master Ollie was great. Morning dive meets at 9am, return to shore for coffee during surface interval, place lunch order if you like, return for second dive, done by 12:30 or 1pm. Just awesome. Multiple dive boats go out.
Rented golf cart to get around island. Perfect. About $80 a day. Was on resort site when we arrived. Just left golf cart at the resort when we left. No hassles. Went to lunch, dinner, another beach, and Margaritaville when a ship was in port. Lots of fun. Spring Break like atmosphere there. Was pretty packed with partying cruise people.
We stayed at 2 bedroom condos next door, The Pillory Club (part of Bohio Dive Resort), full kitchen, two bedrooms, clean, only bedrooms air conditioned. All good. 1 minute walk to Bohio dive shop, bar, restaurant.
Yes, wild donkeys and horses and birds and a few dogs roam the island. Very cool. If you dislike wildlife, go somewhere else. No, they don't bother you, but they can roam everywhere.
Flight into Grand Turk on Inter Caribbean Air was delayed an hour. No big deal. 30 min flight from Provo. Transportation arranged and was waiting for us in Grand Turk. Perfect. Return transportation to airport was arranged and perfect.
I'd go back in a second.

Room Tip: I recommend staying at Pillory Club. Did not see Bohio Dive Resort rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank piratesoftheeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bohio, Guest Relations Manager at Bohio Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

We thank you for spending tie with us at Bohio and for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review. We do have to correct you right off the bat however. We always have something going on at our resort, but you’re absolutely correct that our core business is diving. As you’ve seen, the crystal-clear waters off Grand Turk are out of this world. While we allow off-site folks to come and enjoy our grounds, they don’t last long. We also take care of our guests with special roped off sections. Please do come and visit us again.

Until then, our motto... Just Breathe....
Ginny & Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Grand Turk was the first port on our 8 day cruise. My friend and I took a taxi to Bohio for a beach day. It was crowded, but not like the port beach. It's a beautiful beach! I also took an hour snorkeling trip and loved seeing the reef and all of the colorful fish. This is a great option for a free beach away from the crowds. $10 for a chair but bring your own umbrella.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bruceskii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bohio, Guest Relations Manager at Bohio Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank for hanging out with us for the day! We’ve got a magnificent beach that we love to share, and the drinks being mixed up at our Ike and Donkey Bar go down nicely as well. Think about coming back and staying with us the next time you‘re on Grand Turk.

Until then, our motto... Just Breathe....
Ginny & Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockburn Town
2,4 km away
Osprey Beach Hotel
Osprey Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grand Turk
280 reviews
38,7 km away
East Bay Resort
East Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in South Caicos
208 reviews
2 km away
Turks Head Inne
Turks Head Inne
#2 of 2 in Cockburn Town
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36,6 km away
Sailrock Resort
Sailrock Resort
#2 of 3 in South Caicos
53 reviews
2,2 km away
Salt Raker Inn
Salt Raker Inn
#4 of 4 in Cockburn Town
44 reviews
0 km away
Bohio Dive Resort
Bohio Dive Resort
#6 of 6 in Grand Turk
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohio Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohio Dive Resort

Address: Cockburn Town | Turks and Caicos Islands, Cockburn Town TKCA 1ZZ, Grand Turk
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Grand Turk > Cockburn Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cockburn Town
Price Range: R3 079 - R4 597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bohio Dive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Bohio Dive Hotel Grand Turk
Bohio Dive Grand Turk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing