We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
343
37
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
37
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews soper's hole our honeymoon every morning rental car west end ferry small resort private beach full kitchen two bedroom villa air conditioned norman island the sir francis drake piece of heaven grocery shopping breathtaking views snorkel equipment dinner reservations
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Our stay at Frenchman's exceeded all of our expectations! Peter was the perfect host, and all the staff went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful time. The location is ideal, and the views from our balcony were breathtaking. We traveled with our three children and had the perfect amount of space. We enjoyed breakfast every morning in the restaurant and loved planning our activities for the day with Peter's guidance. Soper's Hole is a quaint area with everything you would need from groceries to restaurants to nice shopping. I can't wait to return for another stay at Frenchman's!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

Came in three days early for a 5 couples catamaran trip.
Don't know how you could do any better then Frenchman's resort on Tortola. Only nine two bedroom bungalows. Beach, pool, restaurant and lounge. Great staff, friendly, fun and professional.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We skipper our own vessel and have had 14 different two week sailing vacations in the BVI. So cannot tell you about any lodgings ashore at Frenchmans Cay, Tortola, BVI but there is plenty of good times to be had.

* Frenchman's Cay, we refer to as Sopers Hole. Nicely protected from the seas, but the trades will cool you down as the winds blow refreshingly between the West End and Frenchman's Cay.

Ashore at Frenchman's Cay, we head for Pussers dockside restaurant and bar. Very nice, overlooking the docked and moored boats. We usually pick up some needed provisions at the Harbor Market right there in the beautiful marina, as well as:

*Browse Pussers Company Store for my special nautical style shirt to take home to our beach city of Dana Point, Ca. Also, this next trip I want to pick up another gift for me, one of those classy Pusser Rum Flasks. I do not break the seal, and declare it upon returning the the U.S. Very nice and makes a good BVI conversation piece....while you are pouring out drinks for friends and family.

* Two story, PUSSERS LANDING, Water front dining and drinks. Casual, very nice ambiance. Open air, and super kick back peaceful and fun. We will have drinks here, as well as lunch and dinner. There is more elegant dining up stairs at the Crows Nest, but we like the easy BVI style on deck.

* Warning: When you order your Pain Killer, the signature cocktail of the BVI. At Pussers bar, they will ask you if you want a number 2, or 3, or 4. A number 2 is two shots of pussers rum, number 3 is 3 shots, and a number 4 is 4 shots. We just stick with the number 2. Go for what is right on for you. Ahrrrr, port and starboard poop deck, give em broadside !

* Sometimes live music at Pussers on friday and saturday nights. And for the device dependent, they have WIFI .

* If you are land bound, and need a little adventure Blue Water Divers have dive trips and a dive shop, with clothing and gifts for family and friends back home. Or yourself. Ask about the Indians and Pelican and the Caves at Treasure Point, all next to the Bight on Norman.

* There are other gift shops and eateries, for you to check out on Frenchmans Cay..

* Sopers Hole is on the West end of Tortola ; Frenchman's Cay is on the south side of the harbor. On the North Side of the Harbor is the Ferry Docks and Customs .Also some additional shops .

* We are usually sailing from White Bay, Jost Van Dyke, or Cane Garden Bay, and very much enjoy spending a night or two at Sopper's before heading over to Norman Island , and moor at the Bight to party down on the Willy T.

* Just a quick sea story. SOPERS HOLE : We were sitting peacefully on our mooring, having a tall rum drink, when Erica says. ( Pointing at the hillsides on Frenchman's Cay,) " Look up there, what are those white things ?" Took a couple of seconds, those white things were lots of grazing sheep, and the sheepherder was working and bringing them down to their night pens. A lead sheep was up in front, and the rest of the flock was following him down the steep hill side. Soon they all had vansihed from our view. Pretty neat. Right back up there the next morning.

After leaving Sopers Hole, sailing thru Thatch Cut, into the Sir Francis Drake Channel.....

* We will stop to snorkel the Indians and Pelican Island, on they way from Sopers to Norman Is. Excellent snorkeling. Dive boats and snorkel boats will take you there , as well.

* After our last night and partying at the Willy T, we sail across the channel back to Road Harbor. Our two weeks of sailing and snorkeling and hiking, and partying has sadly, come to an end.

There you have some of the scoops on Frenchman's Cay, but from the aspect of sailing and living on our boat.

There used to be a small resort, at the far east end of frenchmans cay, looking out over the Sir Francis Drake Channel, not sure if it is still there, but it certainly looked like a great place to stay.

Enjoy the BVI

Denny and Erica

Room Tip: Not sure about any lodgings at Frenchmans cay, but there are many great places to stay on Tortola,
Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

This was our second stay at Frenchman's Resort and it will not be our last. The staff is very friendly and helpful with booking rental cars, dinner reservations and activities. The villa is very nice with breath taking views. Bedrooms are air conditioned and very comfortable. Living area has a fantastic breeze when the doors are open. Breakfast every morning was delicious with a good variety of options. We ate dinner at the restaurant one evening and it too was very well prepared. Activities include swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, tennis and generally just relaxing. Not far from the ferry dock at the West End. You can take the ferry or a water taxi to the other BVIs. We are already planning our next visit.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

This is heaven! The villas on a hill overlooking the Caribbean are amazing. From the views, to the decorations, to the comfort of the beds and furniture, it could not have been better. The manager of the property, Peter, is the best concierge. He wants to make sure everything is perfect, the pool, the beach, the snorkeling, the kyacking, the restaurant and he succeeded! He also knows the very best folks to set up sailing or motoring trips to the other islands, the other restaurants to experience. This is by far the best vacation spot on Tortola. A+

Room Tip: All villas have amazing views-leave it to Peter
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ralph9590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews