We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming small hotel with big rooms and a beautiful garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ginger Lily Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Unique hotel, made us feel like we were really on the island, not just in any old touristy strip mall type hotel. The cleaning lady was quite thorough every day, and very friendly. The garden is beautiful. You can eat from the wax apple tree if you like. There are two cats who hang out in the courtyard. The little one is named Lily, the larger one Ginger. Very cute. The facilities need a bit of an upgrade but they made up for that in charm. Bed was not particularly comfortable in our room (worn out in the middle so felt like we were sinking), and the faucet handle was broken off in the bathroom. If you are looking for a fancy/cushy stay with all the bells and whistles you might prefer another place, but I'd do this one again in a heartbeat. Agree with other reviewers on the breakfast, but I'm okay with a light breakfast (eg toast) so that wasn't a huge problem either. Also the other reviewers are right about late night noise. If you aren't up for that look elsewhere. We just slept in and had a very lazy vacation. It was nice.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myteequinn42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2017

Nothing fancy but a perfectly nice place to stay in Rodney Bay.

The staff is friendly, and the place is clean and well maintained. The pool area is small but a lovely little space to relax and read a book.

It's just across the street from the beach and there are several good restaurants in walking distance.

All of the Rodney Bay area suffers from band noise at night but they are good about shutting down at 1am and it didn't really bother me.

The only (minor) negative thing to say is that I'd wish the guy cleaning the pool didn't use dishwashing liquid to keep the tiles clean.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nomadale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

We were delighted with the facilities and the fact this was the only hotel (smallest too) on Reduit Beach Rd that really made you feel like you were on a tropical island and not in Las Vegas or any beach city anywhere.
The landscaper gets the gold stars for making this place so pretty and charming and giving it its most positive attributes.
The rooms are large, the bathrooms large.
Cleanliness excellent.
The pool is wonderful and surrounded by the jungle like landscaping that makes you feel protected and private.
They have an all-night guard that sits out front and it is across from the Police Station and Reduit Beach.
You can walk to anywhere in Reduit Beach area or Rodney Bay Village and most guests do.
Every room has as patio with hammock but the hammock is strung across the door and almost hangs onto the floor when one climbs into it, so it is not practical to use.
The negatives:
St. Lucia needs a noise ordinance. Although we had one of the best-placed, front rooms, the week-end noise from the nighclub nearby was intolerable and robbed us of much-needed Saturday night sleep. The hotel owner (who lives in UK) really needs get with other hotel owners and work with city govt about this. I would not return for this reason alone. St. Lucia is an activity oriented island....snorkeling, snuba, scuba, hiking, boating.....so guests rise early and need good nights' sleep. Being kept up all night due to the bass beats and deafening music from clubs blocks away is unacceptable.
2nd big negative: the 'breakfast'. yes it is as bad as all other reviewers. We are somewhat stunned that an island with so many local resources, locally grown fruits and products, local women baking and vending those fruits and baked goods, are not engaged to provide a wonderful local breakfast...Still could be continental.
The 'milk dessert' (a fake, cheap, gloppy little cut meant to imitate yogurt), the toasted white sandwich bread with little packet of 'grape jelly' that contains absolutely no fruit --just chemicals and flavorants--are just unacceptable. The stinginess of coffee (one cup each, always having to ask for more than the 2 oz of milk provided for 2 people, day after day, and the 1/2 c of fresh melon with a banana, just does not cut it and is unnecessary.
Once we got to the food store we bought cheeses and real yogurt and other fruits to enjoy for breakfast and give us some protein for our sport-active days.
Also, starting breakfast at 7:30am was late for us every day, since most activities start early and the tours often pick you up at the hotel at 8am.
WE asked why they didn't provide more local goods that are available everywhere on the island and we were told 'the women are unreliable' and we'd have to ask the owner who lives in England. Really? Don't buy that. We even talked to some of the women about that; they are at the beach religiously every day or at tourists spots every day with the same baked goods made from local items.
Hey Ginger Lily, how about supporting the local economy and local women instead of importing the processed artificial food stuffs from UK or US?
Kudos to the housekeeping staff and groundskeepers for your good work. Kudos to the location.
But to the owner, this place could be a real gem if you'd just serve a real continental breakfast of fresh local foods and either get soundproofing or work with the local clubs.
Still, this place is a better value than the others we saw along the 'strip'.

Room Tip: Front room recommended.It was nice to have a ground floor room and walk right out to the pool. Still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DenverFrequentTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Wonderful small boutique hotel in Balinese style and feel very close to the beach. Very friendly staff, good rooms, and nice breakfast room open to the very nice pool.
Good value and short walking distance to the fantastic Razmatazz Indian/Nepalese restaurant. Highly recommended, but bring mosquito mat.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RippleMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

We stayed on the ground floor in a deluxe room. This allowed us easy access to the lovely garden area and we were a few short steps from the pool. We stayed for a week and the room was always clean and fresh. The staff were all friendly and accommodating .
The Continental Breakfast which was included was very good, with a nice fresh fruit salad, toast, coffee, yogurt, and a selection of juices. Occasionally my wife would order the bacon and egg breakfast which was extra - and they supplied about six or seven pieces of bacon along with two eggs both cooked to perfection.
There is a lovely beach across the road and it is very easy to access.
Each evening we would walk up the road and choose the restaurant the we wanted to dine in ..... there were many choices close by and we enjoyed being able to dine at a different spot each night... we felt that dining prices in the area were quite reasonable.

Room Tip: suites have cooking facilities and a dining table... rooms do not
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dpbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.2 km away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#6 of 13 in Gros Islet
473 reviews
14.4 km away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
0.3 km away
Harmony Suites
Harmony Suites
#7 of 12 in Castries
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Bay Gardens Hotel
Bay Gardens Hotel
#3 of 6 in Rodney Bay
1 175 reviews
30.1 km away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
0.7 km away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#2 of 6 in Rodney Bay
1 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ginger Lily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ginger Lily Hotel

Address: Rodney Bay | P.O. Box cp 6013, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gros Islet
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price Range: R1 571 - R2 677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ginger Lily Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel cushions the seafront of one of the island's most exotic beaches, Reduit Beach located within Rodney Bay Village. The hotel comprises of eleven luxury rooms. Four superior deluxe, four sea view rooms and three executive suites. Each are superbly furnished with fridge, air conditioning, direct dial telephone, ceiling fan and wall-to-wall shower, queen and sofa bed, clock radio and an in room safe. The executive rooms are fully furnished with separate dining and kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Ginger Lily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginger Lily Hotel
Ginger Lily Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing