We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to make the most of Rodney Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ginger Lily Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile


I was given a superior room at the Ginger Lily. I was delighted to have a large room to relax and visit Castries. The location is in front of the Reduit beach which gives you the opportunity to swim in the sea and finish in the indoor pool of the hotel.

The police station is close which gives security insurance.

The bathroom was spacious but lacked bath products offered by the hotel. But the second curtain is not sufficiently opaque because one overlooks the inner garden located on the ground floor.
The breakfast is continental and frugal but I already enjoyed a discount on the stay to be demanding.
I enjoyed being able to relax on the terrace with a hammock.
We are close to the shops or restaurants of Baywatch after a fifteen minute walk to get to the entrance to the marina and take a minibus to get off at Castries or go up Gros Ilet village.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Tchinbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2017

When we visited in January, we were blown away by the atmosphere. When we visited in May, it was for several reasons......... because we LOVED IT the first time, it's not far from the airport, our honeymoon and my birthday. We had a few glitches that were quickly fixed but all in all I would still recommend it to anyone who wants a comfortable stay. Everything is within reach, the beach, tours, supermarket and shopping. People complaining about the breakfast, I did at first too but ya know what, when you think about it, you get just enough to get you started. Most visitors to St. Lucia go back packing in the mountains, diving, zip lining etc. which start very early and they are not things you want to do on a full stomach. If it's not enough, do what we did and just buy extra. They don't even have to offer it. We got the same room as before which made us even happier. I hope for our next vacation wherever we go, we find a place that's as comfortable as this. I got to see a hummingbird nesting for the first time.

Room Tip: Best view is from the upper floor on the corner over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pearla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

A quirky little place that was both very friendly and clean. I wouldnt criticise the breakfast at all ; we took the continental option with fruit, cereals and toast etc which was more then sufficient for the two of us.
Thoroughly Recommended.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was probably preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Overall a lovely little place right near the beach (which is literally across the road). The grounds are beautiful and if the beach weren't right there, we would have been happy to hang out by the pool. Bedroom was large with a large bathroom, and a nice balcony.

Our only complaint was food: Breakfast was cut up melon (not tropical), a banana, fruit yogurt, toast, fruit juice, and coffee or tea. It was really very fruit/carb heavy, which wasn't very filling. And then there was the coffee thing. Our room had coffee (one of those use-one-time types), which I used. It wasn't replenished and when I asked for more, I was told that we only get the initial coffee and then we have to get our own. What? If we'd wanted that approach, we would have stayed at a guest house instead of a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Unique hotel, made us feel like we were really on the island, not just in any old touristy strip mall type hotel. The cleaning lady was quite thorough every day, and very friendly. The garden is beautiful. You can eat from the wax apple tree if you like. There are two cats who hang out in the courtyard. The little one is named Lily, the larger one Ginger. Very cute. The facilities need a bit of an upgrade but they made up for that in charm. Bed was not particularly comfortable in our room (worn out in the middle so felt like we were sinking), and the faucet handle was broken off in the bathroom. If you are looking for a fancy/cushy stay with all the bells and whistles you might prefer another place, but I'd do this one again in a heartbeat. Agree with other reviewers on the breakfast, but I'm okay with a light breakfast (eg toast) so that wasn't a huge problem either. Also the other reviewers are right about late night noise. If you aren't up for that look elsewhere. We just slept in and had a very lazy vacation. It was nice.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myteequinn42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.2 km away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#6 of 13 in Gros Islet
473 reviews
14.4 km away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
0.3 km away
Harmony Suites
Harmony Suites
#7 of 12 in Castries
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Bay Gardens Hotel
Bay Gardens Hotel
#3 of 6 in Rodney Bay
1 173 reviews
30.1 km away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
0.7 km away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#2 of 6 in Rodney Bay
1 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ginger Lily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ginger Lily Hotel

Address: Rodney Bay | P.O. Box cp 6013, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: R1 528 - R2 604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ginger Lily Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel cushions the seafront of one of the island's most exotic beaches, Reduit Beach located within Rodney Bay Village. The hotel comprises of eleven luxury rooms. Four superior deluxe, four sea view rooms and three executive suites. Each are superbly furnished with fridge, air conditioning, direct dial telephone, ceiling fan and wall-to-wall shower, queen and sofa bed, clock radio and an in room safe. The executive rooms are fully furnished with separate dining and kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Ginger Lily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginger Lily Hotel
Ginger Lily Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing