We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, quiet place!”
Review of Bohio Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bohio Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cockburn Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Here it is...
3 day family of four trip to Bohio Dive Resort. Kids 18 and 22 years old. My son and
I scuba dived, wife and daughter did not.
Beautiful beach. Calm, clear, warm water.
Beach is usually very quiet--mornings you may not see another person on the beach...other resorts not close. When cruise ship in port, some people from ship come to Bohio for a few hours. No big thing.
Food was excellent. Service was good...on Island Time, so don't expect it right away.
Relax and don't be in a rush. Food and drinks expensive, but it's what you pay in the Caribbean these days.
Staff friendly and nice.
Diving amazing. Very close to shore, arrive at dive sites within minutes. Wall diving amazing. Dive master Ollie was great. Morning dive meets at 9am, return to shore for coffee during surface interval, place lunch order if you like, return for second dive, done by 12:30 or 1pm. Just awesome. Multiple dive boats go out.
Rented golf cart to get around island. Perfect. About $80 a day. Was on resort site when we arrived. Just left golf cart at the resort when we left. No hassles. Went to lunch, dinner, another beach, and Margaritaville when a ship was in port. Lots of fun. Spring Break like atmosphere there. Was pretty packed with partying cruise people.
We stayed at 2 bedroom condos next door, The Pillory Club (part of Bohio Dive Resort), full kitchen, two bedrooms, clean, only bedrooms air conditioned. All good. 1 minute walk to Bohio dive shop, bar, restaurant.
Yes, wild donkeys and horses and birds and a few dogs roam the island. Very cool. If you dislike wildlife, go somewhere else. No, they don't bother you, but they can roam everywhere.
Flight into Grand Turk on Inter Caribbean Air was delayed an hour. No big deal. 30 min flight from Provo. Transportation arranged and was waiting for us in Grand Turk. Perfect. Return transportation to airport was arranged and perfect.
I'd go back in a second.

Room Tip: I recommend staying at Pillory Club. Did not see Bohio Dive Resort rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank piratesoftheeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bohio, Guest Relations Manager at Bohio Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

We thank you for spending tie with us at Bohio and for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review. We do have to correct you right off the bat however. We always have something going on at our resort, but you’re absolutely correct that our core business is diving. As you’ve seen, the crystal-clear waters off Grand Turk are out of this world. While we allow off-site folks to come and enjoy our grounds, they don’t last long. We also take care of our guests with special roped off sections. Please do come and visit us again.

Until then, our motto... Just Breathe....
Ginny & Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Grand Turk was the first port on our 8 day cruise. My friend and I took a taxi to Bohio for a beach day. It was crowded, but not like the port beach. It's a beautiful beach! I also took an hour snorkeling trip and loved seeing the reef and all of the colorful fish. This is a great option for a free beach away from the crowds. $10 for a chair but bring your own umbrella.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bruceskii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bohio, Guest Relations Manager at Bohio Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank for hanging out with us for the day! We’ve got a magnificent beach that we love to share, and the drinks being mixed up at our Ike and Donkey Bar go down nicely as well. Think about coming back and staying with us the next time you‘re on Grand Turk.

Until then, our motto... Just Breathe....
Ginny & Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

We first visited Bohio in October 2016 just after Hurricane Matthew came past, thanks to which we couldn't do very much diving. So we decided to give TCi another try and had a fantastic time - we weren't disappointed by Bohio or the diving.

Bohio is a small (16 rooms) family-run dive resort and it was great to be welcomed "back home" by Ginny on our arrival from an overnight in Providenciales (the BA flight from London arrives too late for you to hop over the same day). Tom, Emily, Dan and Scott complete the family team.

We stayed for 10 days, and our package was simple - 7 days' diving, 9 nights bed, breakfast and lunch. Food in the restaurant was plentiful and good - a big buffet breakfast when Bohio is busy, smaller menu cooked to order when not - coffee on tap and lunch ordered during our surface interval from diving half way through the morning. Our friendly staff including MD and Corina, welcomed us back like old friends.

Our room (no 5, upstairs, corner King nearest the sea) was beautifully clean, with towels etc replenished with us never seeing the housekeeping team.

Diving is fantastic - the quickest transfer to the wall is about 2 minutes from the beach! Dive boats are fast and covered and there was plenty of room for 8 divers and a guide. Most of the time though, we were lucky to have Jesse our guide/DM and the boat to ourselves because there was a big group of divers diving together on another boat. No schlepping onto buses or long boat transfers. Jesse looked after us and our kit, taking us to a variety of lovely dive sites just yards from the beach at the resort. Diving is 'American plan' - two dives back to back with a surface interval. But the sites are so close that you come back to Bohio for coffee and to order lunch between dives. Sheer luxury!! The diving is a nice mix of sheer walls and other more mixed topography including the spectacular drop off. June is definitely baby fish month - the reef was absolutely covered with juveniles and large groups of fish of every sort. No big pelagics - the water is very warm at this time of year - although we did see spotted eagle rays, stingrays, and loads of turtles. Coral is in good shape, and the reefs very healthy with many varieties of soft and hard coral, sponges and anemones. Back at the dive centre, there is plenty of room to wash and hang your kit to dry between dives/days.

The resort does accept visitors from cruise ships - and there are a LOT of ships which come into Grand Turk - (this is one of the reasons you pre-order lunch) - but there is good range of space reserved for the resort guests - a lovely 'outdoor lounge' type area near the bar with soft seating (and with a nice cool breeze this is the perfect place to while away the afternoon with a book and a rum punch!), the pool, restaurant terrace and inside lounge, beach loungers/umbrellas and part of the open beach.

There are few other places to go for an evening on Grand Turk - there a handful of other restaurants and bars - so Bohio can get more lively during the evenings when there might be a BBQ dinner, or music provided by local bands. We also had movie night on the beach one night!

This is a great barefoot diving resort with a good restaurant, friendly staff and a beach. If you want great, easy diving among friends, or just R&R, reading a book on the beach, then come to Bohio. If you want bright lights and 200 restaurants and bars within walking distance, stay on Provo.

Thanks Ginny, Tom and team for a great trip. Can't wait to come back and see you in 2018.

Room Tip: Corner kings are bigger than the others and have a mini kitchen with Microwave, fridge/freezer and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Quoinbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bohio, Guest Relations Manager at Bohio Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

We are glad you came back and saw what the diving conditions are really like on Grand Turk. There’s a reason why we’re known for our crystal-clear waters and now you’ve seen them for yourselves. We tend to treat everyone like they’re family because that’s the way they feel to us. We love what we do and we want to extend that feeling to our guests. So, come on back whenever you’re ready – we’ll get your room ready!

Until then, our motto... Just Breathe....
Ginny & Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Our group of 19 divers & 2 nondivers enjoyed a great week of diving at he Bohio Resort. There are only 16 rooms, but that was fine with us. The rooms were clean, & really everything we needed in a dive hotel. The staff was great, especially Corrina in food services. The food was always well prepared, plentiful, & delicious. "Island time" is still active, but not really a problem. The bar was well stocked & a fun place to hang. The grounds are clean, & the beach is superb. We dived with Oasis Divers, since their larger boat could accommodate our group. They were superb, professional, and the diving was really good. We really enjoyed our stay & look forward to returning.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank tgrdvrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bohio, Guest Relations Manager at Bohio Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Well in this case we understand what you mean by a “dive” hotel, and we’ll agree we have a great one! Our main concentration is of course sharing the incredibly clear waters of Grand Turk with guests, and making sure they have delicious food when they return. We do like to kick back with our guests and talk about the dive conditions that day, the weather, or whatever else comes up in friendly banter. So, when you return, know we always have a chair waiting for you.

Until then, our motto... Just Breathe....
Ginny & Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

Came here for rum tasting and diving. Great hospitalet and a very interessting rum tasting. Location is very nice located on an fantastic White sugar type beach. Absolutely an experience to put info the memorial book

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bjorn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bohio, Guest Relations Manager at Bohio Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank for dropping by Bohio for a rum tasting – we’re glad you had a good time! One of the things the Caribbean is famous for are the many kinds of rums that are casked here. We offer a little exploration into some of these rums and it’s proving popular with visitors to Grand Turk. We hope we’ll see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockburn Town
2.4 km away
Osprey Beach Hotel
Osprey Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grand Turk
279 reviews
2.0 km away
Turks Head Inne
Turks Head Inne
#2 of 2 in Cockburn Town
31 reviews
38.7 km away
East Bay Resort
East Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in South Caicos
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.6 km away
Sailrock Resort
Sailrock Resort
#2 of 3 in South Caicos
52 reviews
1.8 km away
Grand Turk Inn
Grand Turk Inn
#2 of 4 in Cockburn Town
92 reviews
1.9 km away
Salt Raker Inn
Salt Raker Inn
#4 of 4 in Cockburn Town
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohio Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohio Dive Resort

Address: Cockburn Town | Turks and Caicos Islands, Cockburn Town TKCA 1ZZ, Grand Turk
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Grand Turk > Cockburn Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cockburn Town
Price Range: R3 799 - R4 822 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bohio Dive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Bohio Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohio Dive Hotel Grand Turk
Bohio Dive Grand Turk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing