We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 288)
Filter reviews
1 288 results
Traveller rating
1 086
142
39
9
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 086
142
39
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine hour social hour grand cayman beach restaurant main restaurant the ritz turn down service bottle of champagne paddle boards ocean view tacos amazing property pool staff pool bar cayman islands every staff member four seasons
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
392 - 397 of 1 288 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2019

We were fortunate enough to stay at both hotels in the same week. I am sure many who looked at one of these hotels cross shop another as the price is somewhat similar.

At the end, we preferred Seafire, but both hotels are really, really good.

Location: Advantage Ritz. It is located right in the middle of the Seven Miles beach with walking distance to some of the very good restaurants and places for breakfast and lunch, in case you do not want to pay $30 for the regular salad with chicken in Ritz. Place of notice is Islands Naturals café. It is an excellent place for breakfast and lunch in case if you can live without eggs and meat for few days. It is a vegetarian place but with excellent food (salads are excellent as well as oats with fruits for breakfast). In case you need eggs and bacon, then Eats café on the other side of Ritz will give you just that for the third of the Ritz price.
Seafire, located at the northern end of the Seven Miles beach with nothing nearby that you can get on foot. So you are stuck with what is being offered in the hotel. One way around it is, since rooms in Seafire have kitchenettes with refrigerator, stove and microwave, you may do the light shopping at the local supermarket (Fosters, for example, located next to Ritz) for croissants, muffins, cold cuts and so on.

Beach: Tie. Both have excellent beach. It is wide enough not to feel congested when hotels are full (even though at the time when we were there, Ritz was completely full with all rows of chairs occupied and Seafire was practically empty, or at least felt like that). One thing that needs to be mentioned that right next to Seafire, there is a public beach where cruise ships bring their passengers and when there are many ships in port ( in one day we counted 8), the beach is over crowded so some tried to sneak in to the Seafire beach but security did a good job to keep people away.
Beach amenities: These chairs in Ritz are just horrible. There are no umbrellas, just small canopies, that are not really effective to get a shade. Seafire is using regular beach umbrellas that you can move your chair around to get a full shade based on the time of the day. Clear advantage for Seafire here.
Both hotels offers tons of various swimming accessories that are included in the resort fee which are one of the highest I‘ve ever seen ($85 for Ritz and $70 for Seafire)

Rooms: I think Seafire has much better rooms. On top that almost, if not all rooms have ocean view, have kitchenette and are very , very modern (maybe it is not such a advantage based on the style you like). Also in Ritz, if you get their garden room, be prepared for a very, very long walk to the room, as it located on the other side of the building far away from the beach.

Hotels amenities: Advantage Ritz. Ritz has a spa with steam room, dry sauna that is accessible for everyone even if you don’t have any spa appointments. It is actually was very handy to use spa lockers when we arrived and our room was not yet ready. Seafire, even though has spa, there is not dry sauna and steam room only accessible when you have spa appointment.
Also, worth to mention, as a nice touch, Seafire offer free wine with appetizers during their social hour (5 to 6 PM)
And Ritz has some kind of entertainment near the bar area, when Seafire feels practically deserted in the evening. We did not care as much as there are many excellent restaurants on the island that we were spending our evenings ( our top three in no particular order: Agua, Blue Cilantro and Bacaro)

Restaurants: I would say maybe Ritz, but we did not dine in all of them as they are very expansive. But judging by when we had a lunch/dinner, I think we liked Ritz better.

Service: Both have excellent service as expected!

All in all, both hotels are excellent choices and you can’t go wrong with either of them. We liked Seafire a little better as room location, beach umbrellas, and overall modern feel made this hotel a winner but just by a hair.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dimka448
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPAatSeafire, General Manager at Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2019

Hi there,
thank you a million for the 5 stars review! We are very glad to know that you had an amazing experience and that you enjoyed the facilities, beach area and amenities like our daily social hour; looks like you had a blast at Seafire!
We would absolutely love to have you back soon!
Until next time
Cheers
SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2019

Just returned from 6 wonderful days in the sun. This is one of the finest resorts we have every visited. Great rooms, Wonderful staff of very friendly people. The food was very good, but Very expensive relative to portion size. We will definitely return to this fine resort

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mdl2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPAatSeafire, General Manager at Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2019

Hi Michael,
Thank you so much for your 5 starts rating! We absolutely love to know that you had an amazing stay with us and we can't wait to have you here again!
Cheers
SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2019 via mobile

I've lived in Cayman a few years now and this is where I will take all my visitors. Such a beautiful location, great service and great food and drinks. Mae was our server. She was excellent, super pleasant and made great food and drink recommendations. Totally enjoyed the experience. And you can't beat the view and atmosphere-- so clean! Don't miss it.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Janjanlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPAatSeafire, General Manager at Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2019

Hi there,
Thank you a million for your 5 stars rating, we absolutely love to know you had an amazing experience!
Please come back for another amazing time in paradise, we will be waiting right here for you,
Cheers
SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2019

The resort is gorgeous and our experience at the chef's counter was the highlight of our trip. Unfortunately we had a really poor interaction with the driver of the house car, when we voiced our concern to the hotel management absolutely nothing was done about it. It was a pretty big deal with this individual name calling one member of our party so we were disappointed that more was not done to take care of this situation. Other staff members were very kind but this experience just overshadowed our whole stay.

Used WhatAHotel to book through WhatAHotel.com. This is a Virtuoso like site, you do not pay any extra to book through them but get extra perks like breakfast, $100 hotel credits, early check in/late check out and internet included. Many times they are able to price match as well if we find a lower rate on another site. We use this service regularly for all our luxury travels around the world and deal directly with Maria Rodriguez as our agent who is always quick to respond over email and works hard to get us extra amenities. Very reputable site and highly recommended for all hotel needs.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KA1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPAatSeafire, General Manager at Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2019

Hi there,
Thank you so much for your feedback, we would love to discuss more details about your experience, if you wouldn't mind sharing with us directly, please contact us to Eduardo.delrisco@seafireresortandspa.com
We truly value your opinion and it would be huge help if you can let us know a little more.
Looking forward to hear from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2019

My first review ever, but had to write after experiencing this amazing resort. (Disclaimer: I am staying on points, but I presume most of the staff doesn't know that. I have an IHG credit card so that gives me Platinum status, which anyone can get with a credit card, but otherwise am not a major guest with IHG (once or twice a year) or Kimpton (one other Kimpton probably 10 years ago).
I am a teacher of Service Excellence, and this resort's Service is at the very top of the hundreds of hotels and resorts at which I have stayed. The staff makes you feel you are the only one at the resort. Most of the staff know your name and your preferences. It is a mastery of service qualities.
The architecture of the hotel and the plantings are superb. The rooms are fashionable and the artwork, while not of museum quality, is thoughtful and adds to the ambiance. The tiles in the bathrooms (and elsewhere) along with the design and furnishing are perfect. Kudos to the interior designers. The pool (no outdoor hot tub, only at the spa, which requires a service to gain access) and the oceanfront beach and chairs are relaxing. When the staff brings free treats around a couple of times a day, you feel pampered.
The 2 fine-dining restaurants are in the same space but with different kitchens. Both are superb for foodies such as myself, and the best on the Island for high quality ingredients and presentation. Chef Dennis keeps a careful watch on the food. (Yes, there are finer restaurants in NYC or Paris, etc. Note that there are many excellent restaurants throughout Grand Cayman. Other than some beach burger-style joints [the hotel's is the nicest], most are a cab ride away or a generous walk. However, you will not top the two at the Kimpton, except perhaps for somewhat lower pricing and in some cases a better view.)
Another treat is the Manager's reception every evening -- they repeatedly offer you a glass of wine, and provide a small snack. Eric the Magician comes to perform card tricks; another night there was live music. Again, way above expectations.
Usually, I don't know a single staff member at a hotel/resort. Here I met Tammy who helped us secure reservations for the Chef's Counter (book well in advance of your stay if you want this delicious experience). Kristen greets you in a lovely way for dinner. Alex was super friendly and solicitous at the beach and pool, along with his charming boss, Antonio Vargas. Dionisia was our housekeeper -- at what hotel do you get greeted by and taken care of by the housekeeper?--None I can think of. Itzel, Carol and Heidi are delightful at the front. Idaleyni in in-house reservations, so kindly worked out our complex points reservation. I mention all of them (and there were many others) because they made our stay so special, and also to tell you how consistent and interactive the staff is -- more so than anywhere else I have been.
As you can see, we were delighted by every aspect of our stay (not to mention the warm climate in January). I'd give six or more stars if I could. You may book this resort with confidence and an expectation of a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank Charles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPAatSeafire, General Manager at Kimpton Seafire Resort + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2019

Hi Charles,
Wow thank you a million for this amazing review! you just made our day so much better.
Thank you for the shout-outs, we will pass them along to the team.
We can't wait to have you back soon for more fun in the sun!
Cheers
SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews