We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house in peaceful Craigston”
other travellers have booked this property
Palm Trees Veranda
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Palm Trees Veranda
More views Veranda North View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Palm Trees Veranda
More views
Veranda North View
Front of house with garden
View from living room
Sunset
Paradise Beach
Sandy Island
Island of Carriacou
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Carriacou Island, Grenada

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Matt J
1 review
“Beautiful house in peaceful Craigston”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent a wonderful week in Palm Tree House. The verandah offers a beautiful 180° view on the western coast of Carriacou. The house is really fully equipped: the owners thought trough every detail, from the mosquito net to the hammock and the nutmeg grater. The path to the beach is very short and goes along a cemetery shaded by flamboyants. The beach itself is sandy, but also very nice for snorkeling and almost desert. It is possible to walk from the house to Hillsborough, but joining the main road to take a bus is also a good option and will take less than 10 minutes. The garden is lush and beautiful; we observed bananaquits and hummingbirds harvesting nectar from the flowers. We would absolutely recommend this house to anybody looking to spend a heavenly vacation in the peaceful nature.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Dear Matt J,
Thank you for your review and I am very glad your family enjoyed your stay on Carriacou and loved Palm Trees. Unlike many owners, we leave out all our stuff for our guests, and welcome our guests like extended family. Hence we provide all the little extras like local spices, herbs, cooking oils, washing up liquid etc. And since grated nutmeg is an essential ingredient on the top of the local Rum Punch, naturally I provide a nutmeg grater with a nutmeg in the top!
I'm so glad you took time to s-l-o-w down and enjoy the man varieties of birds in the tropical garden, especially the tiny darting humming birds. It sounds like you spent a lot of time relaxing on the veranda, and in the hammocks, and enjoying those magnificent sea views, with the occasional herons and pelicans diving for their lunch, and the occasional boat sailing or chugging along. These simple things can provide much free entertainment. Very relaxing! Who needs TV?!!
Thank you again for taking the time to write a Review, even though I know English is not your first language. I look forward to welcoming you back before too long.
Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkCityB...
Park City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beach House with 270 Degree Ocean View.”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Palm Trees for four weeks in May 2016.
Diana was very helpful via email and concerned about
us enjoying our stay on Carriacou. Stenna, her local
property manager, was equally helpful in person.

Palm Trees is on a very quiet cul de sac and a short
walk to a convenient bus route to Hillsborough and the
rest of Carriacou. (We didn't find a need for a rental car,
but we like to walk). The home was very well equipped
in every respect.

From the veranda we had the best ocean view we have
ever had. We were entertained for countless hours
just watching the fishing boats, ferries and yachts
pass by and many unforgettable sunsets.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ocean views from the veranda.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Palm Trees, and enjoyed the unique peace and quiet that it offers, together with spectacular sea views on every side - even from the kitchen sink! I never wear a watch at Palm Trees as the day is punctuated by the sound of the early fishing boats, followed by the arrival of the school boat with the students from Petite Martinique, the fishing boats returning with their fresh catch, then Osprey's arrival/departure etc. As you say there is always free entertainment!
You said you like walking, and Stenna said you took the opportunity to explore nearly every cove and hamlet, as well as climbing every hill, then relaxing in the lovely clear waters at Sparrows Bay. And at the end of a busy day, what better way to watch those amazing sunsets than relaxing in the hammocks with a nice cold drink.
Thank you again for your positive review, and we hope to welcome you back to Palm Trees soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unelma333
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I have spent a wonderful week at this property in March 2016. The communication with Diana and Stenna, the local manager who welcomed us, was very easy and helpful. The house is wonderful. It has a 180° seaview, from Sandy island to Union. The verandah is perfect, we have spent a couple of days just relaxing in the hammock and/or reading. The house has not just an excellent choice of books (I especially enjoyed the memoirs of Diana's father who spent most of his lifetime in Carriacou), but (unlike most other rentals I have stayed in) there is a solution for every possible problem, including itch remedy and a bottle that can be taken to the beach to wash off sand. With Diana's very helpful labelling system in the house and her guest directory full of valuable information about the island it is easy to find everything. The house is also wonderfully decorated, with many thoughtful details. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you could wish for, including a wide variety of spices guests can use. The only thing we were missing at night is air conditioning, but it is completely understandable that Diana would rather keep the open concept of the house, also the fans were very helpful. The house has a beautiful garden and it is close to Sparrow Bay, a secluded beach. Also Hillsborough is only a short bus or car ride away. The week spent in Carriacou was the highlight of our three-week holiday in Grenada and the Grenadines and we hope to be back again someday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2016
Thank you very much for your impartial review of Palm Trees. It was a real pleasure to read that your week at Palm Trees was the highlight of your three week holiday. Stella and I do indeed try to go the extra mile - or two - and provide cooking oils, sauces, herbs, paper napkins etc as it is impractical to buy stuff for one weeks holiday. Little ideas like the large water bottle to take to the beach to wash the sand off your feet costs nothing, but makes it a lot more comfortable walking home from the beach! (A tip learned from childhood.)
We note your comment re air-conditioning, but as I've mentioned in the Guest Directory, before we could install air-con, we would have to change all the windows, and lower the roof and remove the turret in the bedroom roof that funnels the heat up and out of the room - so a total change would be necessary and then it would not be the real Caribbean! We try to be environmentally friendly, and in addition we would have to increase our prices, which would exclude some guests. One guest described the open concept of the house as feeling you're in a tree house when every window and door is open, and we really value that, as it is such a complete change from our life in the UK. (And yours in Germany!) Glad to hear you made use of the two tall fans with remotes, so you can each have it on your preferred speed and angle etc.
The temperature on Carriacou does vary, and many guests say how much they enjoy the lovely sea breeze wafting through the bedroom all night, rather than being in a stuffy closed-in room with air-con, which would be just like any hotel room anywhere!
And yes, it is our home, not primarily a rental property, and everything we use we leave out for our guests, and that includes cooking sauces and herbs, a full first aid box - and a mini one for guests to take to the beach, and insect repellent, itch remedy, sun cream etc. In other words, we try it make it home from home, and I'm glad you appreciated that.
We look forward to welcoming you back someday.
Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Incredibly beautiful and soooo relaxing!”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed here with my wife in April and I can't say enough good things about it. From planning our trip until our departure, Diana was so helpful and accommodating, answering all of our questions in detail and offering great suggestions for our stay. The place itself has a 180 degree view of the ocean that can't be beat. It is open and airy, very comfortable, and extremely clean and organized. No air conditioning, but honestly, I wouldn't have wanted to use it anyway because it is so nice to have the windows and doors open to the veranda. It's a 2 minute walk to a private beach where we saw no one else. Short walk down the road and it's easy to catch a quick bus into town. If you want a relaxing place where you can truly get away from it all, this is the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the veranda while laying in the hammocks.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
Dear Aaron,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Palm Trees with the TripAdvisor community. When Guests are planning a holiday, they rely a lot on the independent opinion of other holiday makers like you, who have recently stayed at the property.

Thank you for your compliment about my helpful reply to your questions etc. I am all too aware that holidays take ages (and cash) to arrange, but are gone in a flash, so some prior planning and good local advice help guests to make the most of every hour of every day, and ensure they take home precious memories to last a lifetime.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Palm Trees one day.
Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlajo
pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in November 2015

I just wanted to write a quick review about the wonderful time we spent at palm trees in carriacou, the setting was beautiful the views from the balcony were amazing, The rental was seemless, if you want a break from the hustle of your daily life please stay here. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. Palm trees in Craigston is a perfect location to get into town quickly and also to a beach just down the road. I think it is the perfect location close to amazing restaurants and you can just chill and relax. Can not wait to come back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of Palm Trees following your recent stay. We are aware that everyone has very busy lives, so the team of our manager, housekeeper and I all work together to make sure that every rental is as seamless as possible. We take care of the practical stuff so that from the moment you arrive at Palm Trees you can concentrate on enjoying every minute of your holiday.
Thank you again for your positive review, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing