We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice Historic House”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Fort Cottage

Street View of the Fort Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Street View of the Fort Cottage
Bedroom 2 - with queen sized bed and en suite bathroom Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Street View of the Fort Cottage
Bedroom 2 - with queen sized bed and en suite bathroom
Living Room
Bedroom 1 - 2 full sized beds
Beautiful blooms
Fully equipped kitchen
Hammocks
Breakfast nook
Cozy reading nook
View of Scarborough from the back porch.
Sunset view from historic Fort King George - just a short stroll away...
Holiday lights
View of side deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Scarborough, Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Historic House ”
Reviewed 11 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I stayed at this guest house for 6 days. I must say we had a great time and felt very comfortable. The kitchen we used a lot to cook, all utensils included, with a big refrigerator and stove. There was also a new washer and dryer which came in very useful for us. The view is overlooking Scarborough and the Fort King George is 1 minute walk away. We had a great time there, we took some pictures and gain some knowledge about the island. We will definitely return to this place for our Tobago vacation. I would like to thank Chris and Glenn for keeping available anytime we needed them. God bless.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for the review and for the tips you gave us in person.

We look forward to your return.
Glenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valanddav...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming historic house”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fort Cottage is in a wonderful position with sea views over Scarborough and within easy walking distance of Fort King George. It is spacious and has a lovely verandah at the back overlooking the garden which has a lot of flowering trees attracting many birds and butterflies.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden outlook
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael B
Scarborough, Tobago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Over the Christmas holiday, my family came to Tobago for a Tobago Christmas and stayed at the Fort Cottage. The biggest regret was not staying longer! They loved everything about the cottage. The house has been refurbished with modern touches to meet your everyday needs, yet still retains its historic character. My family was able to cook a full traditional Christmas dinner without having to go out and purchase anything but the food to cook! The home was also tastefully decorated for the Christmas holiday which was a thoughtful touch, so much so that my family felt right at home.
The cottage is cozy and can comfortably accommodate six people. The view from the lovely back veranda is stunning both day and night. You can also relax in the hammocks under the house and take a nap during the day. There are many cozy nooks in the cottage where you can sit and read a book (you don’t have to bring any because they have an eclectic collection at the cottage) or just relax and enjoy the cool breeze that comes through the well ventilated home.
The beaches in the main tourist areas are a short car ride away. Fort George, one of the main tourist attractions in Tobago, is in walking distance of the cottage and access to Pennysavers in Scarborough (one of the main supermarkets in Tobago) is easy.
If you are looking to have a true Tobagonian experience in a setting that is a home away from home, the Fort Cottage is the ideal spot for that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, coziness of the cottage, how well stocked it is and the juxtaposition of historic features with modern ammenities.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbarlatie...
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slice of heaven”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Exactly what I was looking for, tranquility. This well equipped house provided us with everything we could possibly need. Prior to arriving, the owner constantly enquired what he can do to assist in making our stay a memorable one. Just a short stroll to the Fort. Will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricaMBAs...
Trinidad and Tobago
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Just spent seven nights at the Fort Cottage from December 29 into the New Year, and it was simply divine. It's a beautiful old home with all of the modern amenities, which made for a stress free vacation. The fully equipped kitchen, with quality utensils inclusive of a coffee maker, was fully appreciated, as was the coffee which was provided. The owners are easy to interact with and were truly committed to ensuring that I had a great experience from the outset. I loved the very tasteful and natural Christmas decorations and lights which added to the ambience of the home and the at home feel of the Cottage. The view from the back porch is phenomenal both in the day and night, which made for plenty relaxation and reflection. It is truly a wonderful spot to be in by yourself or with friends, and this is further enhanced by the short walk up to the magnificent Fort or down to scenic Scarborough. In addition to this, there is an interesting selection of books and magazines to be read. A wonderful vacation space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the back porch, the quiet, the books available for reading.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
It was a pleasure having you! Thanks for staying at the Fort Cottage! We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$60
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing