We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, restful... bliss”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gwytheryn

Gwytheryn dates back the 15th century
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gwytheryn dates back the 15th century
Cosy homely lounge with inglenook fireplace logs and coal included Twin bedroom downstairs with en-suite with wheel in shower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Gwytheryn dates back the 15th century
Cosy homely lounge with inglenook fireplace logs and coal included
Twin bedroom downstairs with en-suite with wheel in shower
Bake a cake using the old kitchen scales
Upstairs twin adjoining a double bedroom
King size bed with an adjoining twin room
Upstairs double
Large garden to play or relax in!!
Play area for the young ones
We run an organic working farm
Feeding time  make your selves at home down on the farm
Pont Crafnant
The Roman Steps at Cwm Bychan
Harlech Beach
Not for the faint hearted
Castle at Harlech
Ffestiniog Railway
Llandanwg Church One of the oldest churches in Wales
Remember your bikes
Portmeirion where 'The Prisoner' was filmed
Can you smell the bluebells
Llyn Hafod-y-Llyn for nearby course fishing
Wild goats at Cwm Nantcol
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dyffryn Ardudwy, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
busywoman...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Peaceful, restful... bliss”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Made to feel extremely welcome when picking up the keys at the main working farm. Surrounded by fields, with cows and sheep in the distance. Very tranquil setting. Children loved the freedom with amenities all around - small park area with swings and climbing frames coupled with table tennis, football tables, and darts for the more mature generation. Everywhere is clean and well kept. Would certainly love to return...... Many thanks to Jane x x x Colin and Anne-Marie x x x

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet but ideal location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FlynndaLi...
Luton, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great holiday for family of 10 with 3 generations”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed here for a family celebration and the owners were wonderful. The younger children enjoyed the cupboards full of box games, the play area outside and the cartoon dvds supplied. My disabled father was catered for with the downstairs bedroom and shower room and ability to park right outside the front door.

It was only a short walk to the local pub and perfectly located for several days out in the local area (although these were all a drive away).

We had a good size private garden and didn't notice the other guests staying in neighbouring cottages - there was also a games room in the barns although many of the games in here were either broken or had parts missing meaning we couldn't enjoy them (pool table, table football, ping pong and darts)

The kitchen was very well stocked with every utensil you could think of and we had no problem catering for all 10 of us for the week.

I would describe the cottage as traditional and homely. There was wifi but this was enough to check the odd email rather than stream or download anything. Not that it mattered to us but there is no mobile signal at all, for this you have to walk 5 minutes to the end of the drive. But depending on what sort of holiday you want this could be a good or a bad thing.

Owners were lovely and very accommodating.

One thing I would say is that while the downstairs is perfect for those with limited mobility (having the downstairs shower room and bedroom), it is not wheelchair friendly due to the age of the cottage doorways are narrow and floors are uneven. Also anyone over 5'7" is likely to bump their head a few times but you'll have that with all character cottages this age.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaS312...
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“total peace and quiet.”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A warm welcome from Jane and a guided tour around the farmhouse to explain the workings of everything was a great help. There was fresh milk for a much needed cuppa and the best victoria sandwich I've ever tasted thoughtfully baked by Jane.
This property far exceeded my expectations. The bedlinnen is of the highest quality,as were the beds and all the kitchen utensils. We had two young children with us and even their needs were catered for, the high chair and cot being of a very high standard.
The farmhouse was plenty big enough for all five adults and two children. We even managed to all fit around the table at meal times.
As we were lucky enough to have great weather the laundry facilities came into good use in washing all the beach towels and swimwear.
Previous reviews comented on the use of the showers, we found them to be fine,even when all being used at once. The Internet was a little troublesome but if you sit in the armchair by the window its ok. Mobile phones had to be taken outside to get a signal but what do you expect when the walls are over three feet deep? The childrens play area came in usful, as did the games room.
To sit outside with a glass of wine and be greeted by sheep looking over the fence into our garden, and rabbits just wandering about without a care in the world, this is what makes this place a true gem if all you want is to sit back and relax.

We all wanted a peacfull and relaxing holiday and thats exactly what we had. This is an area of Wales we allways visit and now we have found this wonderful property there is no doubt we will be back again.
As there are no lights down the lane I would recomend taking a couple of torches as it is pitch black at night.
We managed to book a table at the Last Inn in Barmouth,
It can be hard dining out with small children but they were such a help, the meal was superb and very resonably priced. Highly recomend a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no light outdoors at night
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$114
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing