We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“brilliant break”
other travellers have booked this property
West End Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
West End Terrace
Two bunk beds Bedroom with orginal fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
West End Terrace
Two bunk beds
Bedroom with orginal fireplace
Bathroom
Bathroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living Room
Living Room
Garden
Garden
North
East
South
South West
West
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Tanygrisiau, Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
m00nlilly
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“brilliant break”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you want a fantastic little cottage in a quite location surrounded by stunning mountains book this.
I admit in estate agent terms it could do with moderistion, but everything works. If you don't want to go for the log burner ( who wouldn't? ) there are enough heaters to melt the ozone! Its not like staying in the typical cut out holiday rental. More like someone's home. There is no TV and the phone/internet signal doesn't exist, at least not with my provider. But that didn't matter, there's a stereo, with a record player! And CD player , there's also a selection of CDs and books on the shelves. I added to the collection while I was there.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shefflove
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome budget accomodation”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was very rustic and in Awesome location, great value for money. Really close to the downhill trails at anter stiniog and bounce bellow we had an amazing weekend

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A bad experience”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We have stayed at many holiday rental cottages in several countries and are used to handling a wide variety of appliances and property idiosyncrasies. However, this is the first time we have had to leave a property and find alternative accommodation because of unusable equipment, namely the hot water servicing the shower. The hot water for the kitchen sink, the bathroom vanity and the shower are all heated by a dial operated appliance which heats the water as you use it. The appliances for the kitchen sink and bathroom vanity worked but the shower would not run hot water over two days of trying, following the written instructions carefully. The next-door neighbour acts as a key holder and adviser for the property and she also made several attempts to operate the shower, to no avail. She told us that the owner had been having trouble with the appliance in recent times. She contacted an electrician who lives a few doors away to see if he could help but he couldn't come until the day we were to leave the cottage. After two days without a shower, we decided to move out.
Initially the cottage owner was apologetic and offered us a refund but later reneged on this and only refunded our deposit as he claimed the shower was working normally. The cottage is not well maintained generally and we feel that this shower dial is at best temperamental, or at worst, faulty and should be replaced.
We advise others to avoid this particular property

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked least: Faulty equipment, poor maintenance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
Dear potential guests. There are two sides to every story. If you have any hesitation about staying at the cottage, because of the one feedback received, then do not hesitate to ask questions before booking and be assured. I have received my first bad feedback in 7 years of letting the cottage and the comments are not wholly accurate, or reflecting the truth of the matter. This is my response to the one poor feedback received.

Whilst I first offered a refund (being in Cyrus and away from home and receiving a text after the event), I also turned away further bookings until the problem had been investigated and the reported problem fixed. My next guests already booked through Holiday Lettings and were arriving the next day after my disgruntled guests were due to vacate the cottage. My next guests said they were happy to use the cottage even though the shower might not be working. It was reported afterwards that the shower was working. For that reason, until investigated. I had to make a special journey of 258 mile round trip to go and investigate.

After going to to the cottage and speaking with my key-holder and what I was told by her,whilst showing her the shower working, the only possible explanation for the shower not working at the time reported would have been for the water pressure to be too low as a result of not turning on the stopcock and tap at the mains. When the water pressure is too low, the heating elements in the shower are not turned on. It is sometimes a requirement for the water to be turned on when arriving at the cottage.

In view of the cause being down to not turning on the water fully, I did not feel obliged to stand by my original offer of one day's refund. However, I was prepared to compromise, but the disgruntled guest said; "keep the refund".

I refute the claim the cottage is not well maintained. The shower was serviced in March of this year after one fault developed 12 months ago at which time I traveled to the cottage the day after it was reported and I fixed it. At no time since then and 20 bookings later has the shower failed to work.

I can assure you that with all the bookings I have taken in the last 7 years of renting the cottage, this is the first negative feedback received and not because of anything that could not have been resolved earlier had it been reported earlier to me. Only after my guest had vacated the cottage did I receive news by text from my key-holder. Unbeknown to me, my key-holder offered my guests the use of her own shower. There was no real reason to vacate the cottage one day early or not have a shower facility available.

Please ensure you read the terms and conditions, or request a copy by email before booking. You can be assured that as the owner, I take care to ensure guests staying at the cottage have a pleasurable stay and the facilities are properly maintained by me to ensure that. I have lots of Ebay feedback from happy guests staying at the cottage. Most guest do not leave feedback, but nevertheless are highly satisfied when reporting back to me by text or email once they have vacated the cottage.

David Monk
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korrie P
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing