We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (499)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveller rating
357
104
23
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
104
23
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish hotel guests cruise ship laid back few hours great diving grand turk breakfast and lunch beautiful beach the managers saturday night surface interval gibbs cay world class rum tasting small island marine life
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 499 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2017

First off, Emily, Ginny, Tom, and Scott were incredibly accommodating and made it feel like staying with family. The staff were so friendly and always smiling. The entire resort and beach were very well maintained and clean. The rooms were very comfortable with WiFi and great AC. Beautiful beach, one the nicest I’ve enjoyed in the Turks and Caicos! The Guanahani restaurant was superb! Lots of variety that didn’t get old (BBQ night was amazing, try the lamb :D). At night the lounge area has a great atmosphere and comfy seating. Very memorable diving experience with Jessie and Dan, they made a new diver like myself feel completely at ease. Diverse dive spots with very active marine life, met some other guests that were very experienced divers, said it is some of the best diving. I will be back for sure :). Highly recommend the Gibbs Cay excursion while you stay, much fun! If you are considering staying in the Turks and Caicos, Bohio on Grand Turk is an absolute gem, its the goldilocks of Caribbean, a small peaceful island with the perfect blend of excitement and adventure if you want it.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kyle_mcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bohio, Guest Relations Manager at Bohio Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thanks for your TripAdvisor review – it’s appreciated! It’s nice to see you felt so comfortable here that you refer to everyone by their first name. We love that because we do consider our guests as part of our extended family. We take care of our guests and the resort, and nature takes care of all of us. So please do come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

I still can't believe it took me so long to write a view on Bohio Dive Resort, we had such a lovely time there. Having been in Turks and Caicos often, this was my first time in Grand Turk. I loved the lay back vibe of the area, if you are looking for night life and craziness this isn't the place for you. However, if you are looking for friendly faces in a relax atmosphere, you will not go wrong here. We arrived pretty early from our flight from Provo, as we checked in we were told our room was not ready yet and to have a drink at the bar which we were completely fine with. The views were beautiful and the staff was friendly, the only down part was we ended up waiting around the bar area for over 2 hours. It would not have been a problem if we were told it would be that long, we could have changed in our suits right away. I hate to even write about that because that was our only complaint during our stay.
Once we got to our room we were happy, the rooms was very comfortable with beautiful views of the sea. You feel so completely relaxed there, and the staff is very friendly. I loved the peace of the area...no crowds. Walks on the beach were so nice and the sunsets are amazing. We rented the bikes and rode all around the island which was a lot of fun. If you are interested in biking up to the Lighthouse be warned, there are some up hills that can be challenging but it was worth it to us. We did it the day the cruise ships were not in dock which was wonderful, the island is not busy at all. Everyone on the island is so friendly and helpful. There are a few local restaurants you can ride your bikes to for lunch that are really good. I would recommend doing that when the cruise ships are not there since it won't be as busy. When the cruise ships arrive the beach can be crowded but the staff at Bohio make sure their guest are taking care of, you will have your reserved chairs even when they are there.
We were fortunate to take advantage of the Whale Excursion which was amazing, booked it right there at the hotel with no worries at all. If you are a diver you will love it, talking to guest that were divers they were pleased with the experiences they had.
Food was pretty good. The BBQ night was amazing with A LOT of food, I think we could have shared one meal and still be satisfied, a lot of fun with the live music. Also enjoyed the breakfast, try the local places the lunch but if you do eat lunch at Bohio try the conch salad...it is fabulous.
Over all a beautiful time, staff is so friendly and treats you like friends and family-very kind.
We hope to return again in the future.

Date of stay: February 2017
2  Thank 70sgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bohio, Guest Relations Manager at Bohio Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

We don’t mind how long you took to write the review, we just appreciate that you did. It sounds like you had a great stay with us, although it started a little rocky. Whether you’re out for a bike ride, snorkeling, diving, or just sitting on the beach, you’re going to be able to really enjoy yourself here. And our chef is one of the best on the island, and the Conch ceviche is a big crowd-pleaser. We also hope you will return again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Snorkel and rum tasting away from the cruise crowds. After taking a taxi from the cruise ships, our family was taken to the wall, on a private boat, when We were ready, along side of the other cruise excursions snorkeling on the reef. Swimming with the fish and coral for almost an hour and headed back when we were ready. After relaxing on the beach at Bohio and trying some conk dishes and local beer, we enjoyed a tasting of three local rums followed by a drink of our choice. Wish we could have stayed longer. We are already thinking of ways to get back to Bohio exclusively for a week.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Avoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bohio, Guest Relations Manager at Bohio Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

What’s great about taking a chance on a short excursion, is that you sometimes strike gold, and in the case of Bohio it sounds like you did! So please do come on back, you can snorkel to your hearts content, have more delicious cocktails and food, and go out on a few adventures right from our beach. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

Bohio is a wonderful place to stay. The owners, Ginny and Tom, are nice and welcoming and help you accommodate to any requests you might have. The rooms are nice and clean, but they are pretty basic and do not have any Internet. The only place to get Internet was the main lobby, which could be kind of annoying. The beach itself is beautiful with crystal clear water. Bohio is also a great place to dive with the farthest dive site only being about 15 minutes away by boat. There is plenty to see with lots of wildlife and beautiful coral. Getting certified there was fun and easy. However, there were a few downsides to the resort. It is on a pretty isolated island in the Turks and Caicos, so there is not much to do outside of diving and the hotel grounds. Another downside was the service. I understand how they run on island time, but it was not uncommon to wait for more than half an hour until you could even get a drink order in. The food was mediocre, and meeting the people diving with you was always a fun experience. Not a perfect resort, but there are some great people and beautiful diving!!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jake H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bohio, Guest Relations Manager at Bohio Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

We do appreciate you coming to Bohio to get certified. As you’ll see in your future travels, some of the greatest dives on earth are in remote and special locations like our small island. While we often hear that our dishes (that are all made to order) can take some time, we’ve only ever heard that they are delicious. If you come our way again, you’ll be happy to note that we have installed the quickest internet service available on Grand Turk that is available in all guest rooms and all resort areas. We hope we’ll see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

My friend and I left our husbands and children at home so that we could complete our Padi Open Water Dive certification (amazing reef) at Bohio Dive Resort. We received the warmest welcoming from all of the staff at Bohio Dive Resort and we felt like we were close friends. The rooms were clean and simple, designed for resting your head, not spending any amount of time in the room. The mini-fridge was extra cold and we were glad that we had one. The food at the restaurant was delicious. We enjoyed every meal that we ordered. The wine list is ample with varied price points. The BBQ Saturday night was attended by a lot of locals, which spiced up the feel for island life. The live music, the breezes and all the friendly faces that we saw on the small island during our time during our visit felt like a nice send off. Junior made the drinks extra strong at the Ike & Donkey bar which was much appreciated until the next morning when it was time to dive (we rearranged our dive). There is a grocery on every corner of Grand Turk but don't expect to purchase a variety of produce (or anything else). Produce is quickly bought up when it arrives on the island. it is a valued commodity. We did purchase a bag of apples that we shared with the island donkeys. I realized that you really can be a "jackass whisperer" if you have enough apples. While on the island, we rented a golf cart and explored on our own. We trekked to the lighthouse, the port, and some of the local bars. We rode horses in the ocean at sunset and visited the shipwreck at Governor's Beach, and had the best time with Captain Cal at Gibbs Cay for conch lunch and swimming with the stingrays. Ginny and Tom were amazing hosts and arranged our excursions. Some island excursions cannot be arranged while the cruise ships are in port. The cruise guests do cover the island in droves when they dock but they are there for a limited amount of time and spend their money which helps the local economy. I would hate to see the island grow too much or build big resorts because that would really change the charm of the island and drive up the costs. For now, I prefer that Bohio and Grand Turk Island remain a hidden gem. We definitely intend to go back to the island! The only somewhat negative that was that as a guest, you do have to track down the staff for service but I think this is a result of the restaurant and bar are the "common area" and you spend a LOT more time there than just when you want to eat/drink.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bert2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bohio, Guest Relations Manager at Bohio Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thanks for spending time at Bohio with us – we do appreciate it, and congratulations on completing your certification! You’ve done such a great job of describing why Bohio is a “hidden gem” we’re not sure there’s room for improvement. But we’re always looking to improve ourselves and get even better. It’s takes lot of work to make things look so seamless, relaxing and enjoyable. It all comes down to wanting to share this incredible place with guests like yourself, and then introduce them to the colorful magical world below the surface. So come on back anytime because there’s so much to do and see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews