We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (799)
Filter reviews
798 results
Traveller rating
567
161
40
22
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
567
161
40
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mango tree restaurant outdoor shower petit piton private pool our honeymoon st lucia sugar beach homemade jams cell phone full kitchen amazing views ocean view botanical gardens caribbean sea banana pancakes the general manager rented a car
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 798 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

Hey must say this is on of the most meditated place where you can find the Inna peace in you . I think that the saying is true heaven is on the earth . You can find it right at Stone field. The food , the view , the comfort. Nature hey tell a friend of mine to tell a friend.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mandel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVERIL B, Public Relations Manager at Stonefield Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mandel,

We are so pleased that you and you partner found the beauty and serenity you were looking for at Stonefield Villa Resort. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your comments and for sure we agree with you that heaven on earth is here at Stonefield. Come back soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

My wife and I stayed at the Stonefield Villa Resort for 5 days for our honeymoon, and cannot be happier with our choice! We stayed in one a one bedroom garden view villa, and it was breathtaking. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. There is a beautiful view in every direction and it is extremely quiet so if you are looking for a relaxing vacation this is the place to be! Every meal we ate at the Mango Tree Restaurant was absolutely delicious (with complimentary breakfast for the bargain hunters), and Soufriere is just a short taxi/drive away if you would like something different.

The concierge provided a booklet of excursions which included horseback riding, boat tours, hikes, hot springs, and much more! We arrived to the hotel with no plans, but within an hour we were able to plan out our excursions for the entire trip! All we had to do was tell the concierge what we wanted to do and they had a cab ready for us, always on time.

Thanks again for the wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVERIL B, Public Relations Manager at Stonefield Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Alex,

Thank YOU for summing up our brand just as we intended. We appreciate your giving us the opportunity to share our unique hospitality with you. By the looks of it, you and your wife were able to submerge yourselves in the joys of our escape. We'll be honored to repeat the experience with the both of you...and we hope, that will be soon enough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

My husband and I stayed at this resort for 5 nights at the end of August. Overall we found this resort to be excellent and would not hesitate to stay here again.

The location: just north of the petite piton and higher up on the mountain, this resort offers excellent views of the piton and the ocean. I found myself pretty much in awe of the beauty every time I looked around. The grounds were very well maintained with tropical flowers and plants everywhere.

Our room: We stayed in a one bedroom ocean view villa called Frangipani. We LOVED our villa. It had pretty much complete privacy, a huge "plunge" pool, a hammock, an outdoor shower and amazing views. It was always so quiet and peaceful. We spent a lot of time just hanging out on the porch or in the pool. Although we did love our villa, there were a few things I felt could be improved. For one, the A/C did not work very well. It was always cooler in our villa than it was outside, but it was never really cold. Additionally our fridge did not work that great. Similarly to the A/C, it kept things cool but not cold. We really enjoyed our time spent at the villa and did not feel like that time was wasted in any way. Just soaking up the amazing views was time well spent.

The beach: There is no direct access to the beach from this resort, as you are higher up on the mountain. The resort runs shuttles to two beaches (Malgretoutte (Sp?) and Sugar Beach) a few times per day. We only ever took the shuttle to Sugar Beach which was about a 10 minute drive down the hill. Now, going into our trip I had heard that beach goers who were not patrons of the Sugar Beach resort were sometimes treated like second class citizens. We did not really experience that. Yes, The chairs/umbrellas are $50 pp to rent but we just brought our beach towels and placed them underneath two palm trees and it was perfect. I did get a snooty vibe from a lot of the staff at Sugar Beach but it did not in any way affect our beach experience. The beach was absolutely beautiful. It was uncrowded with crystal clear water and fantastic views.

The restaurant: This was probably the low spot of the resort for me. I don't think it's fair to ding the entire resort for my mediocre experience at the restaurant so I will review it separately. To summarize: the restaurant food was good (included breakfast was always delicious and filling) but the service was almost always poor.

One aspect I felt could have been improved was the attitude of the staff. I'm not sure if it was intentional but I got the feeling that the staff were just generally "annoyed". They were never rude or unfriendly but just seemed a little cold and disinterested. We didn't let this affect our experience but it would have been nice if the staff were a bit warmer.

On the topic of bugs: Yes, there were bugs. Sometimes in our villa (mainly the bathroom). This really did not bother us as they were usually dead. Mostly we had some moths and flying ant type insects. Surprisingly, I only got a few mosquito bites throughout the entire stay. If you don't like bugs - maybe a tropical island isn't right for you.

Another tip that I followed from tripadvisor and wanted to pass along is to purchase cheap pool floats (we got ours for $5 each off amazon) and bring them with you. It was so nice to have a pool float to relax in the pool on as the sun is very strong and the heat gets to you fast.

Overall we had a fantastic stay and feel that our accommodations at this resort may leave us a bit jaded about other hotels/resorts in the future (what do you mean we don't have our own huge, private pool overlooking the ocean?!). With a few minor fixes, this resort would be 100% perfection.

Room Tip: Frangipani was excellent!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LoveTravel574670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVERIL B, Public Relations Manager at Stonefield Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

We appreciate your choosing Stonefield for your getaway for you and your husband, and thank you for your candid feedback, which we certainly value. We apologise for the AC and refrigerator for not working at full capacity. We will certainly have our maintenance person look into this. We continue to work on upgrades on the property which spreads across 26 acres. It's a work in progress. We are honored to know that you would not hesitate to stay with us again in spite of issues you raised. That tells us we connected with you and your husband and we really can't wait to welcome you both back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Beautiful gardens and well kept property. Villas need updating, and repairs. Outdoor shower and plunge pool beautiful with panoramic views of the pitons.
Food was good.

This property does not have a beachfront. It has very limited access to sugar bay, you must pay $50 pp to sit on the beach. The area that you can sit, is a small pice of sugar bay and not associated with sugar bay resort. Anse chastened is available but a trip to get there.

The hospitality is not good. They are not proactive or enthusiastic with their guests. It’s quite a trip to souffiere for water activities, but they are very limited. Paddle boarding and other water sports, including sailing are not readily available. If you just want seclusion and limited activity, a beautiful spot.

Since we were familiar with anse chastene we kept asking for reservations there, but they never got back to us. Told us they would try and that was the end of it. We were clear we wanted the evening cruise on carnival not mystic man.

This property does not have yoga. We asked for it, the instructor did not show.

We finally found our own guide who took us around for the day. It was really good, but would have preferred being on the water.

In summation, if you want seclusion and little to no activities but beautiful views and food, it would be a good spot. However, the hospitality is not there. All the staff does their jobs and are polite, but obviously not happy campers.

We were mislead that beaches were readily available.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rosedr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVERIL B, Public Relations Manager at Stonefield Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

We wish to express our sincerest thanks to you for choosing Stonefield Villas for your recent vacation. We also appreciate and value the feedback you provided. Having considered some of the comments, we have concluded that Stonefield was perhaps just not a match for you in terms of the type of holiday experience you were seeking. Our brand is definitely not one of a beach-front resort with expansive water sports activity and no where on our website do we make such a claim. Our brand profile is clearly one of escaping the rigours of life in a private villa with private pools and outdoor showers, in a quiet oasis of 26 acres of lush tropical landscape and stunning views.
It is factual that all St Lucia beaches are free, including Sugar Bay beach, which is the beach that is mostly used by our guests. However, if you want to use one the Sugar Bay Hotel beach chairs which they provide for their guests, there is a hotel charge of $50.00 for the use of their chairs. There is also a local company on the beach that also supplies simple chairs for $10.00. Some people choose to just take their own towels and lie on them.
We do not have an in-house Yoga teacher, but we make arrangements with a reliable resource once the guest and instructor mutually agree and confirm the day and time.
We believe that your preference was to be on the water engaging in invigorating water sports activity, and for that reason we do not believe that we were a match for you relative to activities as we are not on a beach.
Stonefield is about disconnecting and re-energising the soul and unplugging from the world. Perhaps in the future, if you should seek this type of experience, you would consider returning to us. We would be honoured to host again should that be the case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

If you want to get away from it all...this is definitely the spot to go. As soon as we arrived, we just felt like we were off the grid and one with nature. The situation of this property just seems so natural and in tune with the surroundings. Literally nestled along a mountain...with amazing views of the piton from every single spot. As you walk to your cottage (yes all cottages) you realize they are made to fit in the environment as well, and not obstruct your view of nature. You walk into your exterior wall of your cottage area, and now you are inside your own paradise and gardens. The foliage, flowers, trees and vines surround your cottage, and you have your very own pool and deck. You can seriously feel comfortable knowing you are in your own little oasis that is so private....take it off and jump in your pool...with the Piton as your backdrop. Once we were over the shock of our amazing cottage, we entered and were amazed again.
The room is so beautiful and large. Ours had a nice kitchen and sitting area. We had an amazing 4 post bed with mosquito netting (You do need the mosquito netting, but there was not a bunch of bugs...like I feared)...even so, keep your door closed at night to keep them out.
The bathroom is very spacious as well, and the shower is natural....it has walls, but no roof. So you are showing in the outdoors which I thought was really cool. Everything at this resort was just amazing.
FOOD: The restaurant is situated with a view over the ocean and the pitons as the backdrop. The restaurant is perched on a point of the hillside that gives you a great view, and it is outdoors, but every time we ate there it was nice and cool with an ocean breeze. The food was to die for....breakfast lunch and dinner....all of it was great.
KEEP IN MIND - this is the place to relax, read and destress....no TV in the room was nice.
SPA - I did a full body massage and was very impressed with the spa area. The menu was very detailed, and my masseuse was very good. She really had great hands and was one of the better massages I have had in the Caribbean.

Room Tip: I liked Hibiscus because it was a room with no living area...very cozy and the pool and hammock were awesome. Very private layout.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truthNtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVERIL B, Public Relations Manager at Stonefield Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

We thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and comments. It's so refreshing when our guests report on their Stonefield experience and it completely aligns with brand identity. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to share our hospitality with you and you partner and thank you for sharing your experience with this audience. We definitely hope we have the opportunity to host you both again in the future, and hopefully that will be very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews