We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We want to move in!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ocean Retreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
completely remodeled kichen with dining area
View from hammock at sunrise
Living Room with pullout sofa and dining area
Sunset 14 NOV 17
Sunset
Beautiful Sunset from the property
Diving on Brac!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
West End, Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kevin O
Longmont, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We want to move in!”
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We’re almost at the end of our Brac scuba trip and decided to write about how great it is now rather than wait until it’s over and we’re depressed that we have to go home. We have been staying at Jeff and Shawn Marsteller’s bungalow, Escape from Reality. This is the kind of sweet little place we wanted exactly – perfect size for two, perfect location – minutes away from grocery, restaurants and our dive shop, but there really isn’t a crowded part of the island and when we drive the 5 or 6 minutes home, it’s quiet and private. Jeff and Shawn have gone out of their way to make sure we’ve been taken care of and have added some amenities they wanted for themselves – like free calling to and from the US (as well as a local phone for Island calls), filtered water, and wifi as well as Netflix, Roku and streaming TV. I can’t tell you how much having those phone services built in makes our stay easier. There are two houses on this property. The bigger one is right on the ocean and will be great when we come back with friends. But our bungalow is positioned so we can see and hear the ocean. Last night I slept on the patio with the perfect Caribbean breezes and the music of ocean waves. Doesn’t get much better than that.

They had their property manager help us rent and pick up a car at the airport and lead us to the house since it was dark, and they even offered to have her pick us up some grocery staples when we came in on Saturday night since all the grocery stores are closed on Sundays. This is a small small island and except for a couple of restaurants, the island is closed on Sunday! Bed is comfortable, kitchen is nicely stocked, plenty of beach and house towels, washer and dryer behind the house, porch swing is a perfect place for a sunset and a tropical drink, AC and fans keep the house as cool as you want without having to freeze yourself out. If you are looking for a ‘dive and relax’ vacation, this is a fabulous choice.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2018
Hey, we would love to have you as a neighbor! Come on down! Our little community would be a better place with you for friends and neighbors! We appreciate your wonderful review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrantle...
Rocklin, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Loved It!!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed in both places on the property, first the cottage and then the main house. Patty (property manager) was very friendly and met us at the airport to show us to the property and how to use the phones, etc. We decided the cottage was too small for us so Shawn the owner allowed us to upgrade to the main house and made sure we had everything we needed. The house is great! Tons of room with a fantastic view of the ocean. I laid in the hammock every morning drinking my coffee wishing I could stay forever. Both houses are located close to the stores, dive shops, and airport. I would definitely recommend this property and will stay there again if we return to the Brac.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2017
Awesome!! The hammock is one of my favorite spots as well as the fainting couch in front of the ocean view windows! We are thankful you chose to spend your vacation time at our houses and welcome a return visit anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margieand...
Round Rock, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise Lost!!”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely wonderful quiet retreat on the beach, not far from public beach. Quiet and private yet close to anywhere you need to go! Cottage is comfy and clean, all amenities included. Had a wonderful stay, great friends and friend locals. Would stay here in a heart beat again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the sunsets from this beach are beautiful!
Liked least: not a thing!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the cottage and the island! We appreciate your glowing review and hope to see you back again when you need another dose of peace and relaxation!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing