We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Anse Chastanet(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$468
US$417
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$374
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Haut Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1 082
US$384
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$449/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Boucan by Hotel Chocolat(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$347
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$144
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jade Mountain Resort(Soufriere)
US$2 586
US$1 332
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 562)
Filter reviews
1 562 results
Traveller rating
1 162
247
88
40
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 162
247
88
40
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscane barbayside restaurantgreat roomgrand luxury villasushirainforest spabutler servicesugar beachour honeymoonplunge poolst luciabeachfront bungalowbeach barviceroy resortdinner reservationsservice chargemeal plan
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 1 562 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Flat out, Sugar Beach is the most awe-inspiring beach we’ve visited. Framed by the Pitons, it’s like you are visiting Peter Pan’s Neverland. We had a terrific stay, but it could have been EPIC with some service improvements.

Here’s our experience:

- the Beach is the soul of the property, and for good reason. Physically stunning, it’s hard to focus on your book/magazine with these kinds of views. We loved the complimentary use of the water sports, especially the paddle boards and snorkel gear. The fresh water pool was large and rarely busy. The emerging pier area was also a sophisticated surprise. And we loved the fresh fruit by Blaze in the public beach area.

- the Sugar Club was home base for our 9-year old daughter; we can’t thank the caring, involved staff enough; exciting, localized activities where especially appreciated; and movie night gave us a “free” adult date night

- our room was in the 300s; we loved the clean, white-washed interior, the bed is as good as other reviewers say; having said that, our large outdoor patio and plunge pool were almost useless due to two reasons. First, we had a ton of mosquitoes and it simply was not relaxing to sit outside. No amount of bug spray or candles worked. (Good news: we never even saw a mosquito at the beach). Then, the plunge pools are not heated. Ours was quite cold. Too cold for our adventurous daughters to stay in for more than a few minutes. Disappointing!

- we had wildly uneven experiences in the restaurants. Food, prices, service, and room service could be dramatically different day to day. If I were running the resort, I would focus attention on improving this area more than anything else. It really did leave a bad taste in our mouth. (On a positive note, Cane Bar had delicious sushi. We had a lovely Valentine’s evening in the Great Room. We enjoyed dinner under the stars at the Friday beach BBQ. And the wood fire oven pizzas were legit.)

- the Rainforest Spa is the most unique spa experience of our lives, treehouses as treatment rooms = brilliant, we had amazing massages from Bebe, make sure to request her if possible, great service all around

- one of the most disappointing experiences was the Butler service, they always seemed a step or two behind our plans, and it was truly difficult to get any to stop by our room for routine service (mini bar, waters)

- absolutely loved the Tuk Tuk service, the drivers were always so warm and friendly, unfortunately we experience some puzzling waits during our week-long trip, felt like they needed more support during high season

- we had 2 great offsite experiences thanks to the responsive Concierge team; you must visit the Volcanic Mud Bath (go early in the day before the cruise ship crowds); plus we loved dinner at Hotel Chocolat, be sure to arrive 30 minutes before sunset for jaw dropping Piton views

Overall, Sugar Beach is one of our most memorable vacation experiences. So many HIGHS, but also some head-shaking lows, especially given the price. With some service upgrades, Sugar Beach would be out of this world.



Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank CB328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Good Day CB328,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your family vacation at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. We appreciate you sharing your highlights as well as comments about the areas that concerned you.

We have to agree that our location between the Pitons is unbeatable, and it’s gratifying when our guests appreciate our superb surroundings—including our two gorgeous white sand beaches—as much as we do. We are delighted your expectations were exceeded in this area.

It is also fantastic to learn that our team at the kids club provided excellent care and service to your daughter. We know how important it is for our younger guests to be comfortable and relaxed in our environment and it is wonderful that she enjoyed her time spent there.

I am glad you had the opportunity to experience our Rainforest Spa. We have amazing treatments available delivered by highly qualified and professional therapists.

I am sorry that the service you received from some of our team members was inconsistent. We are continuing to evaluate the performance of our staff and to provide additional training and guidance where required. I truly hope there are never any grounds for us to receive such comments in the future.

Once again, thank you for your business and your comments. Your recommendations will be taken on board and will be reviewed as required. We look forward to serving you again soon.



Best Regards,

Mark Sterner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Exceptional stay with special people, butlers Ethan and Gus and our spectacular driver Verdley made the experience. Great beaches, water activity. The Great Room and Cane Bar were our favorites, the Bayside not so much. The restaurants are pricey, there are values outside the resort, but we would certainly look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank wjayk2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Good Day wjayk2017,

Thank you for this lovely review of your holiday at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

It gives great pleasure to learn that not only did our beautiful setting leave a lasting impression, but also the special care and attention provided by our team members. They will all be happy with your feedback and will be commended for a job well done.

On behalf of the entire team, we all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.


Best Regards

Mark Sterner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed at sugar beach for two nights and took advantage of all the resort had to offer. Our villa (in the 800 series) was high on the hillside with wonderful views of the Pitons. The room was very large and Comfy... big bathroom and large deck with a plunge pool. The shuttle service is fantastic and we never waited more that a few minutes for a quick jitney or van ride down to the beach and main resort. It is a very steep grade so you would not want to walk but the shuttle service is great. The snorkeling on site was excellent and easy to use with a large roped off reef area with lots of variety of fish. Use of snorkeling gear, paddle boards and hobie cats were readily available and free. They also offer waterskiing, tubing, scuba and snuba for a fee. Both the beach and pool areas were very clean with crystal clear blue water. We ate onsite for all meals each day and tried all the restaurants - beware that the food is very expensive but also very tasty. We used the spa for massages and reflexology treatments. Service was great and for about $150 per treatment. Offsite excursions are also offered including a hike of gros piton but we did not have time. Clientele was mostly families but also couples.

Overall great service, food, beach and one of the most beautiful spots in the world. Highly recommend and we will be back.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank FrequentTravel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Good Day FrequentTravel24,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your time at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. Our setting is truly out of this world and it gives us pleasure to know that you appreciate the magic of this place as we do.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed the activities offered at the resort and that you had the opportunity to visit and enjoy our Rainforest Spa. Our aim is to provide our guests with the best possible experience and we are happy that you thoroughly enjoyed what we had to offer.

Your comments and business are greatly appreciated. On behalf of the entire team, we all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.


Best Regards

Mark Sterner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

First visit to Caribbean, and not disappointed! The first thing to say is that there's clearly a big difference in reviews of SB during busy and quiet times. We were here in late January, away from school holidays and I would say the resort was about half full as a guess. Which means that all the concerns about sunbeds on the beach, dinner reservations and waits for resort shuttles just didn't apply. Keep that in mind when booking! In no particular order: (1) we were upgraded to a Grand Villa from standard one and it was spacious, comfortable, cool in the heat and kept very clean each day. We were up the hill in the 800s, and so you HAVE to use the TukTuk shuttles - but no delays getting one on demand and we enjoyed the contrast of hilltop privacy vs beach activity when we wanted it (2) Food is expensive, no question, and for a 7 night stay the place is probably one restaurant short of having the choice you want. That said, the Cane Bar sushi was great, and the Bayside restaurant all-u-can-eat Friday BBQ was also worth the cost - just go hungry all day first. The Great Room was good for one night of formality, and Ladera was our only trip out to eat - memorable for the sunset drinks and decent food (3) service, everywhere, was fantastic. The butlers, the staff in general and every St Lucian we met outside were about the friendliest people we have ever met, especially the breakfast chef (4) Spa - excellent location and treatments in the rain forest (5) Trips out - we did the Hotel Chocolat tour, highly recommended, and the hotel organised trip to the mud pools, volcano and waterfalls. Over a week, it was worth getting out a couple of times (6) beach - just great at a quiet time, but with enough activity on the water to keep you amused while reading, and iced drinks brought to your lounger. Overall, nothing to note on the negative but it was clearly a quiet time and I suspect that makes a difference.

Room Tip: 814 was high up but nice and private
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Good Day Andrew W,

Thank you for sharing this fabulous review of your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. It is a pleasure to read that our resort and accommodations left a lasting and positive impression for all the right reasons.

We are delighted you enjoyed so many of our services and amenities, and you were able to explore all that this beautiful island has to offer. Our culinary team at the Cane Bar will be praised for ensuring you had a wonderful and memorable dining experience there.

Thank you once more for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.


Best Regards

Mark Sterner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

The Pros:

It is an absolutely perfect property with romantic rooms and 5 star luxury all around!

-The room was PERFECT, it was very clean, spacious and the bed was unbelievably comfortable and soft. We had 2 bathrooms, a great shower with great products, great turn down service and the pool was perfect. It was very romantic and secluded, you don't feel on top of each other

-It is one of the closest hotels to the airport so it is a short ride compared to going up north

-it is one of the only hotels with a beach on the island and an absolutely stunning beach positioned between the 2 pitons.

-The chairs on the beach are super comfortable and relaxing, but make sure you go to the beach early!! they fill up especially if you want to be close to the water. people can purchase chairs for $50 a day

-They put out floaties in the water for guest but random people on the beach do go on them, technically since they don't own the beach they can't control who uses them, but they were very relaxing and added bonus to cool off on a hot day

-The Staff was all incredibly friendly and accommodating. We loved everyone we interacted. Our waitress Hannah was wonderful and our Butler was also incredible -

-The phones that we were given and the service was amazing! We never had an issues with getting from our room to the beach or restaurant or never waited more than 5 minutes for a shuttle to get us. The drivers were all safe and very friendly

-They have a lot of restaurant options and choices, the food was good - we had a few amazing meals and the rest average. They have 1 fancy restaurant, 1 that serves breakfast which was fantastic, 1 by the beach and a sushi restaurant. We recommend the sushi!


The Cons:
- The food is very expensive! My boyfriend and I live in NY and I work in sales so I eat out for a living and take clients to very nice places in NY, but I found prices here to be very expensive - for example we had a $30 chicken wrap for lunch, but you can pick cheaper options but it is pricey. I would just like to say that you should know that you are going to spend money here - which we did and we were prepared for

-The beach is not private, the chairs are private but the beach isn't so you get some rowdy people - nothing can be done but just a note not as much a complaint. If you like it quieter sit on the other side of the beach further away from the crowds


Everything here was fantastic and we will be back soon!!

Room Tip: We were in the Luxury Sugar Room - Room 812 and had an amazing view of the pitons!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hillary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Good Day Hillary R,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your vacation at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

We remain genuinely concerned about each guest experience and welcome feedback such as yours so that we can improve on areas highlighted and help to enhance the overall satisfaction of our guests.

I am glad that you were able to enjoy our second beach, which is far more private. Our guests find this beach (Glenconner Beach) a more tranquil area to sunbathe and relax with cold drinks from the Pier Bar.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back for your second visit.


Best Regards

Mark Sterner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews