We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal Home in St Lucia”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Morten T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Home in St Lucia”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Bananaquit was absolutely beyond our expectations. It is a huge, beautiful house with spectacular views of the Pitons and the sunset. The entire house was kept spotless daily by the staff. When we arrived, my wife and I set up a menu with the chefs that we would like for the week. They prepared us breakfast, lunch and dinner daily that was delicious! They are great at preparing authentic local food. A lot of the fruit and vegetables come straight from Bananaquit's own back yard. The staff could not have been nicer and more accommodating. They even washed and folded our clothes at the end of the week.
They charge for groceries and 15% charge for shopping for us. When we got the bill at the end of the week, we were pleasantly surprised at how affordable it was.
Would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking. We're excited to come back someday.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NES62
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Million dollar view; friendly staff; VERY isolated and needs some updating”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Fantastic view and overall lovely home, however the road to the property was treacherous and it is extremely isolated. The staff (Joan and Brenda) were very nice and did their best to accommodate all requests; there was an issue with large cockroaches, and not just in the kitchen area (which really needs updating along with some of the bathrooms), that persisted throughout the stay; however, to be fair there are really only 3 walls throughout much of the house, so it may simply be futile in this tropical climate. This also meant fairly warm sleeping conditions, even with AC units turned on and fourth wall shuttered off. The driver ("Bakes"/Bob) was exceptionally sweet and very accommodating to all our needs.
Overall, wonderful view but not luxurious and not worth the price.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: infinity saltwater pool, view of Pitons
Liked least: cockroaches!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2014
Dear Nancy,

Many thanks for your review and kind words regarding the staff. We take on board comments and feedback from all guests but with reference to your comments to the isolation, insects and need for updating we are a little confused. The location of the house is clearly marked on the map and the description of the hillside location and the need to hire a 4x4 also stated – we understand you chose not to follow this. The road leads down to one of the main resorts on the island Anse Chastanet, where many hundreds of people stay and visit each year without issue. All photos are current and the two lower bedrooms, deck, pool and gazebo have been completed less than a 8 months ago. The staff take great pride in the house and being a tropical climate eradicating insects is not possible despite their continued efforts. They clean the house every morning, as you will have noticed, and make the beds etc.

The kitchen although not from The Ritz has a new fridge freezer, commercial grade oven and hob as well as all other items anyone could desire – coffee machine, dish washer, ice maker, wine fridge etc and is in keeping with the Lucian feel of the house. Needless to say the staff cook most of your meals for you anyway. The air conditioning we have never had an issue with indeed when I stay I don’t have it on all evening as it gets too cold!

St Lucia is a place to unwind and take in the natural beauty of a more natural Caribbean island, to escape the mundane repetition of a packaged, off the shelf holiday. Perhaps you would be more suited to a resort in the North of the island, or Barbados is a more suitable destination in the future.

Overall we feel it is, although your opinion, an unfair representation of the experiences of our guests, and more a representation of the island in general. We are disappointed that you did not get the enjoyment that you were anticipating, as the vast majority of our guests in the past have done.

We wish you all the best for your future holidays.

Best Regards,
Bananaquit House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Izzy K
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on earth!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed for 4 nights at Bananaquit House and wished I could stay longer.
The property is absolutely stunning, all the rooms are huge with incredible views.
The views alone make this property so unique and special.
I spent far too long just gazing out into the sea, watching the little fishing boats go by and of course admiring the Pitons!
The inifinity pool looks so great at night when the colours change.
The villa is really well run and looked after by a delightful team who can cook for you too, their food is amazing!
Lots to do like swimming, ping pong, scrabble and its short drive to the mud baths, and a volcanic beach where I went diving (which was also great fun)
All in all, I loved it and really want to go back as soon as possible!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing